Question · asked by 1 review

Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only): Disease-free survival

Population
People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer
Intervention
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy
Comparison
Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only)
Outcome
Disease-free survival

Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy led to lower disease-free survival, adjuvant concurrent chemoradiation vs… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Current versions only
No studies found 0 · 0%GRADE not reported 3 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only)
Disease-free survival, adjuvant concurrent chemoradiation vs adjuvant radiotherapy (pooled) · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy led to lower disease-free survival, adjuvant concurrent chemoradiation vs… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported.
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2021) · Cochrane All outcomes
HR 0.84 [0.72, 0.97]4 studiesGRADE not reported
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only)
Disease-free survival, surgery +/- RT + adjuvant chemotherapy vs surgery +/- RT alone (pooled) · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in disease-free survival, surgery +/- RT + adjuvant chemotherapy vs… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported.
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2011) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD006386.PUB3, superseded
HR 0.89 [0.78, 1.01]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy vs Surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy only)
Disease-free survival, surgery +/- RT + adjuvant chemotherapy vs surgery +/- RT alone (pooled) · People receiving curative-intent treatment for oral cavity and oropharyngeal (squamous cell) cancer
Surgery +/- radiotherapy + (adjuvant) chemotherapy showed no clear difference in disease-free survival, surgery +/- RT + adjuvant chemotherapy vs… compared with surgery +/- radiotherapy alone (observation or adjuvant radiotherapy…; GRADE not reported.
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy (2010) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD006386.PUB2, superseded
HR 0.87 [0.73, 1.04]3 studiesGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Interventions for the treatment of oral cavity and oropharyngeal cancer: chemotherapy
2021 · Cochrane All outcomes
2021-09Not listedNot assessed
How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.