Primary study · included by 3 reviews
Treatment of temporomandibular joint disc displacement using arthrocentesis combined with injectable platelet rich fibrin versus arthrocentesis alone.
Ghoneim 2021 · Ghoneim Nahed Ibrahim, Mansour Noha Ahmed, Elmaghraby Sarah Ahmed, et al. · Journal of dental sciences · 2022
Included by
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity (VAS) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -1.609 [-5.033, 1.816] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Right lateral movement TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | MD -1.54 [-3.64, 0.55] | 3 studies · 96 participants | GRADE not reported |
Maximum incisal opening (MIO) TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | SMD -2.93 [-4.54, -1.32] | 11 studies · 325 participants | Very low |
Overall mandibular movement TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | MD -0.40 [-0.93, 0.14] | 22 studies · 796 participants | Very low |
Maximum incisal opening (MIO) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -1.640 [-24.881, 21.602] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity (VAS) TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | MD -0.25 [-1.09, 0.59] | 26 studies · 947 participants | Very low |
Left lateral movement TMJ arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other therapeutic modalities (conservative therapy, intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, alternative arthrocentesis protocols) · Follow-up from 1 month to 5 years across trials (mean 53 weeks) | MD -0.42 [-3.10, 2.26] | 3 studies · 96 participants | GRADE not reported |
Maximum incisal opening (MIO) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) 0.302 [-0.231, 0.836] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity (VAS) Temporomandibular joint arthrocentesis, alone or with adjunctive intra-articular agents vs Other treatments: conservative therapy (splints, physiotherapy, drugs), intra-articular injections, arthroscopy, or alternative arthrocentesis protocols | Meta-regression coefficient (beta) -0.028 [-0.125, 0.069] | NR | GRADE not reported |
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
3 including reviews in total.