Question · asked by 1 review

Hope-based intervention vs Pain education: Patient‐reported pain intensity or pain relief (VAS, NRS or categorical scale)

Population
People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer
Intervention
Hope-based intervention
Comparison
Pain education
Outcome
Patient‐reported pain intensity or pain relief (VAS, NRS or categorical scale)

Hope-based intervention showed no clear difference in pain intensity compared with pain education; GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Current versions only
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Hope-based intervention vs Pain education
Pain intensity · People aged 12 years and over with painful TMD lasting 3 months or longer · Treatment completion
Hope-based intervention showed no clear difference in pain intensity compared with pain education; GRADE not reported.
Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs) (2022) · Cochrane All outcomes
MD 0.10 [-13.52, 13.72]1 study · 29 participantsGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Psychological therapies for temporomandibular disorders (TMDs)
2022 · Cochrane All outcomes
2021-10Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.