Cochrane · systematic review · CD009147
Image‐guided glucocorticoid injection versus injection without image guidance for shoulder pain
Zadro, J, Rischin, A, Johnston, RV, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2021 · Cochrane Library
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
7
current version
GRADE rated
5
No studies
2
Included studies
NR
No studies 2 · 28.6%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 1 · 14.3%Low 2 · 28.6%Moderate 2 · 28.6%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Current version onlyUltrasound‐guided injection compared to non‐image‐guided injection for shoulder pain
Population: Patients with shoulder pain
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Overall Pain numerical rating scale 0 to 10 points (lower score indicates less pain) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | no estimate extracted | 15 studies · 1003 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Function various scales 0 to 100 points (higher score indicates better function) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | no estimate extracted | 14 studies · 895 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Participant‐assessed success 50% improvement on numerical rating 0 to 10 scale for pain) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | RR 1.56 [0.89, 2.75] | 5 studies · 350 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Quality of life SF‐36 MCS 0 to 100 points (higher score indicates better quality of life) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 220 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Number of adverse events Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | RR 0.72 [0.4, 1.28] | 5 studies · 402 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Serious adverse events Not reported Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Number of withdrawals due to adverse events Ultrasound‐guided injection vs non‐image‐guided injection | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Ultrasound‐guided injection compared to landmark or systemic injection for shoulder pain
Population: Patients with shoulder pain
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Overall Pain ‐ 1 to 2 weeks (adequate allocation concealment, and blinding) visual analogue scale; 1 to 9 points (higher indicates worse pain) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 106 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Overall Pain ‐ 6 weeks (adequate allocation concealment, and blinding) visual analogue scale; 1 to 9 points (higher indicates worse pain) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 106 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Function ‐ 1 to 2 weeks (adequate allocation concealment, and blinding) Disability of Arm, Shoulder, Hand (DASH) scale; 0 to 100 points (lower score indicates better function) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 106 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Function ‐ 6 weeks (adequate allocation concealment, and blinding) DASH scale; 0 to 100 points (lower score indicates better function) Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 147 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Participant‐assessed success ‐ not measured Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Number of adverse events ‐ 6 weeks Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | RR 0.55 [0.17, 1.85] | 3 studies · 207 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Serious adverse events ‐ not reported Ultrasound‐guided injection vs landmark or systemic injection | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |