Non-Cochrane · aetiology · PM41874205
Hepatitis B Virus Infection and Risk Factors Among Pregnant Women in Healthcare Facilities in West Africa: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.
Hassane Fatimata, Lagare Adamou, Yacouba Abdourahamane, et al. · BioMed research international · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1155/bmri/3975525
Findings
Population Pregnant women attending healthcare facilities in West Africa
35 findings
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Gestational age: Third trimester | Pooled prevalence (%) 8.2 [5.6, 11.2] GRADE not reported 21 studies · 3900 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Gambia | Pooled prevalence (%) 6.5 [2.6, 11.9] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 10105 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Gravidity: Primigravidae | Pooled prevalence (%) 8.6 [5.7, 11.9] GRADE not reported 9 studies · 4034 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Gravidity: Multigravidae | Pooled prevalence (%) 11.3 [7.1, 16.4] GRADE not reported 9 studies · 3748 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · HBV diagnostic method: Chemiluminescence immunoassay | Pooled prevalence (%) 6.5 [5.4, 7.8] GRADE not reported 1 study · 1622 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · HBV diagnostic method: ELISA | Pooled prevalence (%) 9.4 [7.8, 11.2] GRADE not reported 77 studies · 57878 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · World Bank income group: Lower middle-income countries | Pooled prevalence (%) 7.7 [6.9, 8.5] GRADE not reported 104 studies · 2902780 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Mauritania | Pooled prevalence (%) 10.7 [8.9, 12.7] GRADE not reported 1 study · 1020 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · HBV diagnostic method: Lateral flow chromatography immunoassay | Pooled prevalence (%) 5.7 [4.7, 6.9] GRADE not reported 34 studies · 56642 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Overall | Pooled prevalence (%) 8.0 [7.3, 8.6] GRADE not reported 129 studies · 2928715 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Senegal | Pooled prevalence (%) 9.8 [6.6, 13.7] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 4077 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Gestational age: Second trimester | Pooled prevalence (%) 6.9 [4.8, 9.3] GRADE not reported 20 studies · 4851 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Parity: Nulliparous | Pooled prevalence (%) 3.8 [1.9, 6.4] GRADE not reported 7 studies · 1208 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Burkina Faso | Pooled prevalence (%) 11.2 [8.4, 14.4] GRADE not reported 14 studies · 8721 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) post-2010 · Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Vaccination period: Postvaccination (post-2010) | Pooled prevalence (%) 7.3 [6.6, 8.1] GRADE not reported 49 studies · 2852537 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Sierra Leone | Pooled prevalence (%) 9.2 [5.9, 13] GRADE not reported 4 studies · 923 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Parity: Primiparous | Pooled prevalence (%) 8.1 [4.3, 12.8] GRADE not reported 20 studies · 6599 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Niger | Pooled prevalence (%) 16.2 [13, 19.5] GRADE not reported 1 study · 495 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Parity: Multiparous | Pooled prevalence (%) 11 [6.4, 16.6] GRADE not reported 21 studies · 9350 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Benin | Pooled prevalence (%) 11 [7.4, 15.2] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 1484 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Ghana | Pooled prevalence (%) 8.5 [6.9, 10.3] GRADE not reported 21 studies · 15262 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Nigeria | Pooled prevalence (%) 6.6 [5.8, 7.5] GRADE not reported 73 studies · 2874600 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Gestational age: First trimester | Pooled prevalence (%) 5.3 [2.3, 9.3] GRADE not reported 17 studies · 1294 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · World Bank income group: Low-income countries | Pooled prevalence (%) 10.7 [8.7, 12.9] GRADE not reported 25 studies · 26265 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Mali | Pooled prevalence (%) 11.6 [8.2, 15.6] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 6358 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) 2000-2010 · Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Vaccination period: Transition period (2000-2010) | Pooled prevalence (%) 7.8 [6, 9.8] GRADE not reported 36 studies · 50266 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · HBV diagnostic method: Radioimmunoassay | Pooled prevalence (%) 11.4 [5.2, 19.7] GRADE not reported 2 studies · 2271 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · HBV diagnostic method: Latex agglutination test | Pooled prevalence (%) 6.4 [2.5, 11.9] GRADE not reported 5 studies · 4858 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) pre-2000 · Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Vaccination period: Prevaccination (pre-2000) | Pooled prevalence (%) 9.9 [6.4, 14] GRADE not reported 6 studies · 4473 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBsAg seroprevalence (HBV infection) Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Country: Ivory Coast | Pooled prevalence (%) 10 [4.8, 16.7] GRADE not reported 3 studies · 5670 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBeAg prevalence among HBsAg-positive pregnant women Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Overall | Pooled prevalence (%) 15 [10.5, 19.9] GRADE not reported 33 studies · 1603 participants |
| Not applicable (prevalence) | Not applicable | HBV DNA prevalence in pregnant women Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa · Overall | Pooled prevalence (%) 7.6 [5.9, 9.4] GRADE not reported 16 studies · 32808 participants |
| History of blood transfusion | No history of blood transfusion | HBV infection Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa | OR 1.76 [1.27, 2.45] GRADE not reported 35 studies · 13742 participants |
| History of body tattoo | No history of body tattoo | HBV infection Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa | OR 2.28 [1.08, 4.79] GRADE not reported 10 studies · 5601 participants |
| History of dental care | No history of dental care | HBV infection Healthcare facilities (antenatal clinics and hospitals) in West Africa | OR 1.35 [0.78, 2.36] GRADE not reported 11 studies · 3215 participants |
Included primary studies 127
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abulude et al., 2017 The experience of schizophrenia. PMID:201754 | 1977 | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Abdullahi et al., 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aboubakar et al., 2020 Hypothalamo-pituitary-adrenal function in pituitary adenoma and craniopharyngioma. Part I: Insulin test, lysine-vasopressin test, and… PMID:202036 | 1977 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Abuku et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Acquaye et al., 1994 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adegbesan-Omilabu et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adeogun et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adesina et al., 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adeyemi et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adjei et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Adu-Sarkodie et al., 1996 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Agbozo et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aigere et al., 2013 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ajayi et al., 2013 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ajileye et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Akani et al., 2005 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Alassan et al., 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aluor et al., 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Anabire et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Anaedobe et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Andernach et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Antuamwine et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Apea-Kudi et al., 2006 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Atilola et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ayoola et al., 1982 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Baba et al., 1999 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bejide et al., 2024 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bigot