Findings

What do systematic reviews say?

Refine by population, intervention, comparison or outcome
More filters
Evidence found and GRADE certainty

563 questions · 568 findings · 104 reviews · Headline outcomes only

No studies found 53 · 9.3%GRADE not reported 26 · 4.6%Very low 85 · 15%Low 214 · 37.7%Moderate 151 · 26.6%High 39 · 6.9%

Cervical cerclage in combination with antibiotics and tocolytics vs cervical cerclage

Preterm birth less than 34 weeks' gestation

It is very uncertain whether cervical cerclage in combination with antibiotics and tocolytics changes preterm birth < 34 completed weeks of pregnancy compared with cervical cerclage alone (very low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Intramuscular (IM) progesterone vs no treatment or placebo

Preterm birth less than 34 weeks' gestation · Women with a multiple pregnancy

Intramuscular (IM) progesterone may leads to higher preterm birth less than 34 weeks compared with no treatment or placebo (low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Intramuscular (IM) progesterone vs no treatment or placebo

Preterm birth less than 28 weeks · Women with a multiple pregnancy

Intramuscular (IM) progesterone showed no clear difference in preterm birth less than 28 weeks compared with no treatment or placebo (moderate certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Intervention not reported

Preterm birth < 34 weeks · women carrying twins, asymptomatic for PTL or PPROM

It is very uncertain whether the intervention changes preterm birth < 34 weeks (very low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Intervention not reported

Preterm birth < 37 weeks · singleton pregnancy with symptoms of PTL

It is very uncertain whether the intervention changes preterm birth < 37 weeks (very low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Summary of findings: lipid‐based nutrient supplements (LNS) vs multiple micronutrients (MMN)

Preterm birth · pregnant women

Summary of findings: lipid‐based nutrient supplements (LNS) showed no clear difference in preterm births (births before 37 weeks of gestation) compared with multiple micronutrients (MMN) (moderate certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Summary of findings: lipid‐based nutrient supplements (LNS) vs iron folic acid (IFA)

Preterm birth · pregnant women

Summary of findings: lipid‐based nutrient supplements (LNS) showed no clear difference in preterm births (births before 37 weeks of gestation) compared with iron folic acid (IFA) (moderate certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Summary of findings table ‐ Midwife continuity models vs other models of care

Preterm birth · childbearing women and their infants (all) (important/secondary outcomes)

Summary of findings table ‐ Midwife continuity of care models showed no clear difference in preterm birth (< 37 weeks) compared with other models of care (low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Summary of findings table ‐ Vitamin B12 supplementation vs no supplementation or placebo

Preterm birth · pregnant women

Summary of findings table ‐ Vitamin B12 supplementation showed no clear difference in preterm birth (< 37 weeks) compared with placebo/no vitamin B12 supplementation (low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review

Setting of BP measurement: self‐measurement vs conventional clinic measurement

Preterm birth less than 34 weeks' gestation · pregnant women with chronic or gestational hypertension

Setting of BP measurement: self‐measurement showed no clear difference in preterm birth (birth before 34 completed weeks' gestation) compared with conventional clinic measurement (low certainty).

1 finding from 1 review