Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM42328222
Long-term Outcomes of Invasive Pulp Therapies in Primary Teeth: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis.
Vaiude Arati, Jawdekar Ashwin, Mistry Laresh N · International journal of clinical pediatric dentistry · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.5005/jp-journals-10005-3464
Findings
42 findings
| Population | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | PDL space widening Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 5.13 [3.73, 6.74] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 821 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy (vital pulp therapy) | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more · RCTs | 708 (10); High High 10 studies · 708 participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Need for extraction Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 9.91 [5.41, 15.59] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 126 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Interradicular bone resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 7.28 [4.43, 10.77] GRADE not reported 17 studies · 1048 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Dentin bridge formation Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 15.63 [10.86, 21.08] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 377 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Pulp canal obliteration Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 16.89 [9.01, 26.64] GRADE not reported 11 studies · 1426 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Pain Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 6.16 [2.82, 10.67] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 216 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy (vital pulp therapy) | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more · RCTs | 729 (10); High High 10 studies · 729 participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more · Non-randomized (retrospective) studies | no estimate extracted Very low 2 studies · 702 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Internal root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 8.35 [5.77, 11.36] GRADE not reported 19 studies · 1700 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Persistence of lesion Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 2.22 [1.15, 3.63] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 905 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 92.32 [88.99, 95.0] GRADE not reported 28 studies · 1410 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | External root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 7.05 [3.75, 11.29] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 170 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 85.35 [80.94, 89.26] GRADE not reported 29 studies · 874 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more · Non-randomized (retrospective) studies | no estimate extracted Very low 2 studies · 145 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with pulpotomy | Pulpotomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Mobility Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 8.74 [4.48, 14.25] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 124 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more · Non-randomized (retrospective) studies | no estimate extracted Very low 5 studies · 1549 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Persistence of lesion Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 8.93 [0.21, 28.33] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 199 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Mobility Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 8.75 [2.38, 18.61] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 186 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more · RCTs | 394 (6); Moderate Moderate 6 studies · 394 participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more · RCTs | 394 (6); Moderate Moderate 6 studies · 394 participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 79.96 [71.86, 86.98] GRADE not reported 21 studies · 2007 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Tooth bud deflection Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 5.43 [0.05, 18.85] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 362 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Gingival inflammation Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 4.62 [2.49, 7.37] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 281 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Internal root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 4.95 [1.85, 9.46] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 252 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 74.07 [67.84, 79.84] GRADE not reported 21 studies · 2007 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Interradicular bone resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 16.86 [5.4, 32.99] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 293 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Early exfoliation Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 33.94 [14.96, 56.12] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 233 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Swelling Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 17.7 [7.28, 31.42] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 62 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Pain Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 7.42 [1.72, 16.64] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 269 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Need for extraction Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 20.11 [8.01, 35.96] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 287 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Delayed exfoliation Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 24.07 [0.64, 81.04] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 107 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more · Non-randomized (retrospective) studies | no estimate extracted Very low 5 studies · 1549 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | PDL space widening Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 6.04 [1.51, 13.3] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 126 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with nonvital pulpectomy | Nonvital pulpectomy | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | External root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 5.9 [1.75, 12.3] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 269 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Mobility Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 9.49 [2.54, 20.2] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 39 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Pulp canal obliteration Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 25.02 [15.74, 36.04] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 66 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Clinical success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 92.08 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Internal root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 14.94 [7.58, 24.25] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 66 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Radiographic success Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 81.88 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | External root resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 6.04 [1.14, 14.44] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 46 teeth participants |
| Primary teeth treated with vital/nonvital pulpectomy (pulp status not specified) | Vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) | None (single-arm pooled proportion) | Interradicular bone resorption Follow-up of 24 months or more | Proportion (%) 12.42 [4.71, 23.12] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 46 teeth participants |
Included primary studies 37
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sezgin et al. 2024 Effects of renal dopamine receptor and beta-adrenoreceptor blockade on rises in blood angiotensin after haemorrhage, renal ischaemia and… PMID:202430 | 1978 | 4 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| RojaRamya et al. 2020 Tricyclic antidepressants: therapeutic properties and affinity for alpha-noradrenergic receptor binding sites in the brain. PMID:202024 | 1978 | 3 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chen et al. 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gonzalez-Lara et al. 2016 Evidence for structural homology between human red cell phosphoglycerate mutase and 2,3-bisphosphoglycerate synthase. PMID:201624 | 1978 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kurji et al. 2011 [Tracer kinetic studies of the cholesterol metabolism in patients with hypercholesterolemia]. PMID:201112 | 1977 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Castro et al. 2023 Formation of guanosine 3',5'-cyclic monophosphate by thyroliberin in cultured rat pituitary cells. A possible role in stimulation of… PMID:202336 | 1978 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Erdem et al. 2011 [Plastic reorganization of the activity of sensorimotor cortex neurons during elaboration of a cellular analog of a temporary connection]. PMID:201124 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mendoza et al. 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nematollahi et al. 2018 [Apolipoprotein analysis]. PMID:201824 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Airen et al. 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Al-Attiya et al. 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Barr et al. 1991 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bezgin et al. 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bresolin et al. 2022 Poxvirus hosts and reservoirs. Brief review. PMID:202224 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Burnett et al. 2002 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Çelik et al. 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Coll and Sadrian 1996 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Frenkel et al. 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Grewal et al. 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Haghgoo et al. 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Holan et al. 1993 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Huth et al. 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kargül et al. 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kurji et al. 2011 [D-thyroxin in the therapy of type IIa and IIb hyperlipoproteinemias]. PMID:201111 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Malekafzali et al. 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Matalon et al. 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mekkriangkrai et al. 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ou-Yang et al. 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pramila et al. 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Rawson et al. 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sabbagh et al. 2024 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sadrian and Coll 1993 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sari and Okte 2007 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Songvejkasem et al. 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sushynski et al. 2012 Relationship between arthroscopic evidence of cartilage damage and radiographic evidence of joint space narrowing in early osteoarthritis… PMID:2012624 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Vilella-Pastor et al. 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yildirim et al. 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Primary teeth | Primary teeth (n=42 studies; 32 in meta-analysis) |
| Intervention | Various vital/nonvital pulp therapies | Pulpotomy; nonvital pulpectomy; vital/nonvital pulpectomy (not specified) |
| Comparison | Not specified | None (single-arm pooled proportions; pulpotomy and pulpectomy compared indirectly) |
| Outcomes | Long-term clinical and radiographic outcomes | Clinical success; radiographic success; mobility; internal and external root resorption; bone resorption; pain; need for extraction; persistence of lesion; PDL space widening; pulp canal obliteration; dentin bridge formation; gingival inflammation; swelling; early and delayed exfoliation; tooth bud deflection |
| Study designs | RCTs, retrospective and preliminary studies | 21 RCTs assessed with Cochrane RoB 2; 20 retrospective studies assessed with AXIS |
| Timing | Follow-up of 2 years or more | Follow-up of 24 months or more |