Primary study · included by 3 reviews
Arthrocentesis, Injectable Platelet-Rich Plasma and Combination of Both Protocols of Temporomandibular Joint Disorders Management: A Single-Blinded Randomized Clinical Trial.
Abbadi 2022 · Abbadi Wael, Kara Beit Zafin, Al-Khanati Nuraldeen M · Cureus · 2022
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08] | 9 studies · 272 participants | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD 0.07 [-1.38, 1.52] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.70 [-1.21, -0.19] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.43 [-0.88, 0.03] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD 0.22 [-1.21, 1.65] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.02 [-1.48, 1.44] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | SMD -0.44 [-0.66, -0.21] | 9 studies · 272 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.44 [-0.80, -0.08] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | MD -0.32 [-1.95, 1.32] | 7 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.53 [-0.92, -0.15] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.84, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.67 [-2.86, 1.51] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.28 [-0.50, -0.06] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.32 [-1.95, 1.32] | 7 studies · 221 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.48 [-0.90, -0.06] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08] | 7 studies · 201 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.03] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08] | 9 studies · 272 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.53 [-1.05, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08] | 7 studies · 201 participants | Low |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.55 [-0.88, -0.22] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.31 [-0.67, 0.06] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.81, -0.11] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -1.57 [-4.99, 1.86] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.80 [-3.21, 1.61] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.69 [-2.93, 1.55] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.79, -0.05] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | MD -0.57 [-1.97, 0.83] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.01] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | MD -0.14 [-1.14, 0.86] | 7 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.88, -0.04] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.41 [-0.67, -0.14] | 7 studies · 201 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.47 [-0.89, -0.05] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.37 [-0.89, 0.15] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.83, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity (VAS) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -1.609 [-5.033, 1.816] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO) TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | SMD -0.67 [-1.14, -0.20] | 14 studies · 549 participants | Low |
Pain intensity (VAS) TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | MD -0.25 [-1.09, 0.59] | 26 studies · 947 participants | Very low |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -0.067 [-0.156, 0.021] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity (VAS) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -0.028 [-0.125, 0.069] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -0.681 [-3.831, 2.470] | NR | GRADE not reported |
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
3 including reviews in total.