Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush: Gingivitis
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes | SMD 0.10 [-0.14, 0.34] | 3 studies · 272 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes | SMD -0.32 [-0.81, 0.17] | 9 studies · 795 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded | SMD 0.12 [-0.14, 0.39] | 2 studies · 220 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded | SMD -0.44 [-0.91, 0.02] | 8 studies · 627 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded | SMD -0.44 [-0.91, 0.02] | 8 studies · 627 participants | GRADE not reported |
Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action vs Manual toothbrush Gingivitis score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months) Powered toothbrush, side-to-side action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported. Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded | SMD 0.12 [-0.14, 0.39] | 2 studies · 220 participants | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health 2014 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2014-01-23 | list not extracted yet | Not assessed |
Studies behind the findings
None of these reviews ties its included studies to this outcome in the data here. Cochrane reviews and reviews with headline outcomes only do not list their studies yet.
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.