Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM41783054
Comparative efficacy of novel biomaterials versus traditional materials in the treatment of dental and pulpal diseases: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Sheng Qing, Fan Guangwei, Lu Weiqing, et al. · Frontiers in medicine · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.3389/fmed.2026.1762823
Findings
Population Teeth undergoing non-surgical root canal treatment (dental and pulpal disease)
14 findings
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Clinical and radiographic success rate 6-24 months · Endodontic root canal treatment | OR 1.12 [0.85, 1.47] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 612 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Apical sealing ability / microleakage Endodontic root canal treatment · Supplementary Table 6 pooled value (no CI given) | SMD -2.35 GRADE not reported 6 studies |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment · 72 h subgroup | OR 0.38 [0.16, 0.90] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 162 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Overfilling rate Endodontic root canal treatment · Supplementary Table 7 pooled values | OR 2.47 [1.36, 4.49] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 503 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment · Supplementary Table 2 pooled values | OR 0.40 [0.31, 0.52] GRADE not reported 12 studies · 1331 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment | OR 0.48 [0.35, 0.66] GRADE not reported 12 studies |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment · Time point subgroup analysis, overall | OR 0.39 [0.27, 0.56] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 642 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment · 24 h subgroup | OR 0.40 [0.23, 0.70] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 260 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) 24-72 h postoperatively · Endodontic root canal treatment · 48 h subgroup | OR 0.38 [0.20, 0.71] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 220 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Clinical and radiographic success rate 6-24 months · Endodontic root canal treatment · Supplementary Table 11 pooled values | OR 1.41 [0.85, 2.34] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 612 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Retreatment difficulty Endodontic root canal treatment · Supplementary Table 9 pooled values | SMD 1.52 [1.20, 1.84] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 238 participants |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Apical sealing ability / microleakage Endodontic root canal treatment | SMD -1.35 [-1.78, -0.92] GRADE not reported 6 studies |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Retreatment difficulty Endodontic root canal treatment | SMD 0.88 [0.25, 1.51] GRADE not reported 3 studies |
| Bioceramic (calcium silicate) sealer, single-cone obturation (e.g., iRoot SP, Bio-C Sealer, C-Root SP) | Epoxy resin-based sealer (AH Plus) | Overfilling rate Endodontic root canal treatment | OR 1.85 [1.25, 2.74] GRADE not reported 5 studies |
Included primary studies 27
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wang 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 4 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chen 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Park 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Al-Hiyasat 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Al-Hiyasat AS 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) | not extracted yet |
| Alattas 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Alattas M 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) | not extracted yet |
| Almeida 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Almeida G 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Overfilling rate; Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
| Chen X 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Overfilling rate | not extracted yet |
| Fernandes 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Fernandes G 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Retreatment difficulty | not extracted yet |
| Jeong 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Jeong JW 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Retreatment difficulty; Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
| Johnson 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Johnson K 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) | not extracted yet |
| Park S 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4) | not extracted yet |
| Rodrigues 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Rodrigues GV 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Overfilling rate | not extracted yet |
| Ruiz-Linares M 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
| Santos 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Santos P 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
| Talwar 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Talwar S 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Retreatment difficulty; Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
| Taylor 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Taylor R 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Overfilling rate | not extracted yet |
| Wang Z 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Postoperative pain incidence (VAS >=4); Apical sealing ability / microleakage; Overfilling rate; Clinical and radiographic success rate | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients undergoing root canal treatment; excluded primary teeth, open apices and retreatment cases | Teeth treated with root canal obturation (n=1,528; 768 bioceramic, 760 AH Plus) |
| Intervention | Novel bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) sealers with the single-cone technique | Bioceramic sealers: iRoot SP (n=5 studies), Bio-C Sealer (n=4), C-Root SP (n=3), Total Fill BC Sealer (n=1), others (n=2) |
| Comparison | Traditional epoxy resin-based sealers (AH Plus) | AH Plus (n=15 studies) |
| Outcomes | Postoperative pain incidence, apical sealing ability, dentinal tubule penetration depth, overfilling, retreatment difficulty, success rate | Postoperative pain (n=12 studies); apical sealing/microleakage (n=6); overfilling (n=5); retreatment difficulty (n=3); success rate (n=6) |
| Study designs | RCTs and cohort studies | 11 RCTs and 4 prospective cohort studies |
| Timing | Not specified | Success follow-up 6-24 months; pain 24-72 h |