Primary study · included by 1 review
Effects of High-Dose Capsaicin on TMD Subjects: A Randomized Clinical Study.
Campbell 2017 · Campbell B K, Fillingim R B, Lee S, et al. · JDR clinical and translational research · 2017
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical or systemic) vs Vehicle (placebo) or lower-dose capsaicin · End of treatment (final assessment) | MD -1.10 [-2.79, 0.58] | 4 studies · 131 participants | Very low |
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · End of treatment (final assessment) | MD -1.87 [-3.94, 0.19] | 3 studies · 93 participants | GRADE not reported |
Baseline orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10; group comparability check) Capsaicin (topical or systemic) vs Vehicle (placebo) or lower-dose capsaicin · Baseline (before treatment) | MD 0.48 [-0.59, 1.54] | 4 studies · 131 participants | GRADE not reported |
Baseline orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10; group comparability check) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · Baseline (before treatment) | MD 0.03 [-1.08, 1.14] | 3 studies · 93 participants | GRADE not reported |
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · 30 days | MD -2.39 [-5.79, 1.01] | 2 studies · 78 participants | GRADE not reported |
Also linked to PM42653103-P1-O4, which does not match a current question in this review.
1 including review in total.