Primary study · included by 2 reviews
Intraoral photobiomodulation diminishes pain and improves functioning in women with temporomandibular disorder: a randomized, sham-controlled, double-blind clinical trial
Herpich 2020 · Herpich Carolina Marciela, Leal-Junior Ernesto Cesar Pinto, Politti Fabiano, et al. · Lasers in Medical Science · 2019
Included by
| Outcome this study informs | Pooled effect | Evidence | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
Jaw function Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | MD 0.11 [-0.42, 0.64] | 5 studies · 391 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.62 [-1.14, -0.10] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.35 [-5.69, 4.99] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.23 [-2.01, 4.47] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -1.41 [-9.02, 6.20] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.91 [-3.47, 1.65] | 3 studies · 82 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.50 [-1.14, 0.14] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.16 [-0.68, 0.37] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.41 [-1.06, 0.24] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.91 [-3.47, 1.65] | 3 studies · 82 participants | Very low |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.90 [-2.70, 6.50] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD -1.03 [-2.51, 0.46] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.35 [-1.03, 0.34] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-1.26, 0.46] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.52 [-1.20, 0.16] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.91 [-3.47, 1.65] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (>4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.97 [-13.95, 12.00] | 2 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.45 [-1.06, 0.17] | 10 studies · 462 participants | Very low |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.01 [-1.85, 3.87] | 5 studies · 391 participants | Very low |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.45 [-1.06, 0.17] | 10 studies · 462 participants | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.59 [-1.41, 4.59] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.49 [-1.18, 0.20] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.49 [-1.14, 0.15] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.51 [-1.24, 0.22] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 2.46 [-5.98, 10.89] | NR | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | MD 1.01 [-1.85, 3.87] | 5 studies · 391 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Mid-term (more than 4 to 12 weeks) | SMD -0.71 [-1.09, -0.33] | 3 studies · 82 participants | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.40 [-1.14, 0.33] | 9 studies | GRADE not reported |
Jaw function Photobiomodulation or low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate post-intervention to 4 weeks) | MD 1.10 [-2.72, 4.93] | 4 studies | GRADE not reported |
Pain intensity Photobiomodulation / low-level laser therapy (PBM/LLLT) vs Inactive control (placebo, sham, usual care or no intervention) · Short-term (immediate to 4 weeks) | SMD -0.42 [-0.61, -0.23] | 10 studies · 462 participants | GRADE not reported |
The review does not say which of its outcomes this study informs.
2 including reviews in total.