Cochrane · systematic review · CD013264

Single‐dose intravenous ibuprofen for acute postoperative pain in adults

Ferguson, MC, Schumann, R, Gallagher, S, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2021 · Cochrane Library

SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
12
current version
GRADE rated
10
No studies
2
Included studies
NR
No studies 2 · 16.7%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 9 · 75%Low 1 · 8.3%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%

Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.

Questions and results

Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs. Placebo for health problem or population

Population: health problem or population
6 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of participants with at least 50% pain relief at 4 hours
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
RR 1.44 [0.77, 2.66]1 study · 126 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants with at least 50% pain relief at 6 hours
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
RR 1.44 [0.77, 2.66]1 study · 126 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants using rescue medication over a 4‐hour period and over a 6‐hour period postintervention ‐ not reported
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Median time to use of rescue medication (use of rescue medication)
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
no estimate extracted1 study · 126 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants reporting or experiencing any adverse event
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
RR 0.98 [0.81, 1.19]1 study · 126 participantsLow
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants reporting or experiencing a serious adverse event
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen vs Placebo
no estimate extracted1 study · 1 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness

Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg compared to active comparator (acetaminophen) for adults with acute postoperative pain after bunionectomy (with osteotomy and internal fixation)

Population: health problem or population
6 questions
OutcomeEffectEvidenceStatus / GRADE
Number of participants with at least 50% pain relief at 4 hours
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
RR 0.91 [0.58, 1.43]1 study · 151 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants with at least 50% pain relief at 6 hours
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
RR 1.03 [0.64, 1.66]1 study · 151 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants using rescue medication over a 4‐hour period and over a 6‐hour period postintervention ‐ not reported
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
no estimate extractedNRNo studies
Median time to use of rescue medication
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
no estimate extracted1 study · 151 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants reporting or experiencing any adverse event
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
RR 1.27 [1.02, 1.59]1 study · 151 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness
Number of participants reporting or experiencing a serious adverse event
Summary of Findings Table ‐ Ibuprofen 300 mg vs active comparator (acetaminophen)
no estimate extracted1 study · 1 participantsVery low
Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, indirectness