Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM41659194

Evidence synthesis of postoperative pain with bioceramic vs. epoxy resin sealers: umbrella review of randomized trials within existing systematic reviews.

Dahikar Mrunali, Mandwe Ashish, Banga Kulvinder Singh, et al. · Frontiers in dental medicine · 2025 · PubMed · doi:10.3389/fdmed.2025.1749298

Findings

Population Adults undergoing primary single-visit non-surgical root canal treatment

10 findings

Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 6 h
6 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.12 [-0.38, 0.14]
Low
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 24 h
24 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.15 [-0.29, -0.01]
Moderate
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 48 h
48 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.29 [-0.42, -0.16]
Moderate
4 studies
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 72 h or 7 days
72 h or 7 days · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.03 [-0.16, 0.10]
Moderate
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 48 h
48 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.29 [-0.51, -0.08]
Moderate
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Postoperative pain intensity at 24 h
24 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
SMD -0.15 [-0.28, -0.03]
Moderate
5 studies
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Analgesic consumption
24 h · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
RR 0.91 [0.78, 1.06]
Low
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Analgesic use and flare-up incidence (combined)
Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
Unresolved: the two extractors disagree on this row.
RR 0.92 [0.76, 1.12]
Low
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Flare-up incidence
Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
RR 0.97 [0.74, 1.26]
Low
Studies not reported
Bioceramic (calcium silicate-based) root canal sealerEpoxy resin-based root canal sealer (e.g., AH Plus)Analgesic use and flare-up incidence (combined)
all reported time points (Figure 6) · Clinical (dental practice or hospital)
RR 0.93 [0.82, 1.04]
Low
6 studies

Included primary studies 10

Open in Studies
StudyYearAlso included byOutcomes it informs hereTrial data
Graunaite 2018
Effect of Resin-based and Bioceramic Root Canal Sealers on Postoperative Pain: A Split-mouth Randomized Controlled Trial.
PMID:29571915
20181 other reviewPostoperative pain intensity at 24 h; Analgesic use and flare-up incidence (combined)not extracted yet
Ates 2019
matched by author and year (probable)
NRthis review onlyPostoperative pain intensity at 24 h; Postoperative pain intensity at 48 h; Analgesic use and flare-up incidence (combined)not extracted yet
Eren 2022
Do resin-based root canal sealers cause more postoperative pain than other sealers? A systematic review of clinical studies and…
PMID:35380208
2022this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Fonseca 2019
Assessment of Extrusion and Postoperative Pain of a Bioceramic and Resin-Based Root Canal Sealer.
PMID:31794999
2019this review onlyPostoperative pain intensity at 24 h; Postoperative pain intensity at 48 h; Analgesic use and flare-up incidence (combined)not extracted yet
Jamali 2021
Evaluation of the Effect of the Intensity and Occurrence of Postoperative Pain of Resin-Based and Bioceramic Root Canal Sealers: A…
DOI:10.1590/pboci.2021.082
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Mekhdieva 2021
Postoperative Pain following Root Canal Filling with Bioceramic vs. Traditional Filling Techniques: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis…
PMID:34640531
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Monteiro 2023
Effect of endodontic sealer on postoperative pain: a network meta-analysis.
PMID:36875812
2023this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Sowmya 2021
Postoperative Pain Associated With Resin And Bioceramic Based Sealers: A Systematic Review
DOI:10.19070/2377-8075-21000739
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Sponchiado Junior 2021
Calcium Silicate-Based Sealers Do Not Reduce the Risk and Intensity of Postoperative Pain after Root Canal Treatment when Compared with…
PMID:33759149
2021this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Supare 2024
Effect of bioceramic-based and resin-based sealers on postoperative discomfort following root canal therapy: a systematic review and…
PMID:39494306
2024this review onlynot statednot extracted yet

Overlap with other reviews

Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationPatients undergoing primary, single-visit non-surgical root canal treatment of permanent teeth (adults per eligibility text; irrespective of age, sex or pulp status per Table 1)Adults undergoing non-surgical root canal treatment (7 reviews; 63 unique RCTs)
InterventionRoot canal obturation with bioceramic (hydraulic calcium silicate-based) sealersBioceramic sealers (EndoSequence BC, iRoot SP, Endoseal MTA, TotalFill)
ComparisonEpoxy resin-based sealers (e.g., AH Plus)Resin-based sealers (primarily AH Plus)
OutcomesPostoperative pain intensity at 24 h and 48 h (primary); pain beyond 48 h, analgesic consumption, flare-up incidence (secondary)Pain intensity 24 h (5 RCTs) and 48 h (4 RCTs); pain at 6 h and 72 h or 7 days; analgesic use; flare-up
Study designsSystematic reviews and meta-analyses of RCTs, quasi-RCTs or controlled clinical trials7 systematic reviews (5 with meta-analysis, 1 narrative only)
Timing24 h, 48 h, beyond 48 h6 h, 24 h, 48 h, 72 h or 7 days