Cochrane · intervention · CD012628

Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities

Waldron, C, Nunn, J, Mac Giolla Phadraig, C, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2019 · Cochrane Library

Oral HealthDental public health and special care2 versionsAMSTAR 2: not assessed
Full textEvery question was extracted from the full review (methods and results), not only its Summary of Findings table.
Questions
31
current version
GRADE rated
27
No studies
2
Included studies
34
as reported
No studies 2 · 6.5%Ungraded 2 · 6.5%Very low 14 · 45.2%Low 12 · 38.7%Moderate 1 · 3.2%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationPeople with an ID, living at home, in day care, in hospital or in a residential care setting; all intellectual disabilities as defined by ICD-101795 people with ID and 354 carers across 34 studies; children and adults with mild to profound ID; settings home, residential, day care, school (n=34)
InterventionOral hygiene-related knowledge-based interventions for participants or their carers; Oral hygiene-related behavioural interventions for participants or their carers; Oral hygiene-related skills training for participants; Oral hygiene-related skills training for carersSpecial manual toothbrush (n=7); Electric toothbrush (n=13); Oral hygiene care training of carers (n=7); Oral hygiene training of people with ID (n=6); Scheduled dental recall intervals plus supervised toothbrushing (n=1); Discussion of clinical photographs as motivator (n=1); Daily/twice-weekly/once-weekly toothbrushing frequency (n=1); Toothpaste with a plaque-disclosing agent (n=1); Individualised oral care plan (n=1)
ComparisonUsual care; No care; Similar alternative interventionConventional manual toothbrush (n=7); Manual toothbrush (n=13); No training of carers (n=7); No oral hygiene training (n=6); Usual care (n=3); No discussion of photographs (n=1); Conventional toothpaste (n=1)
OutcomesPrimary: Gingival health of people with ID. Secondary: Oral hygiene skills acquisition; Oral hygiene knowledge acquisition; Adherence to oral hygiene routines; Quality of life or long-term patient-centred outcomes (e.g. tooth retention); Dental caries levels; Any unintended (positive or negative) effectsGingival inflammation; Plaque; Gingival bleeding; Gingival pocketing; Calculus; Oral health assessment and bacteria levels; Oral health knowledge; Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy; Quality of life (n=0); Dental caries (n=0)
Study designsRandomised controlled trials (including cluster-RCTs); non-randomised studies (non-randomised controlled trials, controlled before-after studies, interrupted time series studies, repeated measures studies)19 RCTs including cluster-RCTs and cross-over trials (n=19); 15 non-randomised studies: non-randomised controlled trials, controlled before-after, interrupted time series (n=15)
TimingShort-term follow-up (<6 weeks); Medium-term follow-up (6 weeks to 12 months); Long-term follow-up (>12 months)Short term (<6 weeks); Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months); Long term (>12 months)

Search date: 2019-02. Databases: Cochrane Oral Health's Trials Register; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); MEDLINE Ovid (from 1946 onwards); Embase Ovid (previous six months to date); PsycINFO Ovid (from 1806 onwards)

Questions and results

Current version only

Oral hygiene interventions (mechanical plaque removal): knowledge-based, behavioural, or skills training for people with ID or their carers vs Usual care, no care, or a similar alternative intervention

Population: People with intellectual disabilities (ID), living at home, in day care, in hospital or in a residential care setting; all levels of ID as defined by ICD-10
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 3 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Any unintended (positive or negative) effects of the interventions
Adverse/unintended effects addressed narratively: 10 of 34 studies investigated or reported negative unintended or adverse effects (e.g. difficulty with the electric or 3-headed toothbrushes, being frightened by the…10 studiesUngraded
Dental caries levels of people with ID
No studies measured dental caries levels. One RCT (Shaw 1991, Comparison 5) assessed DMFT at baseline only and did not report caries at any later time point.0 studiesNo studies
Quality of life changes or long-term, patient-centred outcomes (e.g. tooth retention)
No studies measured quality of life changes or long-term, patient-centred outcomes as formal outcomes; some studies commented on quality of life only in the discussion or conclusion sections.0 studiesNo studies

Special manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) vs Conventional manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing)

Population: Children and adults with mixed levels of ID; setting home, residential, day care, school, mixed or not specified
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 6 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy (carer experience) (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
Comparison 1.6 (graded in the Effects of interventions text; not tabulated in the SoF). Bildt 2010, Superbrush vs conventional, 4 months, 18 participants (1 RCT): carer handling of toothbrush MD 0.50 (95% CI -0.35 to…1 study · 18 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Oral health assessment and oral bacteria levels (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
Comparison 1.5 (graded in the Effects of interventions text; not tabulated in the SoF). Single-use suction toothbrush vs standard manual toothbrush (both with a chemical agent), 90 days, Ferozali 2007: Total Oral…1 study · 22 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Plaque (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
MD 0.20 [-0.45, 0.85]1 study · 25 participantsVery low
Downgraded: imprecision
Gingival inflammation (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
MD -0.10 [-0.77, 0.57]1 study · 25 participantsLow
Downgraded: imprecision
Plaque (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD -0.44 [-0.93, 0.05]1 study · 18 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Gingival inflammation (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD -12.40 [-24.31, -0.49]1 study · 18 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Electric toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) vs Manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing)

Population: Children and adults with mixed levels of ID; setting home, residential, day care, school, mixed or not specified
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 6 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
SMD 0.29 [-0.07, 0.65]2 studies · 120 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy (participant/carer preference)
Long term (>12 months)
Comparison 2.8 (reported; not GRADE-rated). One NRS (Bratel 1991, 23 participants), self-efficacy at 16 months: 10/12 people with ID using the electric toothbrush reported a preference for it, finding it easier to use…1 study · 23 participantsUngraded
Gingival inflammation (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
Electric vs manual toothbrush. Assorted gingival indices scale 0-4, 2-4 weeks; 252 participants (4 RCTs); Low. Four studies showed no significant differences for gingival inflammation short term; data could not be…4 studies · 252 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias
Gingival inflammation (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD 0.02 [-0.06, 0.09]2 studies · 120 participantsModerate
Downgraded: risk of bias
Plaque (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
Assorted plaque indices scale 0-5, 1-4 weeks; 247 participants (4 RCTs); Very Low. Uncertain effect on plaque short term: 2 studies (69 participants) favoured the electric toothbrush; 2 studies (178 participants)…4 studies · 247 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency
Calculus (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
SMD -0.04 [-0.40, 0.32]2 studies · 120 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Oral hygiene care training of carers vs No training (or a placebo training session) of carers

Population: People with mixed levels of ID (age range unclear); setting residential
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 4 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD -0.07 [-0.26, 0.13]2 studies · 99 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias
Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy of carers (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD 0.15 [-0.80, 1.10]2 studies · 189 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency
Oral health knowledge of carers (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD 0.69 [0.31, 1.06]2 studies · 189 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias
Gingival inflammation (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD -0.09 [-0.63, 0.45]2 studies · 99 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency

Oral hygiene training (toothbrushing routine) of people with ID vs No oral hygiene training of people with ID

Population: Children and adults with mild to profound ID; setting residential or school
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 3 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
MD -0.47 [-0.92, -0.02]1 study · 10 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy (toothbrushing behaviour) (medium and long term)
Long term (>12 months)
Behaviour, attitude and self-efficacy (steps achieved in a toothbrushing routine), 100 days to 19 months; 59 participants (4 NRS); Very Low. Results not in a format for meta-analysis: 3 NRS (56 participants) reported…4 studies · 59 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias
Gingival inflammation (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
MD -0.28 [-0.90, 0.34]1 study · 10 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Scheduled dental recall intervals (1-, 3- or 6-monthly; oral hygiene instruction with or without scale and polish) plus daily supervised toothbrushing by carers vs Usual care (no specific treatment)

Population: Adults (mean age 30.9 years), level of ID unclear; setting day centre
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 4 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Gingival pocketing (long term)
Long term (>12 months)
MD -0.60 [-0.97, -0.23]1 study · 304 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Plaque (long term)
Long term (>12 months)
MD -0.70 [-1.28, -0.12]1 study · 304 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Calculus (long term)
Long term (>12 months)
MD -2.00 [-2.64, -1.36]1 study · 304 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Gingival bleeding (long term)
Long term (>12 months)
MD -0.20 [-0.86, 0.46]1 study · 304 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Discussion of individual clinical photographs (plaque highlighted by a disclosing agent) as an oral hygiene motivator, plus oral hygiene instruction vs No discussion of clinical photographs, but received the same oral hygiene instruction

Population: People with ID (level of ID and age unclear); setting day centre
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
MD -0.10 [-0.85, 0.65]1 study · 29 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Daily toothbrushing by a dental student vs Twice-weekly or once-weekly toothbrushing by a dental student

Population: People aged 15 to 30 years with mixed levels of ID; setting residential
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Gingival inflammation (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
Daily vs twice-weekly or once-weekly toothbrushing by dental students. Buccal and labial Loe & Silness index, mean 21 days; 80 participants (1 RCT); Low. Brushing daily most likely reduced gingival inflammation more…1 study · 80 participantsLow
Downgraded: imprecision

Toothpaste with a plaque-disclosing agent vs Conventional toothpaste

Population: Children aged 7 to 13 years with Down syndrome (mild to moderate ID); setting residential
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 2 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
Simplified Green & Vermillion Oral Hygiene Index (plaque), mean 10 days; percent mean difference 65 (intervention) vs 15 (control), P<0.0001 favouring the disclosing-agent toothpaste; 40 participants (SoF states 80,…1 study · 40 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias
Gingival inflammation (short term)
Short term (<6 weeks)
Toothpaste with a plaque-disclosing agent vs conventional toothpaste, children with Down syndrome. Ainamo & Bay Gingival Bleeding Index, mean 10 days; percent mean difference 18 (intervention) vs 8 (control), P<0.001…1 study · 40 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias

Individualised oral care plan based on a multidisciplinary assessment vs Usual care (regular oral hygiene care following the institution's standard guidelines)

Population: Adults aged 22 to 57 years with mixed levels of ID; setting residential
CD012628.PUB2 (current) · 1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Plaque (medium term)
Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months)
Individualised oral care plan vs usual care. Subjective Oral Hygiene Rating scale 1-5 and Improvement Differential, mean 12 months; SOHR 2.97 (intervention) vs 3.10 (control); improvement differential 38% vs 5%; 79…1 study · 79 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias

Oral hygiene interventions (mechanical plaque removal): knowledge-based, behavioural, or skills training for people with ID or their carers vs Usual care, no care, or a similar alternative intervention

Population: People with intellectual disabilities (ID), living at home, in day care, in hospital or in a residential care setting; all levels of ID as defined by ICD-10
CD012628 · 7 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Oral hygiene knowledge acquisition by people with ID, or by their carers
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (oral hygiene knowledge acquisition); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Adherence to oral hygiene routines by people with ID or their carers
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (adherence to oral hygiene routines); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Dental caries levels of people with ID
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (dental caries levels); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Any unintended (positive or negative) effects of the interventions
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (unintended / adverse effects); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Oral hygiene skills acquisition by people with ID, or by their carers
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (oral hygiene skills acquisition); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Quality of life changes or long-term, patient-centred outcomes (e.g. tooth retention)
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned secondary outcome (quality of life / long-term patient-centred outcomes); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies
Gingival health of people with ID (primary outcome)
Protocol stage (Waldron 2017): planned primary outcome (gingival health); no eligible studies or results reported at protocol stage.0 studiesNo studies