Same question across reviews · CL0279

intervention :: Unclassified intervention -> Adverse effects/fluorosis

ProposalThis cluster groups questions by review type, intervention category and outcome domain. It is a proposal pending human validation, so questions in it may differ in population, comparator or timing.
Reviews
100
Questions
420
current versions
GRADE rated
67
Review overlap (CCA)
NR
over all included studies of these reviews, not this question only
QuestionEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Brushed less than once per day vs Brushed once or more per day
Fluorosis (percentage prevalence in permanent teeth) · Children exposed to topical fluoride when under 6 years old; fluorosis assessed in permanent teeth at 6 to 18 years · Fluorosis assessed when most permanent teeth of interest had erupted (6 to 18 years)
Topical fluoride as a cause of dental fluorosis in children (2024) · Cochrane
OR 0.62 [0.53, 0.74]2 studies · 1693 participantsLow
Antioxidants (lycopene, curcumin, Oxitard) vs Placebo or no active treatment
Adverse effects · People of any age with a confirmed diagnosis, by clinical examination and biopsy, of oral submucous fibrosis (OSF)
Interventions for managing oral submucous fibrosis (2024) · Cochrane
Adverse effects (any): 0 in placebo vs 2 minor (flatulence and bloating); 90 (1); no GRADE rating given.1 study · 90 participantsUngraded
Facemask with rapid maxillary expansion (RME) vs Pushing Splints
Adverse effects · Children and adolescents (aged 16 years or younger) with prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) · End of treatment
Orthodontic treatment for prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) in children (2024) · Cochrane
Galeotti 2021: occasional skin irritation on the chin and three appliance breakages (one facemask, two Pushing Splints).1 study · 42 participantsUngraded
Vasodilators (isoxsuprine, xanthinol nicotinate) vs Placebo or no active treatment
Adverse effects · People of any age with a confirmed diagnosis, by clinical examination and biopsy, of oral submucous fibrosis (OSF)
Interventions for managing oral submucous fibrosis (2024) · Cochrane
Adverse effects (any): 0 placebo vs 14 minor (transient flushing and upper trunk warmness); 85 (2); no GRADE rating.2 studies · 85 participantsUngraded
Bone-anchored intermaxillary traction (BAIMT) vs Removable mandibular retractor (RMR)
Adverse effects / patient-reported (pain, self-confidence) · Children and adolescents (aged 16 years or younger) with prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) · During treatment
Orthodontic treatment for prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) in children (2024) · Cochrane
Majanni 2016: BAIMT associated with higher pain early in treatment than RMR (P<0.001); RMR negatively impacted self-confidence more than BAIMT at all time points (P<0.001).1 study · 38 participantsUngraded
Brushed less than twice per day vs Brushed twice or more per day
Fluorosis (percentage prevalence in permanent teeth) · Children exposed to topical fluoride when under 6 years old; fluorosis assessed in permanent teeth at 6 to 18 years · Fluorosis assessed when most permanent teeth of interest had erupted (6 to 18 years)
Topical fluoride as a cause of dental fluorosis in children (2024) · Cochrane
OR 0.88 [0.71, 1.08]3 studies · 2037 participantsVery low
Abdominal dermal fat graft vs Nasolabial flap
Adverse effects · People of any age with a confirmed diagnosis, by clinical examination and biopsy, of oral submucous fibrosis (OSF)
Interventions for managing oral submucous fibrosis (2024) · Cochrane
Kania 2022 reported 3/30 serious adverse effects (graft failure) requiring prolonged hospital stay in the abdominal dermal fat graft group; no GRADE rating.1 study · 30 participantsUngraded
Postoperative systemic antibiotics (phenoxymethylpenicillin/penicillin VK, 7-day course), partial or total chemo-mechanical debridement and analgesics vs Matched placebo, partial or total chemo-mechanical debridement and analgesics
Adverse effects · Adults with a symptomatic necrotic tooth or localised acute apical abscess (no signs of spreading infection or… · 3 days
Systemic antibiotics for symptomatic apical periodontitis and acute apical abscess in adults (2024) · Cochrane
1 participant reported diarrhoea (placebo group); 1 participant reported fatigue and reduced energy postoperatively (antibiotic group). 61 participants (2 studies).2 studies · 61 participantsVery low
Facemask vs Untreated control (no treatment)
Adverse effects (temporomandibular joint signs and symptoms) · Children and adolescents (aged 16 years or younger) with prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) · End of treatment / follow-up
Orthodontic treatment for prominent lower front teeth (Class III malocclusion) in children (2024) · Cochrane
Mandall 2010: no statistical analysis of TMJ signs/symptoms due to low prevalence; at 6-year follow-up reported no adverse effects from facemask.1 study · 69 participantsUngraded
Intralesional dexamethasone injections vs Placebo injections
Adverse effects · People of any age with a confirmed diagnosis, by clinical examination and biopsy, of oral submucous fibrosis (OSF)
Interventions for managing oral submucous fibrosis (2024) · Cochrane
Adverse effects (any): no adverse effects reported; 25 (1); no GRADE rating.1 study · 25 participantsUngraded
Single preoperative dose of systemic antibiotics (clindamycin 600 mg), total chemo-mechanical debridement and root filling vs Matched placebo, total chemo-mechanical debridement and root filling
Adverse effects · Adults with symptomatic apical periodontitis (no signs of spreading infection or systemic involvement) · 7 days
Systemic antibiotics for symptomatic apical periodontitis and acute apical abscess in adults (2024) · Cochrane
No adverse effects reported in the placebo group; 1 participant reported dizziness in the intervention group. 72 participants (1 study).1 study · 72 participantsLow
Brushed less than twice per day vs Brushed twice or more per day
Fluorosis (percentage prevalence in permanent teeth) · Children exposed to topical fluoride when under 6 years old; fluorosis assessed in permanent teeth at 6 to 18 years · Fluorosis assessed when most permanent teeth of interest had erupted (6 to 18 years)
Topical fluoride as a cause of dental fluorosis in children (2024) · Cochrane
OR 1.63 [0.81, 3.28]2 studies · 258 participantsVery low
Part-time clear plastic (removable) retainer vs Any type of fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: Gingival Index (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
MD -0.34 [-0.66, -0.02]1 study · 59 participantsVery low
Surgery vs Radiotherapy alone
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oropharyngeal cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: grade 2+ treatment-related events similar (31/34 radiotherapy vs 33/34 surgery; RR 0.94, 0.83 to 1.06); more hearing loss/neutropenia/constipation/tinnitus with radiotherapy, more oral bleeding/trismus…1 study · 68 participantsVery low
Hawley removable retainer vs Clear plastic removable retainer
Adverse effects on oral health · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
Not measured0 studiesNo studies
Elective neck dissection (at time of primary tumour resection) vs Therapeutic (delayed) neck dissection
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity cancer (tongue or floor of mouth) and clinically negative neck nodes
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
RR 1.31 [1.11, 1.54]2 studies · 746 participantsModerate
Biodentine vs Mineral trioxide aggregate (MTA)
Tooth discoloration · Patients with carious pulp exposure in permanent teeth undergoing DPC or pulpotomy · ≥6 months follow-up
Comparative efficacy of materials used in patients undergoing pulpotomy or direct pulp capping in carious… (2023)
Tooth discoloration was recorded in 4 trials; the 3 Biodentine-vs-MTA trials consistently showed more discoloration with MTA (Awawdeh 2018: 27/35 MTA vs 0/34 BD; Parinyaprom 2018: 11/31 MTA vs 0/29 BD; Uesrichai 2019:…3 studiesUngraded
Full-time wear of removable retainer (any type) vs Part-time wear of removable retainer (any type)
Adverse effects on oral health · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
Not measured0 studiesNo studies
Light vibrational forces (LVF) vs Conventional orthodontic appliance treatment (placebo or no adjunct)
Harms and side effects: orthodontically-induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR), mm · Adolescents and adults with malocclusion undergoing orthodontic treatment with fixed or removable appliances
Non‐surgical adjunctive interventions for accelerating tooth movement in patients undergoing orthodontic… (2023) · Cochrane
MD 0.09 [-0.35, 0.53]1 study · 50 participantsLow
Fibre-reinforced composite fixed (bonded) retainer vs Multistrand / spiral wire fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: bleeding on probing (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
No RCTs at 12-month follow-up; 1 RCT at 6 months found no difference (very low-certainty)0 studiesNo studies
Light vibrational forces (LVF) vs Conventional orthodontic appliance treatment (placebo or no adjunct)
Harms: serious adverse effects · Adolescents and adults with malocclusion undergoing orthodontic treatment with fixed or removable appliances
Non‐surgical adjunctive interventions for accelerating tooth movement in patients undergoing orthodontic… (2023) · Cochrane
No serious adverse effects were reported across five studies that assessed harms (Katchooi 2018; Lombardo 2018; Pavlin 2015; Reiss 2020; Taha 2020).5 studiesUngraded
CAD/CAM nitinol fixed (bonded) retainer vs Conventional/analogue multistrand fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: Gingival Index (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
MD 0.00 [-0.16, 0.16]2 studies · 107 participantsLow
Sentinel node biopsy (neck dissection only if biopsy positive) vs Elective neck dissection
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity or oropharyngeal cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: no adverse events were reported (Garrel 2020).1 study · 279 participantsVery low
Elective radical (comprehensive) neck dissection vs Elective selective neck dissection
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events (BHNCSG 1998): flap necrosis, wound infection, fistula, vascular rupture, haematoma, seroma, chyle fistula; no complications in 45/76 modified radical ND and 54/72 supraomohyoid ND; 2 vs 1 postoperative…1 study · 148 participantsLow
Surgery plus adjuvant radiotherapy vs Chemotherapy (chemoradiotherapy)
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity or oropharyngeal cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: not reported for any participants (Iyer 2015).0 studiesNo studies
Superselective neck dissection vs Selective neck dissection
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity cancer (tongue or floor of mouth) and clinically negative neck nodes
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: no adverse events reported; 72 participants (2 RCTs).2 studies · 72 participantsVery low
CAD/CAM nitinol fixed (bonded) retainer vs Conventional/analogue multistrand fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: bleeding on probing (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
No RCTs at 12-month follow-up; 2 RCTs at 6 months found no difference (low-certainty)0 studiesNo studies
Light vibrational forces (LVF) vs Conventional orthodontic appliance treatment (placebo or no adjunct)
Harms: non-serious adverse effects (headache, discomfort, loosening of temporary anchorage devices) · Adolescents and adults with malocclusion undergoing orthodontic treatment with fixed or removable appliances
Non‐surgical adjunctive interventions for accelerating tooth movement in patients undergoing orthodontic… (2023) · Cochrane
RR 0.96 [0.32, 2.85]1 study · 45 participantsUngraded
Supraomohyoid neck dissection vs Modified radical neck dissection
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity or oropharyngeal cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: significant difference in complication rates, lower for supraomohyoid (SOND 13.0% vs MRND 21.9%, P=0.040). UW-QOL at 1 year: supraomohyoid superior in pain relief (78.8% vs 75.2%, P=0.013) and shoulder…1 study · 332 participantsVery low
Full-time clear plastic (removable) retainer vs Any type of fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: gingival bleeding (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
RR 0.53 [0.31, 0.88]1 study · 84 participantsVery low
Surgery plus radiotherapy vs Radiotherapy alone
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity or oropharyngeal cancer
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: severe acute effects in both groups (subcutaneous fibrosis, telangiectasia, moderate-to-severe oedema, xerostomia, trismus, dysphagia); subcutaneous fibrosis more prevalent with surgery + radiotherapy…1 study · 35 participantsVery low
Fibre-reinforced composite fixed (bonded) retainer vs Multistrand / spiral wire fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: Gingival Index (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
No RCTs at 12-month follow-up; 1 RCT at 6 months: higher gingival inflammation with fibre-reinforced composite (MD 0.59, 95% CI 0.13 to 1.05; very low-certainty)0 studiesNo studies
Light-emitting diode (LED) photobiomodulation vs Conventional orthodontic appliance treatment
Harms and side effects arising during treatment · Adolescents and adults with malocclusion undergoing fixed orthodontic appliance treatment
Non‐surgical adjunctive interventions for accelerating tooth movement in patients undergoing orthodontic… (2023) · Cochrane
Harms and side effects | Not reported. None of the included studies assessed harms arising during the LED intervention.NRNo studies
PET-CT following chemoradiotherapy (neck dissection only if no/incomplete response) vs Planned neck dissection before or after chemoradiotherapy
Adverse events associated with treatment · Adults with oral cavity or oropharyngeal cancer with nodal disease (stage N2 or N3)
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancers: surgical treatment (2023) · Cochrane
Adverse events: 22 surgical complications in the PET-CT group vs 83 in the planned-surgery group (Mehanna 2017).1 study · 564 participantsVery low
Full-time clear plastic (removable) retainer vs Any type of fixed (bonded) retainer
Adverse effects on oral health: caries (lower arch) · People who had received fixed appliance orthodontic treatment · 12 months, lower arch
Retention procedures for stabilising tooth position after treatment with orthodontic braces (2023) · Cochrane
RD 0.00 [-0.05, 0.05]1 study · 84 participantsVery low
Scaling and root planing (SRP) plus antibiotics (amoxicillin and metronidazole) vs Supragingival scaling (plus placebo)
Adverse events due to periodontal therapy · People with periodontitis and metabolic syndrome (no CVD; primary prevention) · 12 months
Periodontal therapy for primary or secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease in people with periodontitis (2022) · Cochrane
Peto OR 0.14 [0.00, 6.90]1 study · 165 participantsVery low
Dental extraction protocol with plasma rich in growth factors (PRGF) inserted into the postextraction alveolus vs Standard dental extraction protocol without PRGF
Rate of complications and side effects of the intervention · People with cancer treated with intravenous bisphosphonates undergoing dental extractions (at risk of MRONJ) · 24 to 60 months
Interventions for managing medication‐related osteonecrosis of the jaw (2022) · Cochrane
No intraoperative complications were observed in either of the groups.1 study · 176 participantsUngraded
Hypnosis vs Relaxation
Adverse events · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane
Abrahamsen 2011: one participant who received hypnosis was admitted to a psychiatric hospital during the intervention; per study authors this was unrelated to the study treatment.1 studyUngraded
Flowable resin composite vs Fluoride-releasing resin-based sealant
Adverse events · Children who were regular dental attenders with caries-free first or second primary molars (public health service…
Sealants for preventing dental caries in primary teeth (2022) · Cochrane
No studies reported this outcome.0 studiesNo studies
Delicate surgery and wound closure by primary intention vs Non-traumatic tooth avulsion and wound closure by secondary intention
Rate of complications and side effects of the intervention · People treated with oral bisphosphonates undergoing dental extractions (at risk of MRONJ)
Interventions for managing medication‐related osteonecrosis of the jaw (2022) · Cochrane
No intraoperative complications were observed in either of the two groups.1 study · 700 participantsUngraded
Antibiotic prophylaxis before dental procedure vs No antibiotic prophylaxis or placebo
Mortality or serious adverse events requiring hospitalisation · Adults or children at increased risk of bacterial endocarditis (pre-existing cardiac condition) undergoing an invasive…
Antibiotic prophylaxis for preventing bacterial endocarditis following dental procedures (2022) · Cochrane
Mortality or serious adverse events requiring hospitalisation | No data reported | 248 (1 study) | - | -0 studiesNo studies
Relaxation vs Occlusal (oral) appliance
Adverse events · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Adolescents (12-19 years)
Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane
Wahlund 2015: reported no adverse treatment effects from treatment with an occlusal appliance or with relaxation therapy.1 studyUngraded
Professional oral care vs Usual oral care
Adverse effects of interventions · Residents of nursing homes and other long-term care facilities
Oral care measures for preventing nursing home‐acquired pneumonia (2022) · Cochrane
Measured in only 1 study (834 participants), which reported no serious events and 64 non-serious events, the most common of which were oral cavity disturbances (not defined) and dental staining.1 study · 834 participantsUngraded
Periodontal treatment: scaling and root planing (SRP) plus advice vs Community care: advice only
Adverse events due to periodontal therapy · People with cardiovascular disease and chronic periodontitis · 6 to 25 months
Periodontal therapy for primary or secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease in people with periodontitis (2022) · Cochrane
Adverse events: because of variable follow-up (6 to 25 months) and almost 90% loss to follow-up by one year, results were not considered useful for analysis; uncertain whether adverse events are more likely with either…1 study · 303 participantsUngraded
Antibiotic prophylaxis before dental procedure vs No antibiotic prophylaxis or placebo
Adverse effects of antibiotics · Adults or children at increased risk of bacterial endocarditis (pre-existing cardiac condition) undergoing an invasive…
Antibiotic prophylaxis for preventing bacterial endocarditis following dental procedures (2022) · Cochrane
Adverse effects of antibiotics | No data reported | 248 (1 study) | - | -0 studiesNo studies
Traditional screening (referral card given if the inspecting dentist judges the child needs to see a dentist) vs No screening
Adverse events · School children (aged 4 to 15 years), primary and secondary schools in the UK and India
School dental screening programmes for oral health (2022) · Cochrane
Adverse events: Not reported (Summary of findings 1).0 studiesNo studies
Periodontal treatment (subgingival instrumentation, with or without antimicrobials/surgery) vs No active intervention/usual care
Adverse effects of treatment · People with diabetes mellitus (type 1 or type 2, mostly type 2) and periodontitis, at least 16 years of age · 3-4 months
Treatment of periodontitis for glycaemic control in people with diabetes mellitus (2022) · Cochrane
SoF comment: insufficient evidence to determine whether SRP for glycaemic control is associated with any harms; most studies did not evaluate adverse effects. Where reported (e.g. D'Aiuto 2018) serious adverse events…NRUngraded
Platelet rich plasma vs Placebo or no treatment
Adverse events · Adults (>18 years) having permanent tooth extraction (predominantly mandibular third molars) · Follow-up: median 7 days
Local interventions for the management of alveolar osteitis (dry socket) (2022) · Cochrane
No adverse events were reported in these two trials.2 studiesUngraded
Intensive periodontal treatment (subgingival SRP with or without other periodontal treatment) vs Supra-gingival scaling
Adverse events (participants with adverse events or withdrawals due to adverse events) · Adults (any age/sex) with chronic periodontitis (>=5 teeth remaining; PPD >4 mm), with or without hypertension
Effect of periodontal treatments on blood pressure (2021) · Cochrane
SoF 2 (Adverse effects): 3 studies reported no adverse effects. 328 (3 studies); Moderate.3 studies · 328 participantsModerate
Double primary (canine and first molar) tooth extraction vs Single primary (canine) tooth extraction
Any other adverse effects, such as gingival disease and demineralisation · Young people aged 9 to 14 years diagnosed with one or both palatally displaced permanent maxillary canines (PDC)
Interventions for promoting the eruption of palatally displaced permanent canine teeth, without the need for… (2021) · Cochrane
The studies did not report adverse events.0 studiesNo studies

All 420 questions, with filters