Primary study · included by 2 reviews

Physical properties of root cementum: Part 27. Effect of low-level laser therapy on the repair of orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption: A double-blind, split-mouth, randomized controlled clinical trial

Ang Khaw 2018 · Ang Khaw Chun M., Dalci Oyku, Foley Matthew, et al. · American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics · 2018

Included by

Effects of photobiomodulation therapy on orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Non-Cochrane · intervention · 2025 · cited as Ang Khaw 2018 · Table 1; reference list; Fig. 4
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3)
Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days
MD -0.13 [-0.17, -0.09]4 studies · 82 participantsLow
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3)
Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days
MD -0.13 [-0.16, -0.09]4 studies · 82 participantsGRADE not reported
Total root resorption crater volume (mm3)
Photobiomodulation (low-level laser or LED) vs No PBM or sham (control side) · 28 days
MD -0.13 [-0.17, -0.08]4 studies · 82 participantsGRADE not reported
Outcome this study informsPooled effectEvidenceCertainty
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR)
Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study)
SMD -0.49 [-1.17, 0.18]4 studies · 144 participantsGRADE not reported
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR)
Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study)
SMD -0.31 [-0.77, 0.14]7 studies · 240 participantsVery low
Orthodontically induced inflammatory root resorption (OIIRR)
Low-level laser therapy (LLLT) vs Control or placebo (conventional orthodontic treatment) · After orthodontic force application (time point varies by study)
SMD -0.01 [-0.42, 0.41]3 studies · 96 participantsGRADE not reported

2 including reviews in total.