Primary study · included by 3 reviews
Randomised controlled trial of arthrocentesis with or without PRF for internal derangement of the TMJ
Karadayi 2021 · Karadayi Ugur, Gursoytrak Burcu · Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery · 2021
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08] | 9 studies · 272 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.70 [-1.21, -0.19] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.43 [-0.88, 0.03] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (more than 12 weeks) | SMD -0.44 [-0.66, -0.21] | 9 studies · 272 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.44 [-0.80, -0.08] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.53 [-0.92, -0.15] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.84, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.28 [-0.50, -0.06] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.48 [-0.90, -0.06] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08] | 7 studies · 201 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.03] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.85, -0.08] | 9 studies · 272 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.53 [-1.05, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.73, -0.08] | 7 studies · 201 participants | Low |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.55 [-0.88, -0.22] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.31 [-0.67, 0.06] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.81, -0.11] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.79, -0.05] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-0.78, -0.01] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.46 [-0.88, -0.04] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables / intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.41 [-0.67, -0.14] | 7 studies · 201 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.47 [-0.89, -0.05] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.37 [-0.89, 0.15] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Injectables or intra-articular procedures vs Active comparator · Long-term (>12 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.83, -0.01] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.57 [-2.36, -0.78] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.68 [-2.46, -0.91] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.86 [-2.35, -1.37] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 5.39 [3.29, 7.5] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 5.03 [2.99, 7.07] | 7 studies · 270 participants | Moderate |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified | MD -1.61 [-2.26, -0.95] | 2 studies · 112 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 6 months | MD -1.83 [-2.43, -1.24] | 2 studies · 70 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | Meta-regression coefficient 0.0232 [-0.2078, 0.2542] | 8 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified | MD -1.59 [-1.88, -1.3] | 2 studies · 112 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.64 [-2.41, -0.86] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.62 [-2.28, -0.96] | 8 studies · 298 participants | Moderate |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.55 [-2.33, -0.77] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.73 [-2.41, -1.05] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 5.12 [2.87, 7.37] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 9-12 months | MD -1.13 [-2.13, -0.12] | 3 studies · 140 participants | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 3.94 [3.14, 4.73] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified | MD -1.66 [-2.18, -1.14] | 2 studies · 112 participants | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 4.85 [2.33, 7.38] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.5 [-2.18, -0.81] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · 3 months | MD -2.13 [-3.75, -0.51] | 3 studies · 88 participants | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 4.99 [2.5, 7.48] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 5.51 [3.06, 7.96] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Maximum mouth opening (MMO), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD 5.31 [2.66, 7.96] | 6 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Follow-up 3 to 12 months | MD -1.44 [-2.06, -0.81] | 7 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain (VAS), change from baseline Arthrocentesis plus injectable platelet-rich fibrin (i-PRF) vs Control interventions (mainly arthrocentesis alone) · Not specified | MD -1.49 [-1.99, -0.99] | 2 studies · 112 participants | GRADE not reported |
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
3 including reviews in total.