Primary study · included by 1 review
Systemic capsaicin for burning mouth syndrome: short-term results of a pilot study.
Petruzzi 2004 · Petruzzi Massimo, Lauritano Dorina, De Benedittis Michele, et al. · Journal of oral pathology & medicine : official publication of the International Association of Oral Pathologists and the American Academy of Oral Pathology · 2004
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical or systemic) vs Vehicle (placebo) or lower-dose capsaicin · End of treatment (final assessment) | MD -1.10 [-2.79, 0.58] | 4 studies · 131 participants | Very low |
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · End of treatment (final assessment) | MD -1.87 [-3.94, 0.19] | 3 studies · 93 participants | GRADE not reported |
Baseline orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10; group comparability check) Capsaicin (topical or systemic) vs Vehicle (placebo) or lower-dose capsaicin · Baseline (before treatment) | MD 0.48 [-0.59, 1.54] | 4 studies · 131 participants | GRADE not reported |
Treatment-related adverse events Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · Follow-up 7 days to 30 days | OR 19.84 [4.32, 91.21] | 3 studies · 94 participants | Moderate |
Baseline orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10; group comparability check) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · Baseline (before treatment) | MD 0.03 [-1.08, 1.14] | 3 studies · 93 participants | GRADE not reported |
Orofacial pain intensity (VAS 0 to 10) Capsaicin (topical 0.025% cream, topical 8%, or systemic 0.25%) vs Vehicle (placebo) · 30 days | MD -2.39 [-5.79, 1.01] | 2 studies · 78 participants | GRADE not reported |
Also linked to PM42653103-P1-O4, which does not match a current question in this review.
1 including review in total.