Non-Cochrane · methodological · PM42502222
A Practical Guide to Evidence Synthesis: Meta-Analysis, Network Meta-Analysis, Meta-Regressions and Beyond.
Tu Yu-Kang, Farina Roberto, Viola Alessandra, et al. · Journal of periodontal research · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1111/jre.70150
Findings
Population Patients with periodontal intrabony defects
83 findings
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Meta-regression on membrane type: intercept (non-resorbable membranes, reference group) | MD 1.06 GRADE not reported 5 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Meta-regression on membrane type: resorbable plus non-resorbable vs non-resorbable membranes (coefficient b2) | MD -0.96 [-2.51, 0.59] GRADE not reported 6 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.38 [0.02, 0.74] Low 8 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Overall; random-effects model; standardized mean difference | SMD 0.35 [-0.02, 0.71] GRADE not reported 10 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Subgroup: non-resorbable membranes only; random-effects model | MD 1.08 [0.28, 1.88] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 257 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Overall; common-effect model | MD 0.45 [0.20, 0.70] GRADE not reported 10 studies · 456 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Meta-regression on membrane type: resorbable vs non-resorbable membranes (coefficient b1) | MD -1.16 [-2.13, -0.20] GRADE not reported 9 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Subgroup: resorbable membranes only; common-effect model | MD -0.14 [-0.54, 0.26] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 159 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Subgroup: non-resorbable membranes only; common-effect model | MD 0.98 [0.62, 1.33] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 257 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.60 [0.07, 1.14] GRADE not reported 8 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.19 [-0.31, 0.68] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Overall; random-effects model (DerSimonian-Laird) | MD 0.51 [-0.03, 1.05] GRADE not reported 10 studies · 456 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) 12 months (per supplementary data) · Subgroup: resorbable membranes only; random-effects model | MD -0.14 [-0.54, 0.26] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 159 participants |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.02 [-0.81, 0.85] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.03 [-0.80, 0.87] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency 2 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.53 [-0.71, 1.76] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD -0.39 [-1.53, 0.75] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD -0.10 [-0.86, 0.66] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.25 [-0.28, 0.77] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency 4 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.55 [-0.17, 1.27] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.30 [-0.20, 0.79] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.40 [-1.40, 2.20] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 0.93 [0.40, 1.47] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 1.28 [0.97, 1.59] Low 18 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 1.27 [0.64, 1.90] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 1.28 [0.92, 1.64] GRADE not reported 18 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 1.44 [1.04, 1.84] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.01 [-1.13, 1.16] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.22 [-0.42, 0.87] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency 5 studies |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.22 [-0.42, 0.87] GRADE not reported 5 studies |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.28 [-0.61, 1.16] Very low Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.38 [-1.56, 2.32] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.36 [-0.48, 1.20] Very low Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 1.26 [0.44, 2.07] Low Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 0.94 [-0.06, 1.95] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 1.81 [0.34, 3.28] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | GTR with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.21 [-0.73, 1.16] Very low Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.27 [-0.62, 1.16] Very low Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.37 [-1.58, 2.31] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.30 [-0.60, 1.20] GRADE not reported 3 studies |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.56 [-1.31, 2.44] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.35 [-0.46, 1.16] Very low 3 studies |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 1.25 [0.42, 2.07] Low 1 study |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 1.48 [0.51, 2.44] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 1.32 [0.37, 2.28] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 1.33 [-0.33, 2.99] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.60 [-1.01, 2.21] GRADE not reported 1 study |
| GTR with bone grafts | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD -0.20 [-1.49, 1.09] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| GTR with bone grafts | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.05 [-0.55, 0.66] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency 2 studies |
| GTR with bone grafts | EMD with bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.13 [-0.56, 0.81] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.15 [-1.68, 1.99] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.13 [-0.41, 0.68] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 0.83 [0.28, 1.39] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 1.18 [0.34, 2.02] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 1.44 [0.37, 2.51] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 1.03 [0.54, 1.53] Low 6 studies |
| GTR with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.95 [0.34, 1.56] GRADE not reported 6 studies |
| EMD with bone grafts | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.10 [-1.63, 1.83] Very low Downgraded: imprecision 1 study |
| EMD with bone grafts | EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.10 [-1.63, 1.83] GRADE not reported 1 study |
| EMD with bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD -0.30 [-1.30, 0.69] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.15 [-0.27, 0.56] GRADE not reported 13 studies |
| EMD with bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.08 [-0.30, 0.46] Very low Downgraded: inconsistency 13 studies |
| EMD with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 0.80 [0.30, 1.30] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 0.57 [-0.21, 1.34] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| EMD with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 1.17 [0.64, 1.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.98 [0.54, 1.42] Low 4 studies |
| EMD with bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 1.54 [0.37, 2.71] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD -0.02 [-1.79, 1.75] Very low Downgraded: imprecision Studies not reported |
| EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 0.70 [-1.06, 2.47] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.88 [-0.90, 2.66] Very low Studies not reported |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Split-mouth trials (21 trials overall) | MD 1.17 [0.69, 1.66] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Subgroup NMA by study design: Parallel-group trials (44 trials overall) | MD 0.76 [0.38, 1.15] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Indirect evidence only (node-splitting, random-effects) | MD 0.56 [-0.06, 1.17] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Direct evidence only (random-effects) | MD 1.00 [0.66, 1.33] GRADE not reported 19 studies |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | flap operation (FO) | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) Network meta-analysis estimate (random-effects, all evidence) | MD 0.90 [0.60, 1.19] Low 19 studies |
| guided tissue regeneration (GTR) | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.77 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.70 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.69 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| GTR with bone grafts | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.51 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with bone grafts | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.47 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| EMD with platelet-rich plasma/fibrin and bone grafts | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.46 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| enamel matrix derivatives (EMD) | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.37 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| flap operation (FO) | All other 7 treatments in the network | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) NMA treatment ranking (random-effects) | P-score 0.02 GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
Included primary studies 24
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fileto Mazzonetto 2021 Clinical, radiographic, and patient‐centered outcomes after use of enamel matrix proteins for the treatment of intrabony defects in… DOI:10.1002/jper.20-0493 | 2020 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Liu K 2021 Treatment of periodontal intrabony defects using bovine porous bone mineral and guided tissue regeneration with/without platelet-rich… PMID:33569807 | 2021 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pham 2021 INTRABONY DEFECT TREATMENT WITH PLATELET-RICH FIBRIN, GUIDED TISSUE REGENERATION AND OPEN-FLAP DEBRIDEMENT: A RANDOMIZED CONTROLLED TRIAL DOI:10.1016/j.jebdp.2021.101545 | 2021 | 2 other reviews | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aslan 2020 Clinical outcomes of the entire papilla preservation technique with and without biomaterials in the treatment of isolated intrabony… DOI:10.1111/jcpe.13255 | 2020 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Fileto Mazzonetto 2021 Clinical, radiographic, and patient-centered outcomes after use of enamel matrix proteins for the treatment of intrabony defects in… PMID:33107596 | 2021 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Liu B 2022 Efficacy of periodontal minimally invasive surgery with and without regenerative materials for treatment of intrabony defect: a randomized… DOI:10.1007/s00784-021-04134-w | 2021 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Liu B 2022 Efficacy of periodontal minimally invasive surgery with and without regenerative materials for treatment of intrabony defect: a randomized… PMID:34414521 | 2022 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Liu K 2021 Treatment of periodontal intrabony defects using bovine porous bone mineral and guided tissue regeneration with/without platelet‐rich… DOI:10.1002/jper.20-0860 | 2021 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pham 2021 INTRABONY DEFECT TREATMENT WITH PLATELET-RICH FIBRIN, GUIDED TISSUE REGENERATION AND OPEN-FLAP DEBRIDEMENT: A RANDOMIZED CONTROLLED TRIAL. PMID:34479673 | 2021 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aslan 2020 Clinical outcomes of the entire papilla preservation technique with and without biomaterials in the treatment of isolated intrabony… PMID:31925811 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Crea 2008 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Gomez-Menchero 2025 A Comparison of the Treatment of Periodontal Infraosseous Defects with or Without Biomaterials by a Minimally Invasive Surgical Approach. PMID:40004641 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Iorio-Siciliano 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Minabe 2002 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Moreno Rodriguez 2022 Apical approach in periodontal reconstructive surgery with enamel matrix derivate and enamel matrix derivate plus bone substitutes: a… DOI:10.1007/s00784-021-04256-1 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Moreno Rodriguez 2022 Apical approach in periodontal reconstructive surgery with enamel matrix derivate and enamel matrix derivate plus bone substitutes: a… PMID:34791548 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pontoriero 1999 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Sanz 2004 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Sculean 2001 (parallel) matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Sculean 2001 (split-mouth) matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Sculean 2001 (split-mouth) Treatment of intrabony defects with enamel matrix proteins or bioabsorbable membranes. A 4-year follow-up split-mouth study. PMID:11811505 | 2001 | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Silvestri 2000 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Silvestri 2003 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
| Zucchelli 2002 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction (mm) | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Patients with periodontal intrabony defects (tutorial examples in periodontal regeneration) | Patients with periodontal intrabony defects (n=3095 in the network meta-analysis example) |
| Intervention | Surgical periodontal regenerative interventions | GTR, GTR+EMD, GTR+BG, GTR+PRP+BG, EMD, EMD+BG, EMD+PRP+BG, FO (8 treatment modalities) |
| Comparison | Another regenerative intervention or flap operation | FO and the other regenerative surgeries |
| Outcomes | Probing pocket depth (PPD) reduction | PPD reduction (mm) |
| Study designs | Randomized controlled trials (parallel-group and split-mouth) | RCTs (pairwise example n=10; network meta-analysis example n=65: 44 parallel-group, 21 split-mouth; 56 two-arm, 8 three-arm, 1 four-arm) |
| Timing | Not specified | 12 months (pairwise example, per supplementary data) |