Same question across reviews · CL0221
intervention :: Oral hygiene/education -> Other outcome
ProposalThis cluster groups questions by review type, intervention category and outcome domain. It is a proposal pending human validation, so questions in it may differ in population, comparator or timing.
Reviews
21
Questions
149
current versions
GRADE rated
46
Review overlap (CCA)
0.047
over all included studies of these reviews, not this question only
| Question | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Theory-based oral health education/promotion interventions (HBM, TPB, SCT, HAPA, TTM, PMT, SOC, PRECEDE-PROCEED, MI) vs Control (waitlist, routine/standard oral health education, or minimal intervention) Self-efficacy related to oral health · Children and adolescents aged 5-18 years · Post-intervention (follow-up 4 weeks to 12 months, varies by study), Overall Health promotion theory-based educational interventions for improving oral health in children and… (2025) | SMD 1.49 [0.99, 2.00] | 10 studies · 4513 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Pain intensity at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD 0.03 [-0.21, 0.28] | 5 studies · 509 participants | Low |
Primary school-based interventions (one or more of: school health policy, oral health education, healthy school environment, access to oral health services, community involvement) vs No intervention or usual practice/activities Oral hygiene measured by plaque scores · Primary school children (aged 3-16 years) attending primary school in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) · Post-intervention; follow-up varied across studies (interventions ranged from <2 years to >=2 years and longer) Effectiveness of primary school-based interventions in improving oral health of children in low- and… (2022) | SMD -0.32 [-0.46, -0.18] | 7 studies · 3339 participants | Very low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Psychological distress at follow-up · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.32 [-0.51, -0.13] | 6 studies · 516 participants | Low |
Traditional screening with motivation (oral health education and offer of free treatment) vs Traditional screening alone Dental attendance · School children, primary and secondary schools in India · mean 3 months School dental screening programmes for oral health (2022) · Cochrane | RR 3.08 [2.57, 3.71] | 1 study · 2486 participants | Very low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Additional physical symptoms · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | This outcome was not measured (not synthesised for this comparison; review-wide only one study reported additional physical symptoms). | NR | No studies |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Disability caused by pain at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.15 [-0.40, 0.10] | 3 studies · 245 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Pain intensity at follow-up (12 months) · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up (12 months) Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.30 [-0.51, -0.09] | 6 studies · 639 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Disability caused by pain at follow-up · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.15 [-0.42, 0.12] | 3 studies · 245 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Pain disability at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD 0.02 [-0.21, 0.24] | 3 studies · 315 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Psychological distress at follow-up · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | MD -1.02 [-4.02, 1.98] | 1 study · 101 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Pain intensity at follow-up (6-12 months) · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up (6-12 months) Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.29 [-0.50, -0.08] | 5 studies · 475 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Psychological distress at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | MD 2.36 [-1.17, 5.89] | 1 study · 101 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Pain intensity at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.09 [-0.30, 0.12] | 6 studies · 577 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Pain disability at follow-up · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Follow-up Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD 0.01 [-0.61, 0.64] | 2 studies · 240 participants | Low |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control) Additional physical symptoms · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | This outcome was not measured for this comparison. | NR | No studies |
Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management) Psychological distress at treatment completion · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane | SMD -0.32 [-0.50, -0.15] | 6 studies · 553 participants | Low |
Sodium bicarbonate rinse (plus toothbrushing) vs Water rinse (plus toothbrushing) Incidence of VAP · Critically ill patients receiving mechanical ventilation in ICU Oral hygiene care for critically ill patients to prevent ventilator‐associated pneumonia (2020) · Cochrane | RR 1.57 [0.62, 3.99] | 2 studies · 347 participants | Ungraded |
Powered toothbrushing (as part of comprehensive oral care) vs Manual toothbrushing (standard oral care) Incidence of VAP · Critically ill patients receiving mechanical ventilation in ICU Oral hygiene care for critically ill patients to prevent ventilator‐associated pneumonia (2020) · Cochrane | RR 0.84 [0.37, 1.91] | 1 study · 78 participants | Ungraded |
Powered toothbrushing (as part of comprehensive oral care) vs Manual toothbrushing (standard oral care) Duration of ICU stay · Critically ill patients receiving mechanical ventilation in ICU Oral hygiene care for critically ill patients to prevent ventilator‐associated pneumonia (2020) · Cochrane | MD -2.00 [-5.93, 1.93] | 1 study · 78 participants | Ungraded |
Powered toothbrushing (as part of comprehensive oral care) vs Manual toothbrushing (standard oral care) Mortality · Critically ill patients receiving mechanical ventilation in ICU Oral hygiene care for critically ill patients to prevent ventilator‐associated pneumonia (2020) · Cochrane | RR 1.05 [0.16, 7.10] | 1 study · 78 participants | Ungraded |
Powered toothbrushing (as part of comprehensive oral care) vs Manual toothbrushing (standard oral care) Duration of mechanical ventilation · Critically ill patients receiving mechanical ventilation in ICU Oral hygiene care for critically ill patients to prevent ventilator‐associated pneumonia (2020) · Cochrane | MD 0.00 [-1.78, 1.78] | 1 study · 78 participants | Ungraded |
Rubber/elastomeric cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 4 to 6 weeks Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD -0.08 [-0.46, 0.29] | 6 studies · 273 participants | Very low |
Flossing plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Interproximal caries · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed caries as an outcome. | 0 studies | No studies |
Scheduled dental recall intervals (1-, 3- or 6-monthly; oral hygiene instruction with or without scale and polish) plus daily supervised toothbrushing by carers vs Usual care (no specific treatment) Calculus (long term) · Adults (mean age 30.9 years), level of ID unclear; setting day centre · Long term (>12 months) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | MD -2.00 [-2.64, -1.36] | 1 study · 304 participants | Low |
Wooden cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed periodontitis. | 0 studies | No studies |
Toothbrushing + Turkish gall oral rinse vs Toothbrushing Volatile sulphur compounds (VSC), halimeter · Adolescents and adults aged over 16 years with clinical or self-assessed halitosis of oral origin; excluding induced… · 2 weeks Interventions for managing halitosis (2019) · Cochrane | MD -211.47 [-503.58, 80.64] | 1 study · 66 participants | Ungraded |
Oral irrigation plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed periodontitis. | 0 studies | No studies |
Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 1 month Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD -1.07 [-1.51, -0.63] | 2 studies · 93 participants | Low |
Wooden cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 3 months Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | MD -0.03 [-0.13, 0.07] | 1 study · 24 participants | Very low |
Oral irrigation plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | Periodontitis measured in one study but useable data not provided (Walsh 1989 reported proportion of sites with >4 mm pocket depth at 3 months but not mean PD; attachment loss measured but no data). | 1 study | Ungraded |
Electric toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) vs Manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) Plaque (medium term) · Children and adults with mixed levels of ID; setting home, residential, day care, school, mixed or not specified · Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | SMD 0.29 [-0.07, 0.65] | 2 studies · 120 participants | Low |
Rubber/elastomeric cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 4 to 6 weeks Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD 0.08 [-0.33, 0.49] | 2 studies · 92 participants | Very low |
Wooden cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 3 months Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | MD 0.02 [-0.06, 0.10] | 1 study · 24 participants | Very low |
Rubber/elastomeric cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | One study measured periodontitis but the data were not usable (Smith 1988 measured PPD but data unusable). | 1 study | Ungraded |
Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 1 month (4 to 6 weeks) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD -0.47 [-0.84, -0.11] | 5 studies · 290 participants | Very low |
Oral irrigation plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 1 month Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD -0.16 [-0.41, 0.10] | 3 studies · 235 participants | Low |
Scheduled dental recall intervals (1-, 3- or 6-monthly; oral hygiene instruction with or without scale and polish) plus daily supervised toothbrushing by carers vs Usual care (no specific treatment) Plaque (long term) · Adults (mean age 30.9 years), level of ID unclear; setting day centre · Long term (>12 months) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | MD -0.70 [-1.28, -0.12] | 1 study · 304 participants | Low |
Rubber/elastomeric cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Interproximal caries · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed caries as an outcome. | 0 studies | No studies |
Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Interproximal caries · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed caries as an outcome. | 0 studies | No studies |
Oral hygiene care training of carers vs No training (or a placebo training session) of carers Plaque (medium term) · People with mixed levels of ID (age range unclear); setting residential · Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | MD -0.07 [-0.26, 0.13] | 2 studies · 99 participants | Low |
Flossing plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Plaque · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) · 1 month Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | SMD -0.42 [-0.85, 0.02] | 7 studies · 542 participants | Very low |
Oral hygiene interventions (mechanical plaque removal): knowledge-based, behavioural, or skills training for people with ID or their carers vs Usual care, no care, or a similar alternative intervention Any unintended (positive or negative) effects of the interventions · People with intellectual disabilities (ID), living at home, in day care, in hospital or in a residential care setting;… Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | Adverse/unintended effects addressed narratively: 10 of 34 studies investigated or reported negative unintended or adverse effects (e.g. difficulty with the electric or 3-headed toothbrushes, being frightened by the… | 10 studies | Ungraded |
Special manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) vs Conventional manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) Oral health assessment and oral bacteria levels (medium term) · Children and adults with mixed levels of ID; setting home, residential, day care, school, mixed or not specified · Medium term (6 weeks to 12 months) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | Comparison 1.5 (graded in the Effects of interventions text; not tabulated in the SoF). Single-use suction toothbrush vs standard manual toothbrush (both with a chemical agent), 90 days, Ferozali 2007: Total Oral… | 1 study · 22 participants | Very low |
Rubber/elastomeric cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | One study measured probing pocket depth but no data were reported (Graziani 2017 mentioned PPD as outcome but no data). | 1 study | Ungraded |
Oral hygiene training (toothbrushing routine) of people with ID vs No oral hygiene training of people with ID Plaque (short term) · Children and adults with mild to profound ID; setting residential or school · Short term (<6 weeks) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | MD -0.47 [-0.92, -0.02] | 1 study · 10 participants | Very low |
Wooden cleaning stick plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Interproximal caries · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed caries as an outcome. | 0 studies | No studies |
Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing vs Toothbrushing alone Periodontitis (probing pocket depth) · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | One study measured probing pocket depth but no data were reported (Graziani 2017). | 1 study | Ungraded |
Interdental brushing plus toothbrushing vs Flossing plus toothbrushing Interproximal caries · Adults, 16 years and older (dentate) Home use of interdental cleaning devices, in addition to toothbrushing, for preventing and controlling… (2019) · Cochrane | No included study assessed caries as an outcome. | 0 studies | No studies |
Special manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) vs Conventional manual toothbrush (self, carer or carer-assisted brushing) Plaque (short term) · Children and adults with mixed levels of ID; setting home, residential, day care, school, mixed or not specified · Short term (<6 weeks) Oral hygiene interventions for people with intellectual disabilities (2019) · Cochrane | MD 0.20 [-0.45, 0.85] | 1 study · 25 participants | Very low |