Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Evaluation of piezocision and laser-assisted flapless corticotomy in the acceleration of canine retraction: a randomized controlled trial.

Alfawal 2018 · Alfawal Alaa M H, Hajeer Mohammad Y, Ajaj Mowaffak A, et al. · Head & face medicine · 2018

Included by

Effect of Flapless Laser Corticotomy on Maxillary Canine Retraction: a Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2025 · cited as Alfawal 2018 · Table 2; Table 3; Results; Figures 3-8
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Canine retraction distance (mm)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 2 months
MD 0.44 [0.09, 0.79]3 studies · 43 participantsGRADE not reported
Canine retraction distance (mm)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 1 month
MD 0.83 [0.30, 1.35]4 studies · 55 participantsGRADE not reported
Canine retraction distance (mm)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 4 months
MD -0.04 [-0.13, 0.05]2 studies · 29 participantsGRADE not reported
Canine rotation (degrees)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 1 month
MD 1.20 [-1.03, 3.42]3 studies · 43 participantsGRADE not reported
Canine retraction distance (mm)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 3 months
MD 0.03 [-0.18, 0.24]3 studies · 43 participantsGRADE not reported
Molar anchorage loss (mm)
Flapless laser corticotomy (Er:YAG or Er,Cr:YSGG laser) vs Conventional orthodontic canine retraction without corticotomy (split-mouth control side) · 1 month
MD -0.10 [-0.19, -0.01]3 studies · 43 participantsGRADE not reported

The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.

2 including reviews in total.