Non-Cochrane · NMA · PM42332459
Effectiveness of manual therapy, exercise, low-level laser therapy, ultrasound, and transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation in reducing pain and improving mouth opening in temporomandibular joint disorders: A network meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
Lin Long-Huei, Hsieh Guo-Jia, Lin Ting-Yu, et al. · Medicine · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1097/md.0000000000049263
Findings
Population Adults (18 years or older) with temporomandibular joint disorders
158 findings
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -1.47 [-6.15, 3.20] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD 1.30 [0.37, 2.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.06 [-0.13, 0.25] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -2.58 [-4.56, -0.60] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 2.15 [0.64, 3.66] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.80 [-2.97, 1.37] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.33 [-276.67, 276.01] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 1.15 [-3.15, 5.45] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 78.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 78.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 81.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 80.3 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 79.9 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 79.6 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD 1.49 [0.43, 2.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD -1.60 [-2.78, -0.42] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD -1.83 [-3.18, -0.47] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.11 [-0.16, 0.39] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 44.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 44.7 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD -0.99 [-1.97, -0.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 1.19 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.14 [-0.39, 0.10] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 45.8 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.58 [-0.33, 1.49] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 1.66 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -1.39 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 42.2 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.35 [-3.97, 4.67] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 44.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 42.8 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD -1.15 [-2.26, -0.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -1.71 [-278.05, 274.63] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 1.39 [-0.06, 2.85] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -2.01 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD 0.83 [-0.07, 1.73] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.26 [-0.10, 0.61] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD 0.95 [-0.06, 1.97] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 2.16 [-2.43, 6.76] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 2.71 [-0.99, 6.41] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -1.69 [-3.32, -0.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -1.39 [-4.44, 1.66] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -1.55 [-5.02, 1.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 1.65 [0.76, 2.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD 1.18 [0.55, 1.80] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder- joint related | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -1.88 [-5.48, 1.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.04 [-0.11, 0.20] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD 1.04 [0.49, 1.59] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 61.0 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 2.16 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.15 [-0.95, 1.26] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 58.8 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 59.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 60.9 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -2.91 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.51 [-0.21, 1.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.13 [-0.08, 0.33] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-joint related | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.20 [-3.82, 4.22] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD -1.44 [-2.20, -0.68] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -3.35 [-6.72, 0.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -1.67 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 1.35 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 61.4 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 60.3 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD -1.26 [-1.92, -0.60] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Low-level laser therapy | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -2.04 [-3.16, -0.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD 1.33 [0.46, 2.20] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 82.1 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -2.74 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD -1.64 [-2.62, -0.66] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD 1.22 [0.45, 1.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 1.24 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.10 [-0.62, 0.82] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 2.62 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-joint related | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -2.60 [-6.71, 1.51] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 75.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD -1.90 [-3.02, -0.77] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.10 [-1.54, 1.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 82.0 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 81.6 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -2.75 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 65.9 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-joint related | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 3.55 [-0.94, 8.04] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -2.74 [-4.39, -1.08] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.68 [-2.02, 0.67] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 1.73 [0.47, 2.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -2.42 [-6.93, 2.10] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.62 [-0.57, 1.81] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 72.7 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-joint related | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 3.42 [-1.94, 8.78] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.10 [-0.05, 0.25] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.06 [-0.60, 0.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD -0.78 [-1.63, 0.06] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.10 [-5.02, 4.82] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-mixed | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 0.82 [-2.86, 4.50] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 31.3 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 33.5 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD -0.93 [-1.90, 0.04] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 43.2 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Mean age; Mean age | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.04 [-0.52, 0.43] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.99 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SUCRA (%) 47.7 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SUCRA (%) 32.1 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.5 | SMD 0.94 [0.33, 1.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.40 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -1.39 [-2.82, 0.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SMD 0.80 [0.27, 1.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) 2.32 [-1.25, 5.90] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -2.74 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Sensitivity analysis: pre-post correlation coefficient 0.3 | SUCRA (%) 41.6 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: TMJ diagnostic subtype; TMJ disorder-myogenous | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -2.70 [-7.23, 1.82] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 1.55 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 1.41 [0.54, 2.28] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Control (no treatment, sham or education) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Meta-regression: Treatment duration; Treatment duration | Meta-regression coefficient (SMD) -0.22 [-1.27, 0.84] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.24 [-1.19, 0.72] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.65 [-0.80, 2.10] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -0.39 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -0.15 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.18 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 1.20 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.14 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.35 [-1.21, 1.91] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.62 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -0.53 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.06 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.25 [-1.63, 1.13] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -2.00 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 1.71 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.50 [-0.85, 1.86] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.27 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.14 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.54 [-2.35, 1.28] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 1.17 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD -1.89 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.69 [-2.34, 0.95] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.41 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.08 [-1.18, 1.34] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Low-level laser therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -0.52 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.02 [-1.59, 1.56] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ exercise | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.30 [-2.30, 1.70] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -1.19 [-3.44, 1.06] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.74 [-0.85, 2.33] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -1.34 [-2.81, 0.12] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -1.79 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.32 [-0.94, 1.58] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.18 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.61 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.56 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.32 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.76 [-0.44, 1.96] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD -1.20 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: indirect evidence only | SMD 0.33 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders · Side-splitting: direct evidence only | SMD 0.84 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| TMJ manual therapy | TMJ exercise | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.89 [-2.54, 0.77] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | TMJ exercise | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD 0.34 [-1.45, 2.12] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | TMJ exercise | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -1.04 [-3.20, 1.11] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | TMJ manual therapy | Maximal mouth opening (MMO) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.42 [-2.22, 1.38] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Therapeutic ultrasound | TMJ manual therapy | Pain intensity (VAS or NRS) End of intervention (1 to 8 weeks) · Frequentist network meta-analysis of RCTs; adults with TMJ disorders | SMD -0.16 [-2.54, 2.23] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
Included primary studies 23
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monteiro 2020 Effectiveness of Photobiomodulation in Temporomandibular Disorder-Related Pain Using a 635 nm Diode Laser: A Randomized, Blinded, and… PMID:32427553 | 2020 | 4 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Barbosa 2019 Effects of 8 weeks of masticatory muscles focused endurance exercises on women with oro-facial pain and temporomandibular disorders: A… PMID:31099036 | 2019 | 3 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Emshoff 2008 Low-level laser therapy for treatment of temporomandibular joint pain: a double-blind and placebo-controlled trial. PMID:18329580 | 2008 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ramesh 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Brochado 2018 Comparative effectiveness of photobiomodulation and manual therapy alone or combined in TMD patients: a randomized clinical trial. PMID:29995062 | 2018 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| da Cunha 2008 Efficacy of low-level laser therapy in the treatment of temporomandibular disorder. PMID:18783114 | 2008 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| De Abreu Venancio 2005 Low intensity laser therapy in the treatment of temporomandibular disorders: a double-blind study. PMID:16202043 | 2005 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kalamir 2013 Intra-oral myofascial therapy versus education and self-care in the treatment of chronic, myogenous temporomandibular disorder: a… PMID:23738586 | 2013 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Patil 2017 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sancakli 2015 Early results of low-level laser application for masticatory muscle pain: a double-blind randomized clinical study. PMID:26496720 | 2015 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tanhan 2023 Efficacy of different combinations of physiotherapy techniques compared to exercise and patient education in temporomandibular disorders:… PMID:33818314 | 2023 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Arabion 2017 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ba 2021 Ultrasound is Effective to Treat Temporomandibular Joint Disorder. PMID:34140803 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bae 2013 The Effect of Relaxation Exercises for the Masticator Muscles on Temporomandibular Joint Dysfunction (TMD). PMID:24259807 | 2013 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bijjaragi 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bijjaragi 2015 Electrocardiographic predictors of atrial fibrillation: methodological considerations. PMID:20152208 | 2010 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Budakoti 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gavish 2006 Effect of controlled masticatory exercise on pain and muscle performance in myofascial pain patients: A pilot study. PMID:16933459 | 2006 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kirupa 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sarfraz 2023 Comparison of effects of manual physical therapy and exercise therapy for patients with Temporomandibular disorders. PMID:36842021 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Seifi 2017 Comparative effectiveness of Low Level Laser therapy and Transcutaneous Electric Nerve Stimulation on Temporomandibular Joint Disorders. PMID:29071032 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yeladandi 2024 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yeladandi 2024 PMID:20241816 | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Adults (18 years or older) diagnosed with TMJ disorders by imaging or RDC/TMD Axis I | Adults with TMJ disorders, myogenous, joint-related, mixed or not described (n=952) |
| Intervention | TMJ manual therapy, TMJ exercise, low-level laser therapy, therapeutic ultrasound, TENS (single treatments) | TMJ manual therapy, TMJ exercise, low-level laser therapy, therapeutic ultrasound, TENS (n=22 RCTs) |
| Comparison | No intervention or sham therapy | Control: no treatment, sham or education; head-to-head comparisons between active treatments |
| Outcomes | Pain intensity (NRS or VAS); maximal mouth opening | Pain intensity (n=20 RCTs); maximal mouth opening (n=15 RCTs) |
| Study designs | Randomized controlled trials | RCTs: 14 two-arm and 8 multi-arm |
| Timing | Not specified | End of intervention, 1 to 8 weeks |