Primary study · included by 1 review

Shibli 2019

ProbableThe reviews cited this study without a PMID, DOI or NCT, so it is matched by first author and year. Two different studies by the same author in the same year could be merged here.

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 3 months
MD -21.21 [-46.04, 3.63]3 studies · 204 participantsGRADE not reported
Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 3 months
MD -0.93 [-1.54, -0.32]7 studies · 571 participantsGRADE not reported
Plaque score (PS, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 3 months
MD -5.99 [-11.96, -0.01]2 studies · 117 participantsGRADE not reported
Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -12.4611 studiesGRADE not reported
Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 12 months
MD -5.41 [-16.85, 6.03]6 studies · 194 participantsGRADE not reported
Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -0.69 [-1.04, -0.33]20 studies · 1076 participantsModerate
Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 12 months
MD -0.84 [-1.25, -0.42]8 studies · 262 participantsGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 6 months
MD -0.05 [-0.06, -0.04]2 studies · 72 participantsGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -0.5527 studiesGRADE not reported
Plaque score (PS, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 6 months
MD -7.4 [-13.76, -1.04]2 studies · 123 participantsGRADE not reported
Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -12.45 [-24.13, -0.77]11 studies · 521 participantsGRADE not reported
Bone level (BL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 6 months
MD 0.06 [-0.1, 0.22]3 studies · 145 participantsGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -0.55 [-1.07, -0.04]7 studies · 269 participantsGRADE not reported
Bone level (BL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 12 months
MD 0.05 [-0.16, 0.27]3 studies · 104 participantsGRADE not reported
Clinical attachment level (CAL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 12 months
MD -0.96 [-1.63, -0.29]4 studies · 140 participantsGRADE not reported
Bleeding on probing (BOP, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 6 months
MD -9.29 [-20.54, 1.97]2 studies · 123 participantsGRADE not reported
Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -0.68620 studiesGRADE not reported
Plaque score (PS, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD -4.07 [-6.8, -1.33]9 studies · 414 participantsGRADE not reported
Plaque score (PS, % sites)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 12 months
MD -2.39 [-5.9, 1.13]5 studies · 174 participantsGRADE not reported
Bone level (BL, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other)
MD 0.03 [-0.04, 0.11]7 studies · 306 participantsGRADE not reported
Probing pocket depth (PPD, mm)
Mechanical debridement plus adjunctive antibiotics (local or systemic) vs Mechanical debridement alone or with a non-antibiotic adjunct (probiotics, photodynamic therapy, antiseptic or other) · 6 months
MD -0.11 [-0.59, 0.37]5 studies · 243 participantsGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.