Primary study · included by 3 reviews

Platelet-rich fibrin to preserve alveolar bone sockets following tooth extraction: A randomized controlled trial.

et al. (2019) · Areewong Kanokporn, Chantaramungkorn Montri, Khongkhunthian Pathawee · Clinical implant dentistry and related research · 2019

Included by

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

The efficacy of platelet-rich fibrin in alveolar ridge preservation: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Areewong 2019 · Figures 3, 5, 7; reference 27
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry)
PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 months
MD 22.11 [-10.27, 54.49]2 studies · 74 participantsGRADE not reported
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry)
PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 2 to 4 months (pooled over time points)
MD 15.92 [1.87, 29.97]7 studies · 237 participantsLow
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry)
PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 3 months
MD 11.36 [4.70, 18.02]3 studies · 83 participantsGRADE not reported
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry)
PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot) · 4 months
MD 16.97 [4.14, 29.81]2 studies · 80 participantsGRADE not reported
Percentage of new bone formation (BV/TV, histomorphometry)
PRF alone placed in the extraction socket (any preparation protocol) vs Spontaneous healing (blood clot)
MD 17.07 [1.96, 32.19]6 studies · 217 participantsGRADE not reported
Use of cells and/or biologics combined with scaffolds in alveolar bone augmentation for implant site development.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as et al. (2019) · Results, included references 17

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

3 including reviews in total.