Primary study · included by 2 reviews
Association of Periodontitis with Oral Cancer: A Case-Control Study.
Shin 2019 · Shin Y J, Choung H W, Lee J H, et al. · Journal of dental research · 2019
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Risk, incidence or mortality of oral and/or oropharyngeal cancer Clinically defined periodontitis (exposure) vs No periodontitis or periodontally healthy | Pooled risk estimates ranged approximately from RR about 1.9 to 2.6 after sequential exclusion of each study, remaining above unity | 5 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk, incidence or mortality of oral and/or oropharyngeal cancer Clinically defined periodontitis (exposure) vs No periodontitis or periodontally healthy | HR 2.14 [1.53, 2.98] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 2.66 [1.63, 4.33] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.17 [1.75, 5.73] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.86 [2.20, 6.79] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.76 [1.83, 7.71] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.17 [1.94, 5.21] | 5 studies | Low |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 2.83 [1.80, 4.43] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.18 [1.50, 6.72] | 5 studies | GRADE not reported |
Risk of oral squamous cell carcinoma Periodontal disease (clinical or radiographic criteria) vs No periodontal disease or periodontal health | OR 3.18 [1.94, 5.20] | 5 studies | GRADE not reported |
2 including reviews in total.