Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only): Overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no radiotherapy)
- Population
- People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer
- Intervention
- Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy
- Comparison
- Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only)
- Outcome
- Overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no radiotherapy)
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in overall survival, adjuvant chemotherapy vs observation alone… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy… (moderate certainty).
What each review found
Current versions only| Finding | Effect | Studies | GRADE certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only) Overall survival, adjuvant chemotherapy vs observation alone following surgery · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in overall survival, adjuvant chemotherapy vs observation alone… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy… (moderate certainty). Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2021) · Cochrane All outcomes | HR 0.95 [0.73, 1.22] | 5 studies · 353 participants | Moderate |
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only) Overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no radiotherapy) · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported. Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2011) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD006386.PUB3, superseded | HR 0.84 [0.50, 1.39] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only) Overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no radiotherapy) · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in overall survival, post-surgery chemotherapy vs surgery alone (no… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported. Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2010) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD006386.PUB2, superseded | HR 0.84 [0.50, 1.39] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.
The reviews
| Review | Searched up to | Included studies | AMSTAR 2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy 2021 · Cochrane All outcomes | 2021-09 | Not listed | Not assessed |
How reviews are matched to this question
Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.