Cochrane · systematic review · CD011927
Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) for chronic neck pain
Martimbianco, ALC, Porfírio, GJM, Pacheco, RL, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2019 · Cochrane Library
Back and NeckAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
4
current version
GRADE rated
2
No studies
2
Included studies
NR
No studies 2 · 50%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 2 · 50%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) compared to sham TENS for chronic neck pain
Population: adults (≥ 18 years of age) with chronic neck pain
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Pain (at short‐term Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) vs sham TENS | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 38 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Pain (at short‐term Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) vs sham TENS | RR 1.57 [0.84, 2.92] | 1 study · 30 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Disability ‐ not reported Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) vs sham TENS | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adverse events ‐ not reported Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) vs sham TENS | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |