Cochrane · systematic review · CD008552
Interventions for increasing fruit and vegetable consumption in children aged five years and under
Hodder, RK, O'Brien, KM, Tzelepis, F, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2020 · Cochrane Library
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
12
current version
GRADE rated
7
No studies
5
Included studies
NR
No studies 5 · 41.7%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 4 · 33.3%Low 2 · 16.7%Moderate 1 · 8.3%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Show all 5 versionsChild‐feeding interventions compared to no intervention for children aged five years and under
Population: children aged five years and under
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Child vegetable intake Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Child‐feeding interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 19 studies · 2140 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, inconsistency |
Cost effectiveness Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Not reported Child‐feeding interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Unintended adverse events Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Child‐feeding interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 39 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Parent nutrition education interventions compared to no intervention for children aged five years and under
Population: children aged five years and under
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Child fruit and vegetable intake Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Parent nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 11 studies · 3050 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, inconsistency |
Cost effectiveness Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Parent nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 389 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Unintended adverse events Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Parent nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 343 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision, publication bias |
Multicomponent interventions compared to no intervention for children aged five years and under
Population: children aged five years and under
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Child fruit and vegetable intake Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Multicomponent interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 9 studies · 2961 participants | Moderate Downgraded: risk of bias |
Cost effectiveness Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Not reported Multicomponent interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Unintended adverse events Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Not reported Multicomponent interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Child nutrition education interventions compared to no intervention for children aged five years and under
Population: children aged five years and under
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Child fruit and vegetable intake Short‐term impact (< 12 months) Child nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | 2 studies · 292 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias, imprecision |
Cost or cost effectiveness Not reported Child nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Unintended adverse events Not reported Child nutrition education interventions vs no intervention | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |