Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM42348534
Efficacy of adjunctive antibiotics compared to non-antibiotic therapies following mechanical debridement for peri-implantitis: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
Liu Caiyun, Wang Hongtao, Li Yulan, et al. · PloS one · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0352311
Findings
57 findings
| Population | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) 3 months | MD -0.13 [-0.27, 0.02] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 317 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) 3 months | MD -21.21 [-46.04, 3.63] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 204 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) 12 months | MD -5.41 [-16.85, 6.03] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 194 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Sensitivity: Hartung-Knapp-Sidik-Jonkman random effects | MD -12.46 GRADE not reported 11 studies |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) 3 months | MD -0.93 [-1.54, -0.32] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 571 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) 3 months | MD -5.99 [-11.96, -0.01] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 117 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) | MD -0.07 [-0.16, 0.01] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 477 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) 6 months | MD -0.01 [-0.15, 0.13] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 120 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) | MD -0.69 [-1.04, -0.33] -0.69 [-1.04, -0.33] mm Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias 20 studies · 1076 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) 12 months | MD -0.84 [-1.25, -0.42] GRADE not reported 8 studies · 262 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) 6 months | MD -7.4 [-13.76, -1.04] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 123 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) Sensitivity: Hartung-Knapp-Sidik-Jonkman random effects | MD -0.552 GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) 6 months | MD -0.05 [-0.06, -0.04] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 72 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) | MD -12.45 [-24.13, -0.77] GRADE not reported 11 studies · 521 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) | MD -0.55 [-1.07, -0.04] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 269 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) 6 months | MD 0.06 [-0.1, 0.22] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 145 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) 12 months | MD 0.05 [-0.16, 0.27] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 104 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) 12 months | MD -0.96 [-1.63, -0.29] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 140 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) 6 months | MD -9.29 [-20.54, 1.97] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 123 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Sensitivity: Hartung-Knapp-Sidik-Jonkman random effects | MD -0.686 GRADE not reported 20 studies |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) | MD -4.07 [-6.8, -1.33] GRADE not reported 9 studies · 414 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) 12 months | MD -2.39 [-5.9, 1.13] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 174 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) | MD 0.03 [-0.04, 0.11] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 306 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) 6 months | MD -0.11 [-0.59, 0.37] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 243 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Modified plaque index (mPLI) | MD -0.12 [-0.32, 0.09] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 271 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Bone level (BL, mm) | MD 0.08 [-0.05, 0.21] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 177 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) | MD -0.84 [-1.55, -0.13] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 132 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) | MD -18.64 [-38.91, 1.63] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 249 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) | MD -0.73 [-1.19, -0.27] GRADE not reported 13 studies · 598 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone | Plaque score (PS, % sites) | MD -3.94 [-7.14, -0.74] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 185 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) Route: local antibiotics | MD -6.57 [-11.1, -2.04] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 202 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Route: local antibiotics | MD -18.23 [-37.41, 0.96] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 289 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) Route: local antibiotics | MD -0.05 [-0.13, 0.04] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 397 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Route: local antibiotics | MD -0.68 [-1.14, -0.22] GRADE not reported 12 studies · 714 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) Route: local antibiotics | MD -0.26 [-0.69, 0.16] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 140 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >= 2 mm, PPD >= 5 mm, BOP positive) | Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with non-antibiotic adjuncts (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, chlorhexidine, other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) Follow-up 1 to 12 months · Non-surgical mechanical debridement · Subgroup: route of administration | MD -0.39 [-0.68, -0.09] GRADE not reported 1 study · 80 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus local antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) Route: local antibiotics | MD 0.06 [-0.1, 0.22] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 160 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Route: systemic