Cochrane · systematic review · CD009720
Oral stimulation for promoting oral feeding in preterm infants
Greene, Z, O'Donnell, CPF, Walshe, M · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2023 · Cochrane Library
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
8
current version
GRADE rated
5
No studies
3
Included studies
NR
No studies 3 · 37.5%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 4 · 50%Low 1 · 12.5%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Show all 2 versionsOral stimulation compared to standard care for promoting oral feeding in preterm infants
Population: preterm infants
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Time (days) to achieve exclusive oral feeding Oral stimulation vs standard care | no estimate extracted | 6 studies · 292 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Time (days) spent in NICU ‐ not reported Oral stimulation vs standard care | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Total hospital stay (days) Oral stimulation vs standard care | no estimate extracted | 5 studies · 249 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Duration (days) of parenteral nutrition ‐ not reported Oral stimulation vs standard care | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Oral stimulation compared to non‐oral intervention for promoting oral feeding in preterm infants
Population: preterm infants
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Time (days) to achieve exclusive oral feeding Oral stimulation vs non‐oral intervention | no estimate extracted | 10 studies · 574 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Time (days) spent in NICU ‐ not reported Oral stimulation vs non‐oral intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Total hospital stay (days) Oral stimulation vs non‐oral intervention | no estimate extracted | 10 studies · 591 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Duration (days) of parenteral nutrition Oral stimulation vs non‐oral intervention | no estimate extracted | 3 studies · 268 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |