Primary study · included by 2 reviews
Effect of photobiomodulation on external root resorption during orthodontic tooth movement – a randomized controlled trial
Nayyer 2021 · Nayyer Nida, Tripathi Tulika, Rai Priyank, et al. · International Orthodontics · 2021
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3) Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days | MD -0.13 [-0.17, -0.09] | 4 studies · 82 participants | Low |
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3) Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days | MD -0.13 [-0.16, -0.09] | 4 studies · 82 participants | GRADE not reported |
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3) Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days | MD -0.13 [-0.17, -0.08] | 4 studies · 82 participants | GRADE not reported |
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR) Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study) | SMD -0.49 [-1.17, 0.18] | 4 studies · 144 participants | GRADE not reported |
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR) Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study) | SMD -0.31 [-0.77, 0.14] | 7 studies · 240 participants | Very low |
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR) Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study) | SMD -0.01 [-0.42, 0.41] | 3 studies · 96 participants | GRADE not reported |
2 including reviews in total.