et al., 1992 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bittaye et al., 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Buseri et al., 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Candotti et al., 2007 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Collenberg et al., 2006 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Damale et al., 2005 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| De Paschale et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Dortey et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Doumbia et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Eduku et al., 2024 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Eke et al., 2011 Prevalence of HIV antibodies in the antenatal clinic attenders in Ciskei. PMID:2011812 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ephraim et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Erhabor et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Evelyn et al., 2009 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ezechi et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Falaye et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Faleye et al., 2014 Are British psychiatrists racist? PMID:2015443 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Fofana et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Fowotade et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Frempong et al., 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ghazzawi et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Guingane et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Harry et al., 1994 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Helegbe et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ifeorah et al., 2017 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ikeme et al., 2006 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Iklaki et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ilboudo et al., 2002 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ilboudo et al., 2007 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ilboudo et al., 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Jatau et al., 2009 Generation of periodic amplitude and phase filters. PMID:20094279 | 1970 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kolawole et al., 2012 Outcome over seven years of healthy adults with and without subjective cognitive impairment. PMID:20129317 | 2010 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kouakou et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kuugbe et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Kwadzokpui et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Lohoues et al., 1998 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Luuse et al., 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Maclean et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Magagi et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Maiga et al., 1992 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mamadou et al., 2012 Improved lung preservation with cold air storage. PMID:2012414 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mansour et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Marinier et al., 1985 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mbaawuaga et al., 2008 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mustapha et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nacro et al., 2000 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ndako et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ndams et al., 2009 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ndow et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ndububa et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Njoku et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Njoku et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nkrumah et al., 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nongo et al., 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Nwuzo et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Odjiegbe et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Okafor et al., 1979 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Okeke et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Olakunde et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Olaleye et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Olaolu et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Olofinsae et al., 2014 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Olokoba et al., 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Oluremi et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Omalu et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Omatola et al., 2019 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Omatola et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Omote et al., 2020 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Onakewhor et al., 2001 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Onwere et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Onzulike et al., 2007 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Opaleye et al., 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ouermi et al., 2009 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ouoba et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ouoba et al., 2023 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pennap et al., 2011 Requirements for screening and confirmatory methods for the detection and quantification of marine biotoxins in end-product and official… PMID:20112011 | 2010 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pennap et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Rabiu et al., 2010 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Roingeard et al., 1993 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Rouet et al., 2004 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sangare et al., 2009 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sangare et al., 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sanou et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Shuaibu et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Sidibe et al., 2001 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Simpore et al., 2006 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Talla et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Torlesse et al., 1997 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ugbebor et al., 2011 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ugwu et al., 2022 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ukwu et al., 2015 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Umoke et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Usanga et al., 2011 Genetic and environmental factors causing variation in drug response. PMID:2011142 | 1991 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Utoo et al., 2013 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Volker et al., 2017 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Wurie et al., 2005 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yakasai et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yelemkoure et al., 2018 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yendewa et al., 2021 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Yoon et al., 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
| Review | Shared studies | Jaccard |
|---|---|---|
| Decision-ready evidence for vital pulp therapy: a network meta-analysis of bioactive materials in mature permanent teeth. (2026) | 1 | 0.01 |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Pregnant women in West African countries | Pregnant women attending healthcare facilities in 11 West African countries (n=2,928,715 for HBsAg) |
| Intervention | Exposure/risk factors for HBV infection (e.g., blood transfusion, body tattoo, dental care); prevalence of HBsAg, HBeAg, HBV DNA | HBsAg (129 studies), HBeAg (33 studies), HBV DNA (16 studies); risk factors blood transfusion (35 studies), body tattoo (10), dental care (11) |
| Comparison | Not specified | Not specified |
| Outcomes | Prevalence of HBV infection (HBsAg, HBeAg, HBV DNA) and risk factors associated with HBV infection | Pooled HBsAg prevalence 8.0% (95% CI 7.3 to 8.6); HBeAg 15% (10.5 to 19.9); HBV DNA 7.6% (5.9 to 9.4); ORs for blood transfusion, body tattoo and dental care |
| Study designs | Observational studies (case-control, cross-sectional, cohort) | 138 studies: 129 cross-sectional, 6 cohort, 3 case-control; all in healthcare facilities |
| Timing | No restriction on publication date; English or French; searches to April 3, 2024 | Study periods 1977 to 2023 |