Cochrane · intervention · CD013515

Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs)

Penlington, C, Bowes, C, Taylor, G, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2022 · Cochrane Library

Full textEvery question was extracted from the full review (methods and results), not only its Summary of Findings table.
Questions
28
current version
GRADE rated
14
No studies
4
Included studies
22
as reported
No studies 4 · 14.3%Ungraded 10 · 35.7%Very low 2 · 7.1%Low 12 · 42.9%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationAdults and adolescents aged 12 years or older with pain lasting 3 months or longer since initial onset of TMD diagnosed by any method22 RCTs, 2001 participants (24 to 191 per trial); 20 studies in adults (aged 18+), 2 studies in adolescents aged 12 to 19 years (Wahlund 2003; Wahlund 2015)
InterventionAny psychological intervention (e.g. CBT, behaviour therapy, ACT, mindfulness) based on a widely accepted psychological theory, delivered by psychologists or staff with appropriate behavioural healthcare training (at least 50% psychological content for mixed packages)CBT (n=13); Relaxation (n=4); Hypnosis (n=2); Mindfulness (n=1); Mixed CBT and hypnosis (n=1); Habit reversal treatment (n=1); Education and counselling (n=1); Hope-based intervention (n=1)
ComparisonAlternative treatment (e.g. medication or oral splints); control condition (usual care, attention control, waiting-list control, or no treatment); or another psychological treatmentPharmacological interventions (n=4); Occlusal appliances (n=4); Self-care management (n=1); Disease management (n=1); Pain education (n=1); Non-directive counselling (n=1); Usual care (n=7); Waiting-list control/no treatment/placebo (n=5)
OutcomesPain intensity; Disability caused by pain; Adverse events; Psychological distress; Additional physical symptoms; Quality of lifePain intensity (n=22); Disability caused by pain (n=8); Adverse events (n=6); Psychological distress (n=8); Additional physical symptoms (n=4); Quality of life (n=1)
Study designsRandomised controlled trials (including cross-over trials where each arm can be evaluated independently)22 RCTs (21 parallel-arm; 1 cross-over used as parallel with first-period data); 8 multi-arm trials; 12 studies combined in meta-analyses
TimingPain lasting 3 months or longer; outcomes at treatment completion and longest follow-upOutcomes at treatment completion (shortest 4 weeks) and longest follow-up (3 to 12 months)

Search date: 2021-10. Databases: Cochrane Oral Health's Trials Register; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); MEDLINE Ovid; Embase Ovid; PsycINFO Ovid; Trip database; Web of Science Conference Proceedings; Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global; OpenGrey; US National Institutes of Health Ongoing Trials…

Questions and results

Show all 2 versions

Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Alternative (active) treatment (e.g. oral splint, medication, self-care or disease management)

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
9 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Quality of life
This outcome was not measured (not synthesised for this comparison; review-wide only one study reported quality of life).NRNo studies
Pain intensity at treatment completion
Treatment completion
SMD 0.03 [-0.21, 0.28]5 studies · 509 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Disability caused by pain at treatment completion
Treatment completion
SMD -0.15 [-0.40, 0.10]3 studies · 245 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Disability caused by pain at follow-up
Follow-up
SMD -0.15 [-0.42, 0.12]3 studies · 245 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Additional physical symptoms
This outcome was not measured (not synthesised for this comparison; review-wide only one study reported additional physical symptoms).NRNo studies
Psychological distress at follow-up
Follow-up
SMD -0.32 [-0.51, -0.13]6 studies · 516 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Pain intensity at follow-up (6-12 months)
Follow-up (6-12 months)
SMD -0.29 [-0.50, -0.08]5 studies · 475 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Adverse events
SoF: 3 studies reported minor adverse events in the control group; 1 study reported minor adverse events in psychological therapy group; 1 study reported that there were no adverse events. Results: NCT00066937 minor…5 studiesVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
Psychological distress at treatment completion
Treatment completion
SMD -0.32 [-0.50, -0.15]6 studies · 553 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision

Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) vs Usual care, waiting list or no treatment (control)

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
9 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Quality of life
This outcome was not measured for this comparison.NRNo studies
Pain disability at treatment completion
Treatment completion
SMD 0.02 [-0.21, 0.24]3 studies · 315 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Adverse events
Only 1 study reported adverse events as an outcome (Litt 2010): it found worsening symptoms in 13 people treated with an oral splint (as part of standard treatment) and 4 people treated with CBT.1 study · 101 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
Pain intensity at follow-up (12 months)
Follow-up (12 months)
SMD -0.30 [-0.51, -0.09]6 studies · 639 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Psychological distress at follow-up
Follow-up
MD -1.02 [-4.02, 1.98]1 study · 101 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Psychological distress at treatment completion
Treatment completion
MD 2.36 [-1.17, 5.89]1 study · 101 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Pain intensity at treatment completion
Treatment completion
SMD -0.09 [-0.30, 0.12]6 studies · 577 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Pain disability at follow-up
Follow-up
SMD 0.01 [-0.61, 0.64]2 studies · 240 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
Additional physical symptoms
This outcome was not measured for this comparison.NRNo studies

Hypnosis vs Relaxation

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
2 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Adverse events
Abrahamsen 2011: one participant who received hypnosis was admitted to a psychiatric hospital during the intervention; per study authors this was unrelated to the study treatment.1 studyUngraded
Pain intensity
Treatment completion
Not pooled (clinical heterogeneity). Abrahamsen 2011: MD -1.00 (95% CI -2.27 to 0.27), n=38 (hypnosis 19, relaxation 19); Stam 1984: MD not reported, n=27 (hypnosis 12, relaxation 15).2 studies · 65 participantsUngraded

Hope-based intervention vs Pain education

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Treatment completion
MD 0.10 [-13.52, 13.72]1 study · 29 participantsUngraded

CBT plus hypnosis (combined package) vs Usual care

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Treatment completion
MD -2.32 [-3.52, -1.12]1 study · 59 participantsUngraded

Habit reversal treatment vs Waiting-list control

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Treatment completion
MD -1.31 [-1.97, -0.65]1 study · 20 participantsUngraded

Relaxation vs Occlusal (oral) appliance

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
2 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Treatment completion · Adolescents (12-19 years)
Not pooled. Wahlund 2015: MD 3.70 (95% CI -1.21 to 8.61), n=57 (relaxation 28, appliance 29); Wahlund 2003: MD not reported, n=83 (relaxation 41, appliance 42). Both studies were in adolescents; the occlusal appliance…2 studies · 140 participantsUngraded
Adverse events
Adolescents (12-19 years)
Wahlund 2015: reported no adverse treatment effects from treatment with an occlusal appliance or with relaxation therapy.1 studyUngraded

Mindfulness plus medication vs Medication alone

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Shevtsova 2020: data could not be combined; both groups achieved at least a 30% reduction in pain from baseline at treatment completion and follow-up (Table 1). No between-group MD reported.1 studyUngraded

Education vs Usual care

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Lupton 1968: multi-arm study; education arm versus usual care. No usable pain-reduction data reported and could not be combined in meta-analysis (Table 1).1 studyUngraded

Counselling (non-directive) vs Usual care

Population: People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pain intensity
Lupton 1968: multi-arm study; counselling arm versus usual care. No usable pain-reduction data reported and could not be combined in meta-analysis (Table 1).1 studyUngraded