Primary study · included by 1 review
Dry needling and upper cervical spinal manipulation in patients with temporomandibular disorder: A multi-center randomized clinical trial
Dunning 2024 · Dunning James, Butts Raymond, Bliton Paul, et al. · CRANIO® · 2022
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.89 [-2.67, 0.89] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | MD -4.13 [-10.82, 2.57] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.55 [-1.65, 0.55] | 5 studies · 336 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.31 [-1.17, 0.55] | 3 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.66 [-1.92, 0.59] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | MD -1.94 [-5.97, 2.08] | 3 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | MD -0.74 [-4.21, 2.73] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | MD 2.11 [-1.40, 5.62] | 5 studies · 336 participants | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | MD 0.51 [0.31, 0.72] | 5 studies · 336 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.31 [-1.17, 0.55] | 3 studies · 221 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.72 [-2.33, 0.89] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 2.98 [-2.40, 8.36] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.17 [-1.59, 1.25] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 2.11 [-1.40, 5.62] | 5 studies · 336 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.72 [-2.57, 1.12] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.55 [-1.65, 0.55] | 5 studies · 336 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.14 [-0.58, 0.30] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.57 [-0.82, -0.32] | 3 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.51 [-0.72, -0.29] | 5 studies · 336 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.51 [-1.79, 0.78] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.12 [-1.05, 0.82] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 0.49 [-3.80, 4.79] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | MD -1.94 [-5.97, 2.08] | 3 studies · 221 participants | Very low |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.50 [-2.35, 5.35] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | MD -1.45 [-10.09, 7.19] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 3.00 [-0.28, 6.29] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling / manual therapy vs Active comparator · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | MD -3.26 [-4.66, -1.85] | 3 studies · 221 participants | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Dry needling or manual therapy vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 2.42 [-1.63, 6.48] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
1 including review in total.