Cochrane · systematic review · CD006355
Topical glyceryl trinitrate for rotator cuff disease
Cumpston, M, Johnston, RV, Wengier, L, et al. · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2009 · Cochrane Library
MusculoskeletalAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
19
current version
GRADE rated
7
No studies
12
Included studies
NR
No studies 12 · 63.2%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 3 · 15.8%Low 4 · 21.1%Moderate 0 · 0%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Summary of findings: 5 mg/day versus placebo
Population: People with rotator cuff disease
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Benefits Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Adjusted pain intensity Visual Analog Scale. Scale from: 0 to 10. ( Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 1 study · 20 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Symptom free ( Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | RR 1.91 [1.04, 3.5] | 1 study · 20 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Function ‐ not measured Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Harms Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Headache ‐ not reported4 Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation versus placebo plus rehabilitation
Population: People with rotator cuff disease
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Benefits Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain ‐ not reported1 Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Symptom free with activities of daily living (patient rated) ( Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | RR 1.92 [0.92, 4.1] | 1 study · 57 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Function ‐ not measured Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Harms Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Headache ( Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | RR 1.73 [0.92, 3.24] | 1 study · 53 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Rash ( Summary of findings: 1.25 mg/day plus rehabilitation vs placebo plus rehabilitation | RR 3.12 [0.35, 28.06] | 1 study · 53 participants | Low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Summary of findings: 5 mg/day versus injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic
Population: People with rotator cuff disease
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Benefits Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Pain ‐ not reported1 Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Function ‐ not measured Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Harms Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Headache ( Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | RR 31.003 [1.96, 490.31] | 1 study · 48 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |
Injection site pain ( Summary of findings: 5 mg/day vs injection with corticosteroid and anaesthetic | RR 0.11 [0.01, 1.96] | 1 study · 48 participants | Very low Downgraded: risk of bias |