Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM40947958

Perioperative Anti-inflammatory Drugs and Recovery after Periodontal Surgery: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.

Abusamak M, Elananza A, Alshdaifat I, et al. · JDR clinical and translational research · 2026 · PubMed · doi:10.1177/23800844251365539

Findings

Population Adults undergoing periodontal surgery

14 findings

Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative swelling (VAS 0-100)
24 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (crown lengthening, connective tissue graft) · Overall
MD -3.38 [-126.81, 120.04]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
2 studies · 48 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
7 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD -0.01 [-0.36, 0.35]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
2 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 1 [0.6, 1.39]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
8 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 0 [-0.45, 0.45]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
5 studies · 218 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
All timepoints combined · Periodontal surgery · Overall
MD 0.673 [0.28, 1.06]
GRADE not reported
Studies not reported
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative rescue medication consumption (number of pills)
Postoperative (overall) · Periodontal surgery · Overall
MD 0.01 [-0.33, 0.36]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
4 studies · 136 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
5 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 2.23 [0.7, 3.77]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
48 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD -0.23 [-0.31, -0.14]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
3 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 1.98 [1.39, 2.56]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
24 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD -0.39 [-2.09, 1.31]
Very low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency
5 studies · 218 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
72 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 0 [-0.04, 0.03]
Low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
4 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 2.01 [1.62, 2.39]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
5 studies · 218 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
1 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 1 [0.73, 1.27]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants
Perioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs; dexamethasone)Perioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs; celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen)Postoperative pain intensity (VAS 0-100)
6 h postoperatively · Periodontal surgery (open flap debridement, soft tissue grafting, crown lengthening, dental implant) · Overall
MD 1.7 [0.21, 3.19]
Moderate
Downgraded: risk of bias
4 studies · 190 participants

Included primary studies 6

Open in Studies
StudyYearAlso included byOutcomes it informs hereTrial data
Bahammam 2017
Comparison Between Dexamethasone and Ibuprofen for Postoperative Pain Prevention and Control After Surgical Implant Placement: A…
PMID:27562219
2017this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Giorgetti 2018
Preemptive and Postoperative Medication Protocols for Root Coverage Combined with Connective Tissue Graft.
PMID:29267519
2018this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Peres 2012
Steroidal and non-steroidal cyclooxygenase-2 inhibitor anti-inflammatory drugs as pre-emptive medication in patients undergoing…
PMID:23338252
2012this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Pilatti 2006
The use of celecoxib and dexamethasone for the prevention and control of postoperative pain after periodontal surgery.
PMID:17076604
2006this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Steffens 2010
Preemptive dexamethasone and etoricoxib for pain and discomfort prevention after periodontal surgery: a double-masked, crossover,…
PMID:20367520
2010this review onlynot statednot extracted yet
Zardo 2013
matched by author and year (probable)
NRthis review onlynot statednot extracted yet

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationPatients undergoing any type of periodontal surgeryPatients undergoing periodontal surgery (n=262; open flap debridement, crown lengthening, soft tissue grafts, dental implants)
InterventionPerioperative steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (SAIDs)Dexamethasone 4 mg or 8 mg (SAIDs)
ComparisonPerioperative nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs)Celecoxib, etoricoxib, lumiracoxib or ibuprofen (NSAIDs)
OutcomesPostoperative pain (VAS), swelling, rescue medication consumption, adverse eventsPostoperative pain VAS (6 RCTs), swelling at 24 h (2 RCTs), rescue medication consumption (4 RCTs in meta-analysis); adverse events not pooled
Study designsRandomized controlled trials, crossover or parallel design6 RCTs (4 parallel, 2 crossover)
TimingAt least 1 follow-up assessment; pain at 1 to 8 h, 24, 48 and 72 h; swelling at 24 hPain at 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 24, 48 and 72 h; swelling at 24 h

AMSTAR 2 items

Two independent extractors rated each item. Their ratings are shown side by side because they have not been reconciled yet. The overall rating follows Shea et al. 2017: one critical flaw gives Low, more than one gives Critically Low.

ItemExtractor AExtractor BAgree
1Research question includes PICO componentsYesYesyes
2Protocol established before the reviewcriticalPartial YesPartial Yesyes
3Choice of study designs explainedNoNoyes
4Comprehensive literature searchcriticalPartial YesPartial Yesyes
5Study selection in duplicateYesYesyes
6Data extraction in duplicateYesYesyes
7List of excluded studies with reasonscriticalNoNoyes
8Included studies described in detailYesYesyes
9Risk of bias assessed satisfactorilycriticalRCT: YesNRSI: N/A · RCT: Yesno
10Funding of included studies reportedNoNoyes
11Appropriate meta-analysis methodscriticalRCT: YesNRSI: N/A · RCT: Yesno
12Impact of risk of bias on the pooled resultsNoNoyes
13Risk of bias accounted for in interpretationcriticalYesYesyes
14Heterogeneity explainedYesYesyes
15Publication bias investigatedcriticalNoNoyes
16Conflicts of interest reportedYesYesyes
OverallCritically LowCritically Lowyes