Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Oral frailty five-item checklist to predict adverse health outcomes in community-dwelling older adults: A Kashiwa cohort study.

Tanaka 2023 · Tanaka Tomoki, Hirano Hirohiko, Ikebe Kazunori, et al. · Geriatrics & gerontology international · 2023

Included by

Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
All-cause mortality
Non-robust (frail, prefrail or equivalent) on any frailty instrument vs Robust (no signs of frailty) · Follow-up 1 to 15 years
HR 1.83 [1.70, 1.97]56 studiesGRADE not reported
All-cause mortality
Non-robust (frail, prefrail or equivalent) on any frailty instrument vs Robust (no signs of frailty) · Follow-up 1 to 15 years
HR 1.11 [1.11, 1.29]NRGRADE not reported
All-cause mortality
Non-robust (frail, prefrail or equivalent) on any frailty instrument vs Robust (no signs of frailty) · Follow-up 1 to 15 years
HR 1.46 [1.27, 1.68]NRGRADE not reported
A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of the Global Prevalence of Dry Mouth in Older Adults.
Non-Cochrane · prevalence · 2026 · cited as Tanaka 2023 · Table 2; Fig. 2-4; reference list
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Xerostomia (self-reported dry mouth)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable (prevalence)
Prevalence (%) 20 [18, 22]32 studiesGRADE not reported
Xerostomia (self-reported dry mouth)
Not applicable (prevalence review); xerostomia · Prevalence at time of survey
Prevalence, percent (random effects, Freeman-Tukey double arcsine, DerSimonian-Laird) 21 [19, 23]34 studies · 1640079 participantsGRADE not reported
Xerostomia (self-reported dry mouth)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable (prevalence)
Prevalence (%) 21 [19, 23]33 studiesGRADE not reported
Xerostomia (self-reported dry mouth)
Not applicable (prevalence review); xerostomia · Prevalence at time of survey
Prediction interval 11% to 34%34 studies · 1640079 participantsGRADE not reported
Xerostomia (self-reported dry mouth)
Not applicable (prevalence) vs Not applicable (prevalence)
Prevalence (%) 20 [19, 22]33 studiesGRADE not reported

2 including reviews in total.