Primary study · included by 1 review

Effect of Nd‐ <scp>YAG</scp> Laser Versus Epidermal Growth Factor Injection on Salivary Pain Mediators in Myogenic Temporomandibular Disorders (A Randomized Clinical Trial)

Qataya 2025 · Qataya Passant Osama, Zaki Azza Mohamed, Amin Fatma, et al. · Journal of Oral Pathology &amp; Medicine · 2025

Included by

Advanced, pharmacological and complementary interventions for chronic or recurrent orofacial pain conditions: a systematic evidence map with selective meta-analyses.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2026 · cited as Qataya 2025 · Reference list (ref 137); Supplementary Table 4
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Pain intensity
Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks)
SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08]9 studies · 272 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.70 [-1.21, -0.19]NRGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.43 [-0.88, 0.03]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks)
SMD -0.44 [-0.66, -0.21]9 studies · 272 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.44 [-0.80, -0.08]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.53 [-0.92, -0.15]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.42 [-0.84, -0.01]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.28 [-0.50, -0.06]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.48 [-0.90, -0.06]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08]7 studies · 201 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.03]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08]9 studies · 272 participantsVery low
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.53 [-1.05, -0.01]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08]7 studies · 201 participantsLow
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.55 [-0.88, -0.22]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.31 [-0.67, 0.06]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.46 [-0.81, -0.11]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.42 [-0.79, -0.05]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.01]6 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.46 [-0.88, -0.04]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.41 [-0.67, -0.14]7 studies · 201 participantsGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.47 [-0.89, -0.05]8 studiesGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks)
SMD -0.37 [-0.89, 0.15]NRGRADE not reported
Pain intensity
Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks)
SMD -0.42 [-0.83, -0.01]8 studiesGRADE not reported

1 including review in total.