Question · asked by 1 review

Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush: Gingivitis

Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action led to lower gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.

What each review found

Current versions only
FindingEffectStudiesGRADE certainty
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush
Gingivitis score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months)
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes
Unknown/other action vs manual, gingivitis at >3 months: 1 trial; totals not selected.1 studyGRADE not reported
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush
Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months)
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2014) · Cochrane All outcomes
Unknown/other action vs manual, gingivitis at 1 to 3 months: 3 trials; totals not selected (data presented in forest plots but not pooled).3 studiesGRADE not reported
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush
Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months)
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action led to lower gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded
SMD -0.38 [-0.59, -0.17]3 studies · 360 participantsGRADE not reported
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush
Gingivitis score (>3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Long term (>3 months)
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (>3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2005) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281.PUB2, superseded
SMD -0.16 [-0.34, 0.02]1 study · 510 participantsGRADE not reported
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action vs Manual toothbrush
Gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) · Individuals of any age with no reported disability that might affect toothbrushing (including people wearing… · Short term (1 to 3 months)
Powered toothbrush, unknown/other action showed no clear difference in gingivitis score (1 to 3 months) compared with manual toothbrush; GRADE not reported.
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health (2003) · Cochrane All outcomesearlier version CD002281, superseded
SMD -0.32 [-0.69, 0.05]2 studies · 295 participantsGRADE not reported

Findings are shown side by side, never pooled across reviews.

The reviews

ReviewSearched up toIncluded studiesAMSTAR 2
Powered versus manual toothbrushing for oral health
2014 · Cochrane All outcomes
2014-01-23list not extracted yetNot assessed

Studies behind the findings

None of these reviews ties its included studies to this outcome in the data here. Cochrane reviews and reviews with headline outcomes only do not list their studies yet.

How reviews are matched to this question

Reviews word the same question differently. Four decision models (TypeSafe's Jev, Liquid AI's d1-ultra, SubQ Snap and Baseten's Elephant) judged each wording of the population, intervention, comparator and outcome against the others; two wordings count as the same when at least three of them agree and none clearly disagrees, and findings count as this question only when all four elements match. Timing, setting and subgroup never split a question: they are shown on each finding.