Cochrane · systematic review · CD012047
Perioperative local anaesthesia for reducing pain following septal surgery
Fujiwara, T, Kuriyama, A, Kato, Y, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2018 · Cochrane Library
ENTAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
21
current version
GRADE rated
4
No studies
17
Included studies
NR
No studies 17 · 81%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 1 · 4.8%Low 2 · 9.5%Moderate 1 · 4.8%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Local anaesthetic injection compared to no treatment/placebo in septal surgery
Population: septal surgery
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity at 12 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain intensity at 24 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain intensity at 48 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Requirement for additional analgesia Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Duration of hospitalisation ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effect (postoperative vomiting) Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | OR 3.1 [0.12, 79.23] | 1 study · 60 participants | Low Downgraded: imprecision |
Adverse effect (postoperative bleeding) ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic injection vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing compared to no packing/packing with placebo
Population: septal surgery
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity at 12 hours postoperatively Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 151 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Pain intensity at 24 hours postoperatively Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | 4 studies · 268 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency |
Pain intensity at 48 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Requirement for additional analgesia Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | OR 0.15 [0.07, 0.34] | 2 studies · 151 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency |
Duration of hospitalisation ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effect (postoperative vomiting) ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effect (postoperative bleeding) ‐ not reported Local anaesthetic application via nasal packing vs no packing/packing with placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Sphenopalatine ganglion block compared to no treatment/placebo in septal surgery
Population: septal surgery
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain intensity at 12 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain intensity at 24 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain intensity at 48 hours postoperatively ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Requirement for additional analgesia Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Duration of hospitalisation ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effect (postoperative vomiting) ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse effect (postoperative bleeding) ‐ not reported Sphenopalatine ganglion block vs no treatment/placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |