Non-Cochrane · DTA · PM42573888
Circulating microRNAs: a new era in early detection of oral squamous cell carcinoma (OSCC) - a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Pathan Roshan Mustafa, Subramanian Umadevi, Singh Jugraj, et al. · Journal of the Egyptian National Cancer Institute · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1186/s43046-026-00393-4
Findings
45 findings
| Population | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | Specificity 0.88 [0.75, 0.95] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | NLR 0.13 [0.05, 0.27] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | DOR 59.69 [14.33, 209.95] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | AUC 0.90 GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | PLR 7.25 [3.42, 16.08] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients | Sensitivity 0.89 [0.77, 0.95] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | PLR 5.46 [2.25, 12.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | Sensitivity 0.89 [0.69, 0.97] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | AUC 0.90 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | NLR 0.13 [0.04, 0.39] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | Specificity 0.84 [0.63, 0.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Salivary circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Saliva | DOR 44.60 [7.44, 196.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | AUC 0.87 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | Sensitivity 0.79 [0.54, 0.91] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | PLR 5.44 [1.71, 21.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | DOR 21.87 [3.60, 142.08] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | Specificity 0.86 [0.58, 0.96] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Blood (serum or plasma) circulating miRNAs | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Blood | NLR 0.26 [0.11, 0.59] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | DOR 15.97 [3.81, 56.96] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | Specificity 0.81 [0.57, 0.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | NLR 0.26 [0.14, 0.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | AUC ~0.86-0.88 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | PLR 4.05 [1.79, 10.93] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Single-miRNA assays | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Single miRNA | Sensitivity 0.79 [0.63, 0.89] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | NLR 0.09 [0.03, 0.39] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | PLR 7.50 [2.48, 17.67] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | Sensitivity 0.92 [0.67, 0.98] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | AUC ~0.94-0.96 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | Specificity 0.88 [0.65, 0.95] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Multi-miRNA panels (2 to 8 miRNAs) | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel (2 to 8) | DOR 83.92 [10.54, 407.87] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | NLR 0.17 [0.05, 0.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | PLR 7.34 [2.17, 20.51] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | AUC 0.93 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | DOR 45.65 [5.56, 243.09] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | Sensitivity 0.86 [0.56, 0.95] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus healthy controls only | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs healthy controls only | Specificity 0.89 [0.65, 0.96] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled specificity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Specificity 0.79 [0.54, 0.91] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Negative likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | NLR 0.19 [0.07, 0.55] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Pooled sensitivity Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Sensitivity 0.85 [0.61, 0.94] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Area under the sROC curve Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | AUC 0.89 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Positive likelihood ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | PLR 4.07 [1.72, 9.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with OSCC versus OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | Circulating miRNAs (saliva, serum or plasma) measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Histopathologically confirmed OSCC status (reference standard) | Diagnostic odds ratio Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · OSCC vs OPMD or OLP (with or without healthy controls) | DOR 21.74 [3.81, 88.74] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Study-level covariates (biomarker format, panel size, biofluid) of circulating miRNA tests | Single-miRNA assays / saliva reference categories | Diagnostic odds ratio (log DOR) moderators Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Biofluid type (saliva, serum or plasma) | Q-test for moderators (QM) 1.254 GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Study-level covariates (biomarker format, panel size, biofluid) of circulating miRNA tests | Single-miRNA assays / saliva reference categories | Diagnostic odds ratio (log DOR) moderators Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Panel size (number of miRNAs per panel) | log(DOR) meta-regression coefficient 0.113 GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Patients with oral squamous cell carcinoma versus controls (healthy volunteers, OPMD or OLP) | Study-level covariates (biomarker format, panel size, biofluid) of circulating miRNA tests | Single-miRNA assays / saliva reference categories | Diagnostic odds ratio (log DOR) moderators Not applicable (cross-sectional accuracy) · Case-control and cross-sectional studies in OSCC patients · Multi-miRNA panel vs single miRNA assay (biomarker format) | log(DOR) meta-regression coefficient 1.694 [-0.133, 3.521] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
Included primary studies 24
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Balakittnen 2024 A novel saliva-based miRNA profile to diagnose and predict oral cancer DOI:10.1038/s41368-023-00273-w | 2024 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Balakittnen 2024 A novel saliva-based miRNA profile to diagnose and predict oral cancer. PMID:38368395 | 2024 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Garg 2023 Evaluation of Diagnostic Significance of Salivary miRNA-184 and miRNA-21 in Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma and Oral Potentially Malignant… PMID:38015343 | 2023 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Romani 2021 Genome-wide study of salivary miRNAs identifies miR-423-5p as promising diagnostic and prognostic biomarker in oral squamous cell carcinoma. PMID:33456584 | 2021 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tarrad 2023 "Salivary LINC00657 and miRNA-106a as diagnostic biomarkers for oral squamous cell carcinoma, an observational diagnostic study". PMID:38087258 | 2023 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chen 2018 Diagnostic and prognostic value of serum miR-99a expression in oral squamous cell carcinoma. PMID:30223386 | 2018 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Garg 2023 Evaluation of Diagnostic Significance of Salivary miRNA-184 and miRNA-21 in Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma and Oral Potentially Malignant… DOI:10.1007/s12105-023-01600-7 | 2023 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tarrad 2023 “Salivary LINC00657 and miRNA-106a as diagnostic biomarkers for oral squamous cell carcinoma, an observational diagnostic study” DOI:10.1186/s12903-023-03726-0 | 2023 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bagheri Shirvan 2024 Evaluation of Mir-1290 as a Possible Diagnostic Factor in the Serum of Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma Patients with Qualitative Real-Time… PMID:39118790 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Crimi 2020 Droplet Digital PCR Analysis of Liquid Biopsy Samples Unveils the Diagnostic Role of hsa-miR-133a-3p and hsa-miR-375-3p in Oral Cancer. PMID:33172167 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| El Hefny 2024 The oncogenic potential of salivary microRNA-93 and microRNA-412-3p in oral lichen planus: a case-control study DOI:10.1038/s41405-024-00278-5 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| El Hefny 2024 The oncogenic potential of salivary microRNA-93 and microRNA-412-3p in oral lichen planus: a case-control study. PMID:39715775 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Emami 2020 miR-155, miR-191, and miR-494 as diagnostic biomarkers for oral squamous cell carcinoma and the effects of Avastin on these biomarkers. PMID:33122459 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Garajei 2023 Evaluation of the Expression Levels of miR-21-5p and miR-429 Genes in Biopsy Samples from Patients with Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma. PMID:37046462 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Hofmann 2022 Comparison of plasma- and saliva-derived exosomal miRNA profiles reveals diagnostic potential in head and neck cancer. PMID:36072342 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Jia 2022 CircPUM1 Knockdown Confers Radiosensitivity in Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma by Regulating the miR-580/STAT3 Pathway. PMID:36092922 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nagdeve 2025 An electrochemical biosensor for the detection of microRNA-31 as a potential oral cancer biomarker DOI:10.1186/s13036-025-00492-1 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nagdeve 2025 An electrochemical biosensor for the detection of microRNA-31 as a potential oral cancer biomarker. PMID:40133958 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pastorino 2022 Plasma miR-151-3p as a Candidate Diagnostic Biomarker for Head and Neck Cancer: A Cross-sectional Study within the INHANCE Consortium DOI:10.1158/1055-9965.epi-22-0376 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pastorino 2022 Plasma miR-151-3p as a Candidate Diagnostic Biomarker for Head and Neck Cancer: A Cross-sectional Study within the INHANCE Consortium. PMID:36126276 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Priya 2021 Site specificity and expression profile of miR-21 in oral squamous cell carcinoma. PMID:34349427 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Seyedhoseini 2025 Mir-let-7a Differential Expression in Oral Squamous Cell Carcinoma and Oral Lichen Planus: Insights for Early Diagnostic Biomarker… PMID:40842903 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Zheng 2015 The miR-491-3p/mTORC2/FOXO1 regulatory loop modulates chemo-sensitivity in human tongue cancer DOI:10.18632/oncotarget.3165 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Zheng 2015 The miR-491-3p/mTORC2/FOXO1 regulatory loop modulates chemo-sensitivity in human tongue cancer. PMID:25749387 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients with histologically confirmed OSCC; controls were healthy volunteers, OPMD or oral lichen planus patients | OSCC patients and controls (n=17 studies, 7 pooled; sample sizes 16 to 396) |
| Intervention | Circulating miRNAs in saliva, serum, plasma or other body fluid measured by qRT-PCR or ddPCR | Circulating miRNA tests in saliva (6 studies), serum (5), plasma (3); 4 tissue studies not pooled |
| Comparison | Histopathology reference standard; healthy controls or non-malignant oral disease | Histopathology; healthy controls or OPMD/OLP |
| Outcomes | Sensitivity, specificity, PLR, NLR, DOR, AUC | Pooled sensitivity 0.89, specificity 0.88, PLR 7.25, NLR 0.13, DOR 59.69 (n=7) |
| Study designs | Diagnostic accuracy, case-control, cohort and cross-sectional studies | 7 diagnostic accuracy studies pooled, 10 observational studies narrative |
| Timing | Not specified | Not specified |