Cochrane · intervention · CD007158

Resorbable versus titanium plates for facial fractures

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2009 · Cochrane Library

Oral HealthOral and maxillofacial surgery2 versionsAMSTAR 2: not assessed
Full textEvery question was extracted from the full review (methods and results), not only its Summary of Findings table.
Questions
11
current version
GRADE rated
0
No studies
11
Included studies
0
as reported
No studies 11 · 100%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationParticipants over 18 years of age with fractures of the facial skeleton including the mandible, maxilla, zygoma (malar); studies on fractures of the mandibular condyle excludedNo included studies (0 of 53 potentially eligible studies met the inclusion criteria)
InterventionBioresorbable plates or screws or bothNot specified
ComparisonTitanium plates or screws (used as lag screws) or bothNot specified
OutcomesHealing and union of fracture (versus mal-union and non-union); Need for retreatment or replacement of fixation due to failure of the fixation; Degree of function postoperatively (mastication, swallowing, speech); Any chronic or lasting pain measured using any validated scale after 3 weeks; Analgesic medication used (type, dose, frequency); Status of occlusion; Postoperative swelling assessment; Quality of life; Patient satisfaction; Direct costs; Adverse effectsNot specified
Study designsRandomised controlled clinical trials (RCTs) onlyNot specified
TimingFollow-up period of up to 3 years postoperativelyNot specified

Search date: 2008-08. Databases: The Cochrane Oral Health Group's Trials Register; The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); MEDLINE (OVID); EMBASE (OVID); ClinicalTrials.gov; Current Controlled Trials (controlled-trials.com)

Questions and results

Current version only

Bioresorbable plates or screws (or both) vs Titanium plates or screws (used as lag screws) or both

Population: Participants over 18 years of age with fractures of the facial skeleton including the mandible, maxilla, zygoma (malar); studies on fractures of the mandibular condyle excluded
CD007158.PUB2 (current) · 11 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Degree of function postoperatively (mastication, swallowing, speech)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned primary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Direct costs (plates, supporting equipment, hospital bed days, retreatment)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned cost outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Analgesic medication used (type, dose, frequency)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned primary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Quality of life (validated questionnaire)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned secondary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Postoperative swelling assessment
0 to 48 hours after surgery
Planned secondary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Adverse effects (insufficient fixation; re-operation/revision; plate exposure; superficial or deep wound infection; sinus tract; wound dehiscence; giant cell/foreign body or inflammatory reaction; post-traumatic dystrophy)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned adverse-effects outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved…0 studiesNo studies
Patient satisfaction (questionnaire)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned secondary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Need for retreatment or replacement of fixation due to failure of the fixation
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned primary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Any chronic or lasting pain measured using any validated scale after 3 weeks
After 3 weeks
Planned primary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Status of occlusion (e.g. Angle's classification, ANB, Wits analysis)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned secondary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies
Healing and union of fracture (versus mal-union and non-union)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Planned primary outcome not assessed: none of the retrieved studies met the inclusion criteria, so no data were available for analysis. Verbatim (Effects of interventions): "Although 53 studies were retrieved in our…0 studiesNo studies

Bioresorbable plates or screws (or both) vs Titanium plates or screws (used as lag screws) or both

Population: Adults over 18 years of age with fractures of the facial skeleton including the mandible, maxilla, zygoma (malar); studies on fractures of the mandibular condyle excluded
CD007158 · 11 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Healing and union of fracture (versus mal-union and non-union)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned primary outcome: Healing and union of fracture (versus mal-union and non-union). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Adverse effects (insufficient fixation; re-operation/revision; plate exposure; superficial or deep wound infection; sinus tract; wound dehiscence; giant cell/foreign body or inflammatory reaction; post-traumatic dystrophy)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned adverse-effects outcome: Adverse effects (insufficient fixation; re-operation/revision; plate exposure; superficial or deep wound infection; sinus tract; wound dehiscence; giant cell/foreign body or…NRNo studies
Quality of life (validated questionnaire)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned secondary outcome: Quality of life (validated questionnaire). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Status of occlusion (e.g. Angle's classification, ANB, Wits analysis)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned secondary outcome: Status of occlusion (e.g. Angle's classification, ANB, Wits analysis). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Direct costs (plates, supporting equipment, hospital bed days, retreatment)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned cost outcome: Direct costs (plates, supporting equipment, hospital bed days, retreatment). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Analgesic medication used (type, dose, frequency)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned primary outcome: Analgesic medication used (type, dose, frequency). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Degree of function postoperatively (mastication, swallowing, speech)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned primary outcome: Degree of function postoperatively (mastication, swallowing, speech). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Patient satisfaction (questionnaire)
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned secondary outcome: Patient satisfaction (questionnaire). No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Need for retreatment or replacement of fixation due to failure of the fixation
Up to 3 years postoperatively
Protocol-planned primary outcome: Need for retreatment or replacement of fixation due to failure of the fixation. No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Any chronic or lasting pain measured using any validated scale after 3 weeks
After 3 weeks
Protocol-planned primary outcome: Any chronic or lasting pain measured using any validated scale after 3 weeks. No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies
Postoperative swelling assessment
0 to 48 hours after surgery
Protocol-planned secondary outcome: Postoperative swelling assessment. No eligible studies (protocol stage; no Results section).NRNo studies