Cochrane · systematic review · CD005951
Haemostatic therapies for stroke due to acute, spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
Eilertsen, H, Menon, CS, Law, ZK, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2023 · Cochrane Library
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
28
current version
GRADE rated
19
No studies
9
Included studies
NR
No studies 9 · 32.1%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 5 · 17.9%Low 2 · 7.1%Moderate 5 · 17.9%High 7 · 25%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Current version onlySummary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII compared to placebo/open control for adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4–6) Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | RR 0.88 [0.74, 1.05] | 7 studies · 1454 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency |
Intracerebral haemorrhage expansion by 24 hours Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | RR 0.81 [0.56, 1.16] | 4 studies · 220 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
All serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | RR 0.81 [0.3, 2.22] | 2 studies · 87 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Death from any cause Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | RR 0.78 [0.56, 1.08] | 8 studies · 1544 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mood ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Cognitive function ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Recombinant activated factor VII vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) compared to placebo/open control for adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4–6) Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | RR 1 [0.93, 1.07] | 5 studies · 2683 participants | High |
Intracerebral haemorrhage expansion by 24 hours Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | RR 0.86 [0.76, 0.96] | 8 studies · 2866 participants | High |
All serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | RR 1.02 [0.75, 1.39] | 4 studies · 2599 participants | High |
Death from any cause Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | RR 1.02 [0.89, 1.18] | 8 studies · 2866 participants | High |
Quality of life (EuroQoL health utility score) Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 2349 participants | High |
Mood Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 2349 participants | High |
Cognitive function Summary of findings table ‐ Antifibrinolytic drug(s) vs placebo/open control | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 2325 participants | High |
Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion compared to open control for adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with antiplatelet drug use
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with antiplatelet drug use
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4–6) Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | RR 1.29 [1.04, 1.61] | 1 study · 190 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Intracerebral haemorrhage expansion by 24 hours Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | RR 1.32 [0.91, 1.92] | 1 study · 153 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
All serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | RR 1.46 [0.98, 2.16] | 1 study · 190 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Death from any cause Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | RR 1.42 [0.88, 2.28] | 1 study · 190 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mood ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Cognitive function ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Platelet transfusion vs open control | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates compared to fresh frozen plasma for adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with anticoagulant drug use
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with anticoagulant drug use
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4–6) Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | RR 1.21 [0.76, 1.9] | 1 study · 37 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Intracerebral haemorrhage expansion by 24 hours Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | RR 0.54 [0.23, 1.22] | 1 study · 36 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
All serious adverse events Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | RR 0.27 [0.02, 3.74] | 1 study · 5 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Death from any cause Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | RR 0.49 [0.16, 1.56] | 2 studies · 42 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Quality of life ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mood ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Cognitive function ‐ not reported Summary of findings table ‐ Prothrombin complex concentrates vs fresh frozen plasma | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Blood clotting factors versus placebo or open control
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4 to 6) at day 90 Blood clotting factors vs placebo or open control | RR 0.87 [0.7, 1.07] | 6 studies · 1390 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Antifibrinolytic drugs versus placebo
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4 to 6) at day 90 Antifibrinolytic drugs vs placebo | RR 1.25 [0.57, 2.75] | 1 study · 24 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Platelet transfusion versus open control
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with antiplatelet drug use
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4 to 6) at day 90 Platelet transfusion vs open control | RR 1.29 [1.04, 1.61] | 1 study · 190 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |
Blood clotting factors versus fresh frozen plasma
Population: adults with acute spontaneous intracerebral haemorrhage associated with anticoagulant drug use
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Death or dependence (mRS 4 to 6) at day 90 Blood clotting factors vs fresh frozen plasma | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
CI: confidence interval Blood clotting factors vs fresh frozen plasma | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |