Non-Cochrane · intervention · PM31249668

Pulpotomy versus pulpectomy in the treatment of vital pulp exposure in primary incisors. A systematic review and meta-analysis.

Gadallah Lamia, Hamdy Mahmoud, El Bardissy Adel, et al. · F1000Research · 2018 · PubMed · doi:10.12688/f1000research.16142.3

Oral HealthDental cariesEndodontics and dental traumaAMSTAR 2: critically low (both extractors)
Full textEvery question was extracted from the full text, figures and supplements by two independent LLM extractors, disagreements adjudicated. Rows cite where in the review the value comes from.
Questions
11
current version
GRADE rated
0
No studies
0
Included studies
4
linked below
No studies 0 · 0%Ungraded 11 · 100%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Review question

ElementPlanned (methods)Found (results)
PopulationChildren with carious vital pulp exposure in primary incisorsChildren aged 18-60 months with carious vital pulp exposure in primary incisors (4 RCTs; 3 meta-analyzed, 338 teeth)
InterventionPulpotomy (techniques with different medicaments)Pulpotomy (formocresol; ferric sulfate; or ferric sulfate + mineral trioxide aggregate)
ComparisonPulpectomy / root canal treatment (techniques with different medicaments)Pulpectomy (zinc oxide eugenol; or vitapex / calcium hydroxide-iodoform paste)
OutcomesPrimary: clinical failure; radiological failure. Secondary clinical: pain, soft tissue pathology, pathological mobility, tooth survival. Secondary radiographic: pathological radiolucency, pathological root resorption, pulp canal obliterationClinical failure RR 2.69 (0.76-9.58); radiographic failure RR 0.79 (0.25-2.42), sensitivity RR 0.45 (0.25-0.83); pain RR 2.06 (0.31-13.8); soft tissue pathology RR 3.11 (0.54-17.7); pathological root resorption RR 1.5 (0.56-4.04); periapical radiolucency, mobility, tooth survival, pulp canal obliteration reported narratively (not pooled)
Study designsRandomized controlled trials4 RCTs (Nguyen 2017, Howley 2012, Aminabadi 2008, Casas 2004); 3 in meta-analysis (Casas excluded for high risk of bias)
TimingNot specifiedLongest follow-up 15-24 months

Search date: March 2018 (databases searched to 1 March 2018). Databases: PubMed; Cochrane Library; OpenGrey (grey literature); ClinicalTrials.gov (ongoing trials); hand-searching of reference lists

Questions and results

Pulpotomy vs Pulpectomy

Population: Children with carious vital pulp exposure in primary incisors
10 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Pathological mobility
Longest follow-up
Pathological mobility was rare (one tooth in one of four trials) and was not pooled.
Source: Results (Pathological mobility) · same question in other reviews
Pathologic mobility was not reported for any tooth in three trials (Howley, Aminabadi, Casas); only one tooth with pathological mobility was reported by Nguyen et al. Not pooled.4 studiesUngraded
Soft tissue pathology
Longest follow-up
No statistically significant difference in soft tissue pathology between pulpotomy and pulpectomy (RR 3.11, 95% CI 0.54 to 17.7; ungraded).
Source: Results (Synthesis of results; Soft tissue pathology) · same question in other reviews
RR 3.11 [0.54, 17.7]NRUngraded
Clinical failure
Longest follow-up: 18 to 24 months; 15 to 23 months in Howley et al. · Overall
Pulpotomy may not differ from pulpectomy for clinical failure; no GRADE rating was reported.
Source: Figure 3; Results: Synthesis of results · same question in other reviews
RR 2.63 [0.76, 9.58]2 studies · 264 participantsUngraded
Pathological root resorption
Longest follow-up
No statistically significant difference in pathological root resorption between pulpotomy and pulpectomy (RR 1.5, 95% CI 0.56 to 4.04; ungraded).
Source: Results (Synthesis of results; Pathological root resorption) · same question in other reviews
RR 1.5 [0.56, 4.04]2 studiesUngraded
Tooth survival
18-24 months
Tooth survival was reported narratively in two trials and was not pooled.
Source: Results (Tooth survival) · same question in other reviews
Survival rate 0.94 (95% CI 0.89 to 0.97) for pulpotomy and 0.97 for pulpectomy at 18 months (Nguyen et al.); 63% for pulpotomy and 85% for pulpectomy at 2 years (Casas et al.). Not pooled.2 studiesUngraded
Pathological periapical radiolucency
Longest follow-up
Two trials reported periapical radiolucency but results were not pooled owing to considerable heterogeneity.
Source: Results (Synthesis of results; Pathological radiolucency) · same question in other reviews
The results of two trials showed considerable statistical heterogeneity so no meta-analysis was performed for this outcome.2 studiesUngraded
Radiographic failure
Longest follow-up (15-24 months)
No statistically significant difference in radiographic failure between pulpotomy and pulpectomy in the main analysis (RR 0.79, 95% CI 0.25 to 2.42), with considerable heterogeneity (I2=76%; ungraded).
Source: Figure 4; Results (Synthesis of results); Discussion · same question in other reviews
RR 0.79 [0.25, 2.42]3 studies · 338 participantsUngraded
Pain
Longest follow-up
No statistically significant difference in pain between pulpotomy and pulpectomy (RR 2.06, 95% CI 0.31 to 13.8; ungraded).
Source: Results (Synthesis of results; Pain) · same question in other reviews
RR 2.06 [0.31, 13.8]NRUngraded
Pulp canal obliteration
23-24 months
Pulp canal obliteration was reported narratively (mainly in the pulpotomy group) and was not pooled.
Source: Results (Pulp canal obliteration) · same question in other reviews
Pulp canal obliteration seen in 18 teeth (60%) in the pulpotomy group at 23 months (Howley et al.); none at 2 years (Aminabadi et al.); 3 teeth (25%) in the pulpotomy group at 2 years (Casas et al.). Not pooled.3 studiesUngraded
Radiographic failure
Longest follow-up (18-23 months) · Sensitivity analysis excluding Aminabadi et al. (outlier)
Excluding one outlying trial, pulpectomy had a significantly higher risk of radiographic failure than pulpotomy (RR 0.45, 95% CI 0.25 to 0.83; ungraded).
Source: Table 8; Results (Synthesis of results); Abstract · same question in other reviews
RR 0.45 [0.25, 0.83]2 studies · 246 participantsUngraded

Comparison

1 question
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Overall failure
no estimate extracted2 studiesUngraded

AMSTAR 2 appraisal

Two independent extractors rated each item. Their ratings are shown side by side because they have not been reconciled yet. The overall rating follows Shea et al. 2017: one critical flaw gives Low, more than one gives Critically Low.

ItemExtractor AExtractor BAgree
1Research question includes PICO componentsYesYesyes
2Protocol established before the reviewcriticalNoNoyes
3Choice of study designs explainedNoNoyes
4Comprehensive literature searchcriticalYesYesyes
5Study selection in duplicateYesYesyes
6Data extraction in duplicateYesYesyes
7List of excluded studies with reasonscriticalNoNoyes
8Included studies described in detailYesYesyes
9Risk of bias assessed satisfactorilycriticalRCT: Yes · NRSI: N/ANRSI: N/A · RCT: Yesno
10Funding of included studies reportedNoNoyes
11Appropriate meta-analysis methodscriticalNRSI: N/A · RCT: YesRCT: Yes · NRSI: N/Ano
12Impact of risk of bias on the pooled resultsYesYesyes
13Risk of bias accounted for in interpretationcriticalYesYesyes
14Heterogeneity explainedYesYesyes
15Publication bias investigatedcriticalNoNoyes
16Conflicts of interest reportedYesNono
OverallCritically LowCritically Lowyes

Included primary studies 4

Open as a trial list
StudyAlso included byOutcomes it informs hereTrial PICOResults
Aminabadi 2008
A clinical study of formocresol pulpotomy versus root canal therapy of vital primary incisors.
PMID:18524271
this review onlynot statednot extracted yetnot extracted yet
Casas 2004
Outcomes of vital primary incisor ferric sulfate pulpotomy and root canal therapy.
PMID:14709254
this review onlynot statednot extracted yetnot extracted yet
Howley 2012
Pulpotomy versus pulpectomy for carious vital primary incisors: randomized controlled trial.
PMID:23211895
this review onlynot statednot extracted yetnot extracted yet
Nguyen 2017
Comparison of Ferric Sulfate Combined Mineral Trioxide Aggregate Pulpotomy and Zinc Oxide Eugenol Pulpectomy of Primary Maxillary…
PMID:28292339
this review onlynot statednot extracted yetnot extracted yet