Primary study · included by 1 review

Response to Treatment with Melatonin and Clonazepam versus Placebo in Patients with Burning Mouth Syndrome

Castillo-Felipe 2022 · Castillo-Felipe Candela, Tvarijonaviciute Asta, López-Arjona Marina, et al. · Journal of Clinical Medicine · 2022

Included by

Advanced, pharmacological and complementary interventions for chronic or recurrent orofacial pain conditions: a systematic evidence map with selective meta-analyses.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Castillo-Felipe 2022 · Reference list (ref 175); Supplementary Table 4
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.29 [-1.31, 0.73]3 studies · 144 participantsVery low
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents and supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-7.46, 6.66]2 studies · 126 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.60 [-1.71, 0.52]NRGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents and supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.50 [-0.90, -0.11]2 studies · 126 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-7.46, 6.66]2 studies · 126 participantsVery low
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents and supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.26 [-0.63, 0.11]3 studies · 144 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.60 [-1.71, 0.52]2 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents and supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.29 [-1.31, 0.73]3 studies · 144 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks)
SMD -0.38 [-2.22, 1.46]2 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Pharmacological agents or supplements vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks)
SMD 0.29 [-2.43, 3.01]2 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.