antibiotics | MD -0.7 [-1.25, -0.15] GRADE not reported 8 studies · 362 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) Route: systemic antibiotics | MD -2.63 [-6.07, 0.8] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 212 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) Route: systemic antibiotics | MD -0.94 [-2.02, 0.15] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 129 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) Route: systemic antibiotics | MD 0.03 [-0.06, 0.11] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 146 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus systemic antibiotics | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Route: systemic antibiotics | MD -4.47 [-15.21, 6.27] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 232 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus azithromycin | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Antibiotic type: azithromycin | MD -1.54 [-3.49, 0.42] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 123 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus azithromycin | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) Antibiotic type: azithromycin | MD -7.49 [-13.81, -1.16] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 103 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus azithromycin | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Antibiotic type: azithromycin | MD -8.12 [-16.68, 0.45] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 123 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin and metronidazole | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) Antibiotic type: amoxicillin plus metronidazole | MD 0.01 [-0.08, 0.09] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 177 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin and metronidazole | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Antibiotic type: amoxicillin plus metronidazole | MD -0.49 [-1.31, 0.34] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 267 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin and metronidazole | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) Antibiotic type: amoxicillin plus metronidazole | MD -0.56 [-1.75, 0.62] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 97 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin and metronidazole | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) Antibiotic type: amoxicillin plus metronidazole | MD -4.96 [-10.3, 0.39] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 217 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin and metronidazole | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Antibiotic type: amoxicillin plus metronidazole | MD -0.06 [-8.23, 8.12] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 217 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bone level (BL, mm) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD 0.14 [-0.03, 0.32] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 80 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD -0.12 [-0.78, 0.53] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 80 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD -0.44 [-1.1, 0.21] GRADE not reported 8 studies · 439 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Plaque score (PS, % sites) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD 1.85 [-27.99, 31.7] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 62 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD -31.46 [-65.61, 2.69] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 149 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >=2 mm, PPD >=5 mm, BOP positive) treated with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline | Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) | Modified plaque index (mPLI) Antibiotic type: minocycline | MD -0.07 [-0.16, 0.02] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 370 participants |
| Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >= 2 mm, PPD >= 5 mm, BOP positive) | Mechanical debridement plus amoxicillin | Mechanical debridement alone or with non-antibiotic adjuncts (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, chlorhexidine, other) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) Follow-up 1 to 12 months · Non-surgical mechanical debridement · Subgroup: antibiotic type | MD -0.45 [-0.94, 0.04] GRADE not reported 1 study · 80 participants |
Included primary studies 43
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ahmed 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 2 other reviews | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Blanco 2021 Cyclic AMP and cyclic GMP accumulation in hamster pre-ovulatory follicles stimulated with LH and FSH. PMID:202132 | 1978 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kumararama 2024 The inhibition of ribosomal translocation by viomycin. PMID:202460 | 1977 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Shibli 2019 Possible role of dopamine-beta-hydroxylase in the regulation of norepinephrine biosynthesis in rat brain. PMID:201940 | 1977 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Al Deeb 2020 The epidemiology of infection with Entamoeba histolytica in the Gambia, West Africa. PMID:202045 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Alhumaidan 2022 Alterations in regulation of insulin biosynthesis in pregnancy and starvation studied in isolated rat islets of langerhans. PMID:202248 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Almohareb 2020 Modes of action of antimicrobial agents. PMID:202040 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Blanco 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Chitsazi 2022 [Cytochemical study of various enzymes of the rabbit crystalline lens epithelium]. PMID:202232 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gershenfeld 2018 [Surgery of benign liver neoplasms]. PMID:201817 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gomi 2015 10-years experience with a 28,800 roller bottle plant for FMD vaccine production. PMID:201520 | 1976 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Park 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI) | not extracted yet |
| Renvert 2006 The influences of ACTH, dietary sodium, upright posture and angiotensin II on plasma 18-hydroxy-11-deoxycorticosterone levels in normal… PMID:200632 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Renvert 2008 Leukemia following Reye's syndrome treated with exchange transfusions: search for type-C viral infection. PMID:200832 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Schar 2012 Alterations of pulmonary vascular resistance and pulmonary cyclic nucleotide metabolism in the hypoxic pig. PMID:201240 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ahmed 2020 [Evaluation of the immunogenic properties of the foot-and-mouth disease vaccine]. PMID:202060 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Al Deeb 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Alhumaidan 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Almohareb 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Alqahtani 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Alqahtani 2022 Cerebrovascular and metabolic reactions at the CBF autoregulatory level evoked by electrical stimulation of the cat brain cortex. PMID:202242 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bassetti 2013 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI) | not extracted yet |
| Bassetti 2013 Reversible blockade of PGO waves and concomitant modifications of thalamic unit activity in chronic cats. PMID:201340 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Buchter 2004 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Buchter 2004 Effect of borate on the catalytic activities of muscle glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase. PMID:200428 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chitsazi 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI) | not extracted yet |
| De Waal 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| De Waal 2021 Fibrous histiocytoma of the tarsus. PMID:202162 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Faramarzi 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Faramarzi 2015 Interferon induction by vesicular stomatitis virus and its role in virus replication. PMID:201569 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gershenfeld 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Gomi 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Hallstrom 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Hallstrom 2012 Hydroxylation of aromatic compounds by reduced nicotinamide-adenine dinucleotide and phenazine methosulphate requires hydrogen peroxide… PMID:201248 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kumararama 2024 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI) | not extracted yet |
| Na Wei 2020 [Vessel wall lipids in human atherosclerosis]. PMID:202086 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Park 2021 Assessment of exercise tolerance in chronic congestive heart failure. PMID:2021118 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Polymeri 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Polymeri 2022 [Malignant fibrous histiocytoma of the bone (8 years after radiation exposure)]. PMID:202237 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Renvert 2006 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites) | not extracted yet |
| Renvert 2008 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
| Schar 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Modified plaque index (mPLI) | not extracted yet |
| Shibli 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm); Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites); Plaque score (PS, % sites); Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm); Bone level (BL, mm) | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients with peri-implantitis (bone loss >= 2 mm, PPD >= 5 mm, BOP positive) | Peri-implantitis patients, 1028 patients in 22 RCTs from 12 countries |
| Intervention | Antibiotics (local or systemic) as an adjunct to mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement plus minocycline, amoxicillin, metronidazole, azithromycin or doxycycline, local or systemic (n=487) |
| Comparison | Other (non-antibiotic) treatments with mechanical debridement | Mechanical debridement alone, with probiotics, photodynamic therapy, chlorhexidine or other adjuncts (n=541) |
| Outcomes | Bone level, BOP, PPD, CAL, modified plaque index, plaque score | PPD (20 trials), BOP (11), PS (9), CAL (7), mPLI (7), BL (7) |
| Study designs | Randomized controlled trials | 22 RCTs |
| Timing | Not specified | Follow-up 1 to 12 months |
AMSTAR 2 items
Two independent extractors rated each item. Their ratings are shown side by side because they have not been reconciled yet. The overall rating follows Shea et al. 2017: one critical flaw gives Low, more than one gives Critically Low.
| Item | Extractor A | Extractor B | Agree |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1Research question includes PICO components | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 2Protocol established before the reviewcritical | Partial Yes | Partial Yes | yes |
| 3Choice of study designs explained | No | No | yes |
| 4Comprehensive literature searchcritical | Partial Yes | Partial Yes | yes |
| 5Study selection in duplicate | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 6Data extraction in duplicate | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 7List of excluded studies with reasonscritical | No | No | yes |
| 8Included studies described in detail | Partial Yes | Partial Yes | yes |
| 9Risk of bias assessed satisfactorilycritical | RCT: Yes · NRSI: N/A | NRSI: N/A · RCT: Yes | no |
| 10Funding of included studies reported | No | No | yes |
| 11Appropriate meta-analysis methodscritical | RCT: No · NRSI: N/A | NRSI: N/A · RCT: Yes | no |
| 12Impact of risk of bias on the pooled results | No | No | yes |
| 13Risk of bias accounted for in interpretationcritical | No | Yes | no |
| 14Heterogeneity explained | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 15Publication bias investigatedcritical | Yes | Yes | yes |
| 16Conflicts of interest reported | Yes | Yes | yes |
| Overall | Critically Low | Low | no |