Cochrane · systematic review · CD004800
Sulfasalazine for ankylosing spondylitis
Chen, J, Lin, S, Liu, C · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2014 · Cochrane Library
MusculoskeletalAMSTAR 2: not assessed
SoF tableOnly the outcomes this review put in its Summary of Findings table are listed (the Cochrane Handbook caps them at about seven per comparison). Its other analyses are not shown here.
Questions
7
current version
GRADE rated
3
No studies
4
Included studies
NR
No studies 4 · 57.1%Ungraded 0 · 0%Very low 0 · 0%Low 0 · 0%Moderate 3 · 42.9%High 0 · 0%
Ungraded means an effect was reported without a GRADE rating; it is not a gap. No studies means the review found nothing to answer the question. The six categories are a display order, not a score.
Questions and results
Sulfasalazine compared to placebo for ankylosing spondylitis
Population: Patients with ankylosing spondylitis
| Outcome | Effect | Evidence | Status / GRADE |
|---|---|---|---|
Back pain (pooled data) Sulfasalazine vs placebo | no estimate extracted | 6 studies · 454 participants | Moderate |
Mean improvement in Bath ankylosing spondylitis disease activity index (BASDAI) ‐ not reported Sulfasalazine vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mean improvement in Bath ankylosing spondylitis function index (BASFI) ‐ not reported Sulfasalazine vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Mean improvement in Bath ankylosing spondylitis metrology index (BASMI) ‐ not reported Sulfasalazine vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Radiographic progress ‐ not reported Sulfasalazine vs placebo | no estimate extracted | NR | No studies |
Total number of withdrawals due to adverse events Sulfasalazine vs placebo | RR 1.43 [1.04, 1.94] | 11 studies · 895 participants | Moderate |
Serious adverse events Sulfasalazine vs placebo | OR 7.5 [0.15, 378.16] | 1 study · 264 participants | Moderate Downgraded: imprecision |