Non-Cochrane · aetiology · PM42829381

Association between salivary alkaline phosphatase levels and periodontal disease: a systematic review and meta-analysis.

Alarcón-Sánchez Mario Alberto, Lomelí-Martínez Sarah Monserrat, Ortuño-Sahagún Daniel, et al. · BDJ open · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1038/s41405-026-00488-z

Findings

Population Adults with periodontal disease or healthy periodontium

22 findings

GingivitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline
MD 16.05 [-10.14, 42.25]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
4 studies · 238 participants
PeriodontitisGingivitisSalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline
MD 38.94 [-32.36, 110.25]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
4 studies · 220 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Totan 2006 excluded
MD 46.31 [22.03, 70.58]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Kido 2026 excluded
MD 47.75 [24.45, 71.06]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Todorovic 2005 excluded
MD 46.01 [21.62, 70.4]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Rasaei 2022 excluded
MD 43.76 [19.31, 68.21]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Agnihotram 2010 excluded
MD 44.44 [19.86, 69.01]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Unstimulated saliva
MD 49.94 [24.44, 75.45]
GRADE not reported
10 studies · 683 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Published before 2015
MD 27.39 [13.21, 41.58]
GRADE not reported
6 studies · 444 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Prospective longitudinal studies
MD 52.55 [0.82, 104.28]
GRADE not reported
4 studies · 259 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Parihar 2024 excluded
MD 41 [18.07, 63.92]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Luke 2015 excluded
MD 37.67 [20.93, 54.41]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Stimulated saliva
MD 19.43 [-139.17, 178.03]
GRADE not reported
2 studies · 144 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Koppolu 2021 excluded
MD 41.7 [18.5, 64.9]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Published 2015 onwards
MD 63.65 [19.74, 107.57]
GRADE not reported
6 studies · 383 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Dabra 2012 excluded
MD 46.98 [23.09, 70.86]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Nomura 2006 excluded
MD 48.07 [25.14, 71]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Al-Maliki 2024 excluded
MD 45.98 [21.58, 70.39]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Leave-one-out: Ikekpeazu 2011 excluded
MD 46.22 [21.89, 70.54]
GRADE not reported
11 studies
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline · Cross-sectional studies
MD 40.88 [9.53, 72.22]
GRADE not reported
8 studies · 568 participants
PeriodontitisPeriodontally healthySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)
Baseline
MD 44.62 [22.54, 66.69]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
12 studies · 817 participants
Salivary alkaline phosphatase levelsNot specifiedCorrelation with clinical periodontal parameters
Baseline
no estimate extracted
GRADE not reported
3 studies

Included primary studies 20

Open in Studies
StudyYearAlso included byOutcomes it informs hereTrial data
Ramenzoni 2021
Oral Diagnostic Methods for the Detection of Periodontal Disease.
PMID:33810094
20211 other reviewnot statednot extracted yet
Agnihotram 2010
matched by author and year (probable)
NRthis review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Al-Maliki 2024
DOI:10.48309/jmpcr.2024.448523.1144
NRthis review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Dabra 2012
Salivary enzymes as diagnostic markers for detection of gingival/periodontal disease and their correlation with the severity of the disease.
PMID:23162329
2012this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Deepika 2015
matched by author and year (probable)
NRthis review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Ikekpeazu 2011
Periodontal disease and type 2 diabetes: effects on salivary enzyme activities
DOI:10.1007/s13410-010-0005-z
2011this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Jeyasree 2018
Evaluation of serum and salivary alkaline phosphatase levels in chronic periodontitis patients before and after nonsurgical periodontal…
PMID:30631226
2018this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Kido 2026
Evaluation of salivary calprotectin as a marker for screening periodontitis using a latex agglutination turbidimetric immunoassay system:…
PMID:41501804
2026this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Koppolu 2021
Alkaline phosphatase and acid phosphatase levels in saliva and serum of patients with healthy periodontium, gingivitis, and periodontitis…
PMID:33424320
2021this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Luke 2015
Estimation of Specific Salivary Enzymatic Biomarkers in Individuals with Gingivitis and Chronic Periodontitis: A Clinical and Biochemical…
PMID:26435618
2015this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Nakamura 1983
Salivary enzymes. Origin and relationship to periodontal disease.
PMID:6230429
1983this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Nomura 2006
Screening of periodontitis with salivary enzyme tests.
PMID:17220614
2006this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Nomura 2012
Salivary biomarkers for predicting the progression of chronic periodontitis.
PMID:22030151
2012this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Parihar 2024
Comparative evaluation of salivary, serum, and GCF alkaline phosphatase levels in chronic periodontitis patients before and after…
PMID:39234139
2024this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Patel 2016
Estimation and Comparison of Salivary Calcium, Phosphorous, Alkaline Phosphatase and pH Levels in Periodontal Health and Disease: A…
PMID:27630955
2016this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Rasaei 2022
Evaluation of alkaline phosphatase in gingival crevicular fluid and saliva of patients with periodontitis and healthy individuals.
PMID:36992995
2022this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Risteska 2021
Diagnostic and Prognostic Markers of Periodontal Disease.
PMID:35032371
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Todorovic 2005
Salivary enzymes and periodontal disease.
PMID:16505786
2006this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Totan 2006
Salivary aspartate aminotransferase, alanine aminotransferase and alkaline phosphatase: possible markers in periodontal diseases?
PMID:16681433
2006this review onlySalivary alkaline phosphatase activity (U/L or IU/L)not extracted yet
Yaghini 2020
Evaluation of salivary calcium, phosphorus and alkaline phosphatase concentrations before and after the first phase of periodontal…
PMID:35919747
2020this review onlynot statednot extracted yet

Overlap with other reviews

Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationAdults (>18 years, both sexes) with gingivitis or periodontitis diagnosed by clinical criteria (PD, CAL and/or radiographic bone loss) and periodontally healthy controls; excluded systemic disease only, anti-inflammatory/antibiotic/corticosteroid use, prior periodontal treatment, pregnancy/breastfeeding, smoker- or alcohol-only populations1459 participants aged 18-81 years (171 gingivitis, 775 periodontitis, 513 periodontally healthy) in 20 studies from 11 countries
InterventionGingivitis; periodontitis (exposure: periodontal disease status)Periodontitis (n=20 studies; 12 in meta-analysis); gingivitis (n=6 studies; 4 in meta-analysis)
ComparisonPeriodontally healthy individualsPeriodontally healthy controls (n=12 meta-analyzed for periodontitis, 4 for gingivitis); gingivitis as comparator for periodontitis (n=4)
OutcomesPrimary: salivary ALP levels measured by spectrophotometric, colorimetric or enzymatic methods; secondary: correlation of salivary ALP with clinical periodontal parametersSalivary ALP (U/L or IU/L) pooled for gingivitis vs healthy (n=4), periodontitis vs gingivitis (n=4), periodontitis vs healthy (n=12); correlation with PD, CAL, BOP, PI, GI, RBL reported narratively (n=3)
Study designsProspective cross-sectional and longitudinal clinical studies; excluded case reports/series, RCTs, in vitro/animal studies, brief communications, conference abstracts, bibliometric studies, reviewsCross-sectional (n=13); prospective longitudinal (n=7)
TimingNot specifiedStudies published 1983-2026; baseline comparisons used