Same question across reviews · CL0185
intervention :: Laser/photodynamic -> Adverse effects/fluorosis
ProposalThis cluster groups questions by review type, intervention category and outcome domain. It is a proposal pending human validation, so questions in it may differ in population, comparator or timing.
Reviews
10
Questions
15
current versions
GRADE rated
4
Review overlap (CCA)
NR
over all included studies of these reviews, not this question only
| Question | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Any adverse effect related to aPDT · Adults (> 18 years) with a clinical diagnosis of periodontitis, receiving active (non-surgical anti-infective) treatment Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane | Risk with control: 23 studies reported that no adverse effects of aPDT were observed. Number of participants (studies): 639 (24 studies). Certainty: Moderate. (24 studies reported adverse effects, with all studies… | 24 studies · 639 participants | Moderate |
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after submucosal instrumentation (SI) vs Submucosal instrumentation (SI) alone, or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Any adverse effect related to aPDT · Adults (> 18 years) with peri-implant mucositis, receiving active treatment Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane | Only one study reported evidence for adjunctive aPDT in people with peri-implant disease (Al Rifaiy 2022). Data were only available for two outcomes (PPD and BOP), both reported only at three months. No studies… | NR | No studies |
Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy (aPDT) applied after subgingival instrumentation (SI) vs Subgingival instrumentation (SI) alone (hand or power-driven, or both), or SI plus placebo/sham aPDT Any adverse effect related to aPDT · Adults (> 18 years) with recurrent periodontitis, receiving supportive (maintenance) periodontal care Adjunctive antimicrobial photodynamic therapy for treating periodontal and peri‐implant diseases (2024) · Cochrane | Risk with control: In 1 study, 1 participant had an abscess (not specified if this was related to aPDT). In 2 other studies, no adverse effects of aPDT were observed. Number of participants (studies): 134 (3 RCTs).… | 3 studies · 134 participants | Moderate |
Low level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Conventional orthodontic appliance treatment Harms and side effects arising during treatment · Adolescents and adults with malocclusion undergoing fixed orthodontic appliance treatment Non‐surgical adjunctive interventions for accelerating tooth movement in patients undergoing orthodontic… (2023) · Cochrane | SoF states harms/side effects Not reported; Ghaffer 2022 (the only LLLT study to assess harms) reported no serious harms other than gingivitis associated with plaque accumulation. | 1 study | Ungraded |
In-office laser therapy (all types combined) vs Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment Adverse events · Patients aged above 12 years with self-reported tooth hypersensitivity confirmed on clinical evaluation · Air blast stimuli studies (SoF 1) Laser therapy for dentinal hypersensitivity (2021) · Cochrane | No adverse event was noted in the experimental and control groups | 11 studies · 954 participants | Low |
In-office laser therapy (all types combined) vs Placebo (placebo laser or placebo agent) or no treatment Adverse events · Patients aged above 12 years with self-reported tooth hypersensitivity confirmed on clinical evaluation · Tactile stimuli studies (SoF 2) Laser therapy for dentinal hypersensitivity (2021) · Cochrane | No adverse event was noted in the experimental and control groups | 5 studies · 386 participants | Low |
Laser (low-level laser) at P6 point vs Control (sham/dummy laser) Adverse effects · People (older than four years) classified as having gagging that interfered with dental treatment; included trials… Management of gag reflex for patients undergoing dental treatment (2019) · Cochrane | Adverse effects: none of the trials reported adverse effects. | 0 studies | No studies |
Laser enamel preparation (with or without acid-etching) vs Acid-etching (phosphoric acid) Adverse events · Caries-free children to young adults with premolars/molars requiring pit-and-fissure sealants The clinical effects of laser preparation of tooth surfaces for fissure sealants placement: a systematic… (2019) | No adverse events (pulpal sensation, post-lasing thermal sensitivity, pulpitis, or other laser-induced pathology) were reported in any of the included studies. | 5 studies | Ungraded |
Photodynamic therapy plus mechanical debridement vs Mechanical debridement alone Adverse events · Adults treated for periodontitis and receiving supportive periodontal therapy (SPT) Supportive periodontal therapy (SPT) for maintaining the dentition in adults treated for periodontitis (2018) · Cochrane | Not measured | 0 studies | No studies |
Low‐level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Placebo (or no irradiation) Adverse effects of pain treatment · Adolescents and adults undergoing orthodontic treatment Non‐pharmacological interventions for alleviating pain during orthodontic treatment (2016) · Cochrane | Adverse effects: Not measured. | NR | No studies |
Electromagnetic radiation (low-level laser therapy) vs Placebo Adverse effects · People with primary burning mouth syndrome (BMS), that is, oral mucosal pain with no dental or medical cause for such… · short-term (up to 3 months) Interventions for treating burning mouth syndrome (2016) · Cochrane | SoF6: No included study reported the occurrence of adverse events. | 0 studies | No studies |
Low-level laser therapy (photon-plus GaAlAs diode laser; 70 mW output, continuous 820 nm) vs Placebo (sham) laser therapy Adverse events · Patients of any age in any setting requiring intervention for iatrogenic injury to the inferior alveolar or lingual… Interventions for iatrogenic inferior alveolar and lingual nerve injury (2014) · Cochrane | SoF row 'Adverse events': This outcome was not reported in the included studies. | 0 studies | No studies |
Er:YAG laser vs Air-abrasive device (Perio-Flow) Complications and side effects · People with at least one dental implant affected by peri-implantitis · 6 months Interventions for replacing missing teeth: treatment of peri‐implantitis (2012) · Cochrane | After 6 months there were no complications. | 1 study · 42 participants | Ungraded |
Er:YAG laser surface debridement before bone augmentation vs Plastic curettes plus saline solution before bone augmentation Complications and side effects · People with at least one dental implant affected by peri-implantitis · 6 months Interventions for replacing missing teeth: treatment of peri‐implantitis (2012) · Cochrane | All patients experienced flap exposure during healing, not associated with infective complications; one patient had a slight pigmentation of the peri-implant soft tissues. | 1 study · 30 participants | Ungraded |
Er:YAG laser debridement vs Manual debridement plus chlorhexidine irrigation/gel Complications and side effects · People with at least one dental implant affected by peri-implantitis · 6 months Interventions for replacing missing teeth: treatment of peri‐implantitis (2012) · Cochrane | Complications: risk ratio (totals not selected); one laser patient had a buccal keratinised mucosa perforation. | 1 study · 20 participants | Ungraded |