Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM41602568
Effect of minimal intervention on carious lesions in primary teeth. An Umbrella review.
Padilla-Cáceres Tania Carola, Arbildo-Vega Heber Isac, Mamani-Cori Vilma, et al. · Frontiers in dental medicine · 2025 · PubMed · doi:10.3389/fdmed.2025.1751752
Findings
Population Children with carious lesions in primary teeth
51 findings
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) Annual · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: van 't Hof et al. 2006 (SM3 ref 49); multiple-surface ART restorations with high-viscosity glass ionomer | Mean annual failure rate (%) 17 GRADE not reported 28 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) After 3 years · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: van 't Hof et al. 2006 (SM3 ref 49); single-surface ART restorations with high-viscosity glass ionomer | Pooled survival rate (%) 86 GRADE not reported 28 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) First 2 years · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: de Amorim et al. 2012 (SM3 ref 47); multiple-surface ART restorations | Pooled survival rate (%) 62 [51, 73] GRADE not reported 27 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) After 1 year · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: van 't Hof et al. 2006 (SM3 ref 49); single-surface ART restorations with high-viscosity glass ionomer | Pooled survival rate (%) 95 GRADE not reported 28 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Dorri et al. 2017 (SM3 ref 30); overall | OR 1.6 [1.13, 2.27] GRADE not reported 13 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 28); occlusal lesions | RR 1.01 [0.99, 1.03] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2017 (SM3 ref 34); overall | OR 0.89 [0.57, 1.37] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) Annual · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: van 't Hof et al. 2006 (SM3 ref 49); single-surface ART restorations with high-viscosity glass ionomer | Mean annual failure rate (%) 4.7 GRADE not reported 28 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 28); occlusoproximal lesions | RR 0.98 [0.94, 1.04] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) First 2 years · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: de Amorim et al. 2012 (SM3 ref 47); single-surface ART restorations | Pooled survival rate (%) 93 [91, 94] GRADE not reported 27 studies |
| Atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Raggio et al. 2013 (SM3 ref 44); overall | OR 1.18 [0.93, 1.49] GRADE not reported 3 studies |
| Chemical-mechanical caries removal | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Deng et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 27); overall | MD 0.57 [0.04, 1.09] GRADE not reported 10 studies |
| Chemical-mechanical caries removal | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Lai et al. 2015 (SM3 ref 41); overall | OR 0.33 [0.01, 8.22] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Bukhari et al. 2025 (SM3 ref 5); overall (OR) | OR 4.12 [3.12, 5.44] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Trieu et al. 2019 (SM3 ref 24); overall | OR 2.99 [2.03, 4.42] GRADE not reported 6 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Chibinski et al. 2017 (SM3 ref 33); overall | RR 2.54 [1.67, 3.85] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Oliveira et al. 2019 (SM3 ref 22); overall | WMD -1.15 [-1.48, -0.82] GRADE not reported 2 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Bukhari et al. 2025 (SM3 ref 5); overall (MD) | MD -0.27 [-0.46, -0.07] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Gao et al. 2016 (SM3 ref 37); overall | OR 0.81 [0.68, 0.89] GRADE not reported 8 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Alqalaleef et al. 2024 (SM3 ref 8); overall | OR 18.1 [3.89, 84.15] GRADE not reported 12 studies |
| Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 28); occlusal lesions | RR 1.11 [1.03, 1.2] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Fluoride varnish | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 13); proximal lesions | OR 2.1 [0.52, 9.0] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Fluoride varnish | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 13); occlusal lesions | OR 1.1 [0.19, 6.0] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Fluoride varnish | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 13); buccal/lingual lesions | OR 0.99 [0.1, 10.0] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Fluoride varnish | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Marinho et al. 2013 (SM3 ref 45); overall | RR 0.81 [0.62, 1.06] GRADE not reported 21 studies |
| Hall technique | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Schwendicke et al. 2021 (SM3 ref 16); overall | OR 8.35 [3.73, 18.68] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Hall technique | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Hu et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 15); overall | RR 1.49 [1.15, 1.93] GRADE not reported 5 studies |
| Hall technique | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Innes et al. 2015 (SM3 ref 38); overall | RR 0.18 [0.06, 0.56] GRADE not reported 3 studies |
| Hall technique | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Chua et al. 2023 (SM3 ref 10); overall | OR 1.06 [0.65, 1.73] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| Hall technique | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 28); occlusoproximal lesions | RR 1.3 [1.09, 1.54] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Aïem et al. 2020 (SM3 ref 20); overall | OR 0.1 [0.04, 0.25] GRADE not reported 8 studies |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Pedrotti et al. 2019 (SM3 ref 25); overall | OR 1.74 [1.01, 3.0] GRADE not reported 4 studies |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Schwendicke et al. 2021 (SM3 ref 16); overall | OR 4.43 [1.04, 18.77] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Ricketts et al. 2013 (SM3 ref 43); overall | RR 0.33 [0.01, 7.62] GRADE not reported 8 studies |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Li et al. 2018 (SM3 ref 26); overall | OR 1.4 [0.69, 2.84] GRADE not reported 7 studies |
| Selective caries excavation (partial or incomplete caries removal) | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Schwendicke et al. 2013 (SM3 ref 42); overall | OR 0.97 [0.64, 1.46] GRADE not reported 10 studies |
| Laser-assisted caries treatment | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Pagano et al. 2020 (SM3 ref 19); overall | RR 0.3 [0.11, 0.78] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Laser-assisted caries treatment | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Montedori et al. 2016 (SM3 ref 35); overall | RR 1.0 [0.99, 1.01] GRADE not reported 9 studies |
| Resin infiltration | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Dorri et al. 2015 (SM3 ref 40); proximal lesions | OR 0.15 [0.06, 0.39] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Resin infiltration | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Cebula et al. 2023 (SM3 ref 11); overall | OR 0.41 [0.29, 0.57] GRADE not reported 11 studies |
| Resin infiltration | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Chen et al. 2021 (SM3 ref 17); overall | OR 0.21 [0.15, 0.3] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Resin infiltration | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tedesco et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 13); proximal lesions | OR 6.9 [2.0, 24.0] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Resin infiltration | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Elrashid et al. 2019 (SM3 ref 23); overall | RR 0.48 [0.3, 0.75] GRADE not reported 5 studies |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Chen et al. 2021 (SM3 ref 17); overall | OR 0.23 [0.18, 0.3] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Dorri et al. 2015 (SM3 ref 40); proximal lesions | OR 0.26 [0.13, 0.53] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Sealants | Not applicable (pooled single-arm survival or incidence) | Restoration survival or incidence (pooled proportion) First 3 years · Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: de Amorim et al. 2012 (SM3 ref 47); ART sealants in pits and fissures | Mean annual dentine lesion incidence rate (%) 1 GRADE not reported 27 studies |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Schwendicke et al. 2021 (SM3 ref 16); overall | OR 5.0 [0.51, 49.27] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Pagano et al. 2020 (SM3 ref 19); overall | RR 0.67 [0.35, 1.26] GRADE not reported Studies not reported |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Ramamurthy et al. 2022 (SM3 ref 12); overall | OR 0.76 [0.41, 1.42] GRADE not reported 5 studies |
| Sealants | Conventional treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in each source systematic review | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Papageorgiou et al. 2017 (SM3 ref 32); overall | RR 1.06 [0.45, 2.49] GRADE not reported 16 studies |
| Microinvasive techniques (resin infiltration and sealants) | Non-invasive interventions | Efficacy outcome as defined in each source systematic review (caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure) Pediatric dental care (clinical and community settings, as defined in the source SR) · Source SR: Tasleem et al. 2025 (SM3 ref 4); overall | OR 0.31 [0.18, 0.51] GRADE not reported 13 studies |
Included primary studies 49
Open in Studies| Study | Year | Also included by | Outcomes it informs here | Trial data |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duangthip 2016 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | 1 other review | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Aïem 2020 Caries removal strategies for deep carious lesions in primary teeth: Systematic review DOI:10.1111/ipd.12616 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Alqalaleef 2024 The role of silver diamine fluoride as dental caries preventive and arresting agent: a systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.3389/froh.2024.1492762 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Bukhari 2025 EFFECTIVENESS OF TOPICAL SILVER DIAMINE FLUORIDE FOR MANAGEMENT OF DENTAL CARIES IN CHILDREN AND EARLY ADOLESCENTS: A SYSTEMATIC REVIEW… DOI:10.62610/rjor.2025.2.17.89 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Cebula 2023 Resin Infiltration of Non-Cavitated Proximal Caries Lesions in Primary and Permanent Teeth: A Systematic Review and Scenario Analysis of… DOI:10.3390/jcm12020727 | 2023 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chaudhari 2022 A systematic review of randomized controlled trials on survival rate of atraumatic restorative treatment compared with conventional… DOI:10.4103/jisppd.jisppd_119_22 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chen 2021 Infiltration and sealing for managing non-cavitated proximal lesions: a systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1186/s12903-020-01364-4 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chibinski 2017 Silver Diamine Fluoride Has Efficacy in Controlling Caries Progression in Primary Teeth: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis DOI:10.1159/000478668 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Chua 2023 Outcomes of preformed metal crowns placed with the conventional and Hall techniques: A systematic review and meta‐analysis DOI:10.1111/ipd.13029 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Contreras 2017 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| de Amorim 2012 Survival of atraumatic restorative treatment (ART) sealants and restorations: a meta-analysis DOI:10.1007/s00784-011-0513-3 | 2011 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Deng 2018 Effects of Papacarie on children with dental caries in primary teeth: a systematic review and meta‐analysis DOI:10.1111/ipd.12364 | 2018 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Dipalma 2025 Effectiveness of Dental Restorative Materials in the Atraumatic Treatment of Carious Primary Teeth in Pediatric Dentistry: A Systematic… DOI:10.3390/children12040511 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Dorri 2015 Micro-invasive interventions for managing proximal dental decay in primary and permanent teeth DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd010431.pub2 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Dorri 2017 Atraumatic restorative treatment versus conventional restorative treatment for managing dental caries DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd008072.pub2 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Duangthip 2015 Non-surgical treatment of dentin caries in preschool children – systematic review DOI:10.1186/s12903-015-0033-7 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Elrashid 2019 Efficacy of Resin Infiltrate in Noncavitated Proximal Carious Lesions: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. PMID:31198691 | 2019 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ferreira 2012 matched by author and year (probable) | NR | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Gao 2016 Clinical Trials of Silver Diamine Fluoride in Arresting Caries among Children DOI:10.1177/2380084416661474 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Hu 2022 Hall technique for primary teeth: A systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1016/j.jdsr.2022.09.003 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Inchingolo 2024 Caries in Primary Molars: Is Silver Diamine Fluoride Effective in Prevention and Treatment? A Systematic Review DOI:10.3390/app14052055 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Inchingolo 2025 Pre-formed crowns and pediatric dentistry: a systematic review of different techniques of restorations DOI:10.22514/jocpd.2025.001 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Innes 2015 Preformed crowns for decayed primary molar teeth DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd005512.pub3 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Jabin 2020 Effect of 38% silver diamine fluoride on control of dental caries in primary dentition: A Systematic review. PMID:32509608 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Lai 2015 Comparison of Carisolv system vs traditional rotating instruments for caries removal in the primary dentition: A systematic review and… DOI:10.3109/00016357.2015.1023353 | 2015 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Li 2018 Selective versus non-selective removal for dental caries: a systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1080/00016357.2017.1392602 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Marinho 2013 Fluoride varnishes for preventing dental caries in children and adolescents DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd002279.pub2 | 2013 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Mohapatra 2025 Clinical Outcome Success of Silver-Modified Atraumatic Restorative Treatment (SMART) in Treating Children with Dental Caries in Primary… DOI:10.1055/s-0044-1788659 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Montedori 2016 Lasers for caries removal in deciduous and permanent teeth DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd010229.pub2 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Muntean 2024 Silver Diamine Fluoride in Pediatric Dentistry: Effectiveness in Preventing and Arresting Dental Caries—A Systematic Review DOI:10.3390/children11040499 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Oliveira 2019 The Effect of Silver Diamine Fluoride in Preventing Caries in the Primary Dentition: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis DOI:10.1159/000488686 | 2018 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pagano 2020 Lasers to prevent dental caries: a systematic review DOI:10.1136/bmjopen-2020-038638 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Papageorgiou 2017 Performance of pit and fissure sealants according to tooth characteristics: A systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1016/j.jdent.2017.08.004 | 2017 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Pedrotti 2019 Does selective carious tissue removal of soft dentin increase the restorative failure risk in primary teeth? DOI:10.1016/j.adaj.2019.02.018 | 2019 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Raggio 2013 Is Atraumatic restorative treatment an option for restoring occlusoproximal caries lesions in primary teeth? A systematic review and… DOI:10.1111/ipd.12013 | 2012 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ramamurthy 2022 Sealants for preventing dental caries in primary teeth DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd012981.pub2 | 2022 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ricketts 2006 Complete or ultraconservative removal of decayed tissue in unfilled teeth DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd003808.pub2 | 2006 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ricketts 2013 Operative caries management in adults and children DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd003808.pub3 | 2013 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Ruengrungsom 2018 Comparison of ART and conventional techniques on clinical performance of glass-ionomer cement restorations in load bearing areas of… DOI:10.1016/j.jdent.2018.07.008 | 2018 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Santamaría 2020 How to Intervene in the Caries Process: Dentin Caries in Primary Teeth DOI:10.1159/000508899 | 2020 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Schwendicke 2013 Incomplete Caries Removal DOI:10.1177/0022034513477425 | 2013 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Schwendicke 2021 Interventions for treating cavitated or dentine carious lesions DOI:10.1002/14651858.cd013039.pub2 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tasleem 2025 Microinvasive interventions in the management of proximal caries lesions in primary and permanent teeth- systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1186/s12903-024-05400-5 | 2025 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tedesco 2017 <scp>ART</scp> is an alternative for restoring occlusoproximal cavities in primary teeth – evidence from an updated systematic review and… DOI:10.1111/ipd.12252 | 2016 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tedesco 2018 Scientific evidence for the management of dentin caries lesions in pediatric dentistry: A systematic review and network meta-analysis DOI:10.1371/journal.pone.0206296 | 2018 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Tedesco 2022 Nonrestorative treatment of initial caries lesion in primary teeth: a systematic review and network meta-analysis DOI:10.1080/00016357.2021.1928748 | 2021 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Trieu 2019 Silver diamine fluoride versus sodium fluoride for arresting dentine caries in children: a systematic review and meta-analysis DOI:10.1038/s41598-019-38569-9 | 2019 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| van 't Hof 2006 The Atraumatic Restorative Treatment (ART) approach for managing dental caries: a meta-analysis DOI:10.1111/j.1875-595x.2006.tb00339.x | 2006 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
| Vishwanathaiah 2024 Effectiveness of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in arresting coronal dental caries in children and adolescents: a systematic review DOI:10.22514/jocpd.2024.101 | 2024 | this review only | not stated | not extracted yet |
Overlap with other reviews
Reviews that include the same primary studies are not independent evidence. Shared counts match studies by PMID, DOI or NCT, and otherwise by author and year (a probable match). Only the non-Cochrane dental reviews have study lists, so overlap with Cochrane reviews is not counted yet.
| Review | Shared studies | Jaccard |
|---|---|---|
| Nonrestorative Treatments for Caries: Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis. (2019) | 1 | 0.01 |
Review question
| Element | Planned (methods) | Found (results) |
|---|---|---|
| Population | Children with carious lesions in primary teeth | Children with carious primary teeth (49 systematic reviews, 634 primary studies) |
| Intervention | Minimally invasive strategies: SDF, ART, sealants, resin infiltration, fluoride varnish, Hall technique, chemical-mechanical caries removal, laser, selective caries excavation | SDF (n=15 SRs), ART (n=10), selective excavation (n=9), Hall technique (n=6), resin infiltration (n=6), sealant (n=6), chemical-mechanical removal (n=3), fluoride varnish (n=2), laser (n=2) |
| Comparison | Conventional restorative or operative treatment, non-invasive management, placebo or no treatment, as defined in the included reviews | Conventional treatment, no treatment, placebo or other non-invasive management as defined in each review |
| Outcomes | Caries arrest or progression, restoration survival or failure, pulp exposure or vitality, retreatment, absence of periapical pathology | Caries arrest, restoration survival and failure, pulp exposure (as reported by included reviews) |
| Study designs | Systematic reviews with or without meta-analysis | Systematic reviews with and without meta-analysis (n=49) |
| Timing | Not specified | Not specified |