Cochrane · systematic review · CD015016
Systemic opioid regimens for postoperative pain in neonates
Kinoshita, M, Borges do Nascimento, IJ, Styrmisdóttir, L, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2023 · Cochrane Library
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
13
current version
GRADE rated
2
No studies
11
Included studies
NR
No studies 11 · 84.6%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 2 · 15.4%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Show all 2 versionsContinuous infusion compared to bolus administration for postoperative pain in neonates
Population: postoperative pain in neonates
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | MD 0 | 2 studies · 133 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Pain Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | MD 0.07 | 2 studies · 133 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
All‐cause mortality during initial hospitalization ‐ not reported Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Major neurodevelopmental disability in children aged 18 to 24 months or three to five years old ‐ not reported Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Cognitive and educational outcomes in children more than five years old ‐ not reported Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Severe (defined as stage 3 or greater) retinopathy of prematurity ‐ not reported Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Severe (grade 3 or greater) intraventricular hemorrhage (IVH) on cranial ultrasound ‐ not reported Continuous infusion vs bolus administration | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) versus 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval)
Population: postoperative pain in neonates
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
All‐cause mortality during initial hospitalization ‐ not reported 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Major neurodevelopmental disability in children aged 18 to 24 months or three to five years old ‐ not reported 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Cognitive and educational outcomes in children more than five years old ‐ not reported 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Severe (defined as stage 3 or greater) retinopathy of prematurity ‐ not reported 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Severe (grade 3 or greater) intraventricular hemorrhage (IVH) on cranial ultrasound ‐ not reported 'As needed' administration (e.g. based on pain scales) vs 'as scheduled' administration (e.g. a predefined time interval) | